Big Bad Log
Inhoud blog
  • Mollendaal Forest
  • Back to the Sonian Forest
  • Tacx Satori
  • Tacx Satori
  • Heverlee forest
  • Mr.Merlin rides out
  • Mr. Merlin rides out
  • Nodebais
  • Following my front wheel
  • Psychlotron 55K

    Foto


    Foto

    Big Bad Links
  • Big Bad Wolf Home
  • The History blog
  • Steep Hill Bike Travelogue
  • LOUP . ORG
  • Chicks and Bikes - humor
  • Moster Blond
  • David Moulton's Bike Blog
  • Christine Peanut Vardaros
  • Velonews Competition Journal
  • Pez Cycling News

    Big Bad Links 2
  • Nothing rides like Ti
  • Irina Kalentieva
  • Kim Saenen - MTB Marathon Girl
  • Big Wheel Building - Mike Curiak blog
  • Jeff Kerkove - Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete
  • Kaa Petaate - Leives klupke
  • Life Behind Bars - luv2mtb blog
  • MTB Lily : latest MTB news
  • Como Cyco
  • MTB Wallon

    Big Bad Links 3
  • Milano Fixed
  • Scot 'Chuck Ibis' Nicol Spew
  • Hell Yeah !
  • Zen Garage
  • CyclingNews.COM babe thread (humor)
  • Nerv+

    Foto


    Beoordeel dit blog
      Zeer goed
      Goed
      Voldoende
      Nog wat bijwerken
      Nog veel werk aan
     

    Foto

    Zoeken in blog


    Tales from the Woods
    13-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.KBC MTB
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Another mountainbike ride since I decided to join the KBC MTB Club on their weekly ride. It has been a while and with the summer season nearly open the rides become shorter due to lack of sunlight. Starting at 6.30PM in Haasrode we set out for Korbeek Lo and Linden. Here we had a bit of fun in the forest with its steep climbs and descents. Darkness fell and I had to urge them to start heading back for Haasrode. Crossing the N2 I decided to let them find their own way back. We split up into 3 groups. Most of them didn't bring lights. I had my Lupine Tesla with me and I set a course for home through Korbeek Lo and then towards Haasrode Industrie and the Expressweg. I had a good ride, I would only advise them to either leave an hour sooner or bring lights so we can make it a nightride. The forests are tricky in the fading light and accidents tend to happen sooner to the unsafe or overly bold.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 45k and 460 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h10mins

    9015/77465

    13-09-2012, 21:34 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    12-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Meerdael Forest
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    With the weather taking a turn for the worse, with temperature dropping below 15 degrees C, with a cold wind blowing, and because it had been quite a while since my last venture on a mountainbike, I decided to risk riding in the forest. During my walk yesterday I did not spot any horseflies so I am quite confident their season is at an end. Nevertheless I dressed up well, covering all in long sleeves and long pants. Taking the only mountainbike that was in running order - not counting the Merlin which would be serious overkill in Meerdael Forest - the Hilset BBW was my steed today. The change in position from the 4 months on the road bike was stunning. I pumped up my Hutchinson Python Airs and still they felt too soft during the first couple of K. Later on I would perceive them as being too hard because my hands began to hurt from holding on to the stiff front end. I chose fast and wide forest trails, not wanting to drop the speed to horsefly pace. Making a big loop in the fields of Valduc and Hamme Mille before returning to the forest for a good hour of solid biking. After the initial shock my body became used to the mountainbike quirks again. I still have some road mileage in me though so I am hoping the weather will change again to a more balmy 20 degrees C during the next weeks.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 25K and 210 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h03mins30secs

    8970/77005

    12-09-2012, 19:41 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    09-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hagaard
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Another beautiful sunny day and I rode out quarter to 10 again. After yesterdays' intense ride I decided to take it easy today. Focussing on relaxed riding without putting too much strain on my muscles. That also meant being overtaken a couple of times and even though I could, I did not attempt to follow the overtakee . I started out over Egenhoven and downtown Bertem and then made my way to the Tervuursesteenweg in the direction of Tervuren. Following that for a while until I took a left turn to enter Vossem. From there I rode up to Duisburg and continued to Eizer and Overijse. Dropping down to the Frans Verbeeklaan I decided to tackle the Hagaard, a steep short climb which brought me up to the N263 which I crossed and then I followed the Reutenbeek and made my way to the Geitenhoek and Terhulst. Entering Brabant Walloon now for a short while into Rosieres and then back into the Flemish province of Brabant when I entered Tombeek. Up to Ottenburg and then onwards along the Vetsaart through Sint Agatha Rode. Taking a left towards the Wolfshagen which I followed to Neerijse. Here I joined the Sint Jansberg Steenweg which took me back to Egenhoven. Crossing into Heverlee and then back home along the Naamsesteenweg. Even though I accumulated quite a bit of heightmeters I experienced this as a relaxed recovery ride. Near the end I could up the speed a little bit with the gentle southern wind pushing me along. The sun and light breeze provided excellent conditions for a cycle outing. 

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 70K and 530 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h32mins30secs

    8945/76795

    09-09-2012, 13:55 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    08-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Saint Servais
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Beautiful sunny weather this morning. When I rode out around a quarter to 10 it was still cold but it warmed up fast. The wind seemed to be blowing from the south and there was not a cloud in the sky. I rode to Hoegaarden where I took the Ravel 2 in the direction of Namur. Pretty soon I was joined by another cyclist who asked if he could stay behind me. I did not mind and set a good pace. When I overtook 2 other cyclists they also stayed behind me so the four of us rode on towards Eghezee. Two of them took other directions but the first one stayed with me until I commenced the long downhill into Namur. He left some space. I was making good time because when I came to the end of the Ravel I had less than 2 hours of riding time. Which is a first for me. Turning around and starting the 7K climb out of Namur I had the wind - and the sun - in my back. I could enjoy a great view of the plains surrounding the Ravel when I rode towards Longchamps. Past Eghezee and another climb up to the fields past Hottomont. From there it was slowly downhill until I reached Jodoigne. I was still going fast because I passed the 3 hours with 88km on my GPS. From Jodoigne to Hoegaarden where I had to take the long climb up to Sint Katharine Hauthem. From there a last stretch on tarmac thought Meldert and Opvelp into Bierbeek. From Bierbeek I set towards the Haasrode Industrie for what seems to have become my standard last loop these days. Along the Expressweg towards Blanden closing a long and fast ride. With an average heartrate of 140 bpm I have put in a very solid training . 

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 117.5K and 600 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h59mins

    8875/76265

    08-09-2012, 14:54 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    07-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.L'Ecluse
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    We are experiencing some fine weather for the beginning of september. When I rode out around 5.30pm the temperature was still over 25 degrees C. Heading for the Zoete Waters over Vaalbeek I continued towards Sint Joris Weert, Nethen and Hamme Mille. Came upon some "Grinta" arrows that I followed through Tourinnes until I reached Beauvechain. The arrows pointed left, but I took a right turn towards La Bruyere. Here I headed for L'Ecluse and Meldert, returning to Beauvechain afterwards. Straight on to Opvelp and then left towards Bierbeek. With the setting sun in my face I rode to the Haasrode Industrie where I did an extra lap before returning to Blanden along the Expressweg. The legs felt fine and I could maintain a good speed throughout this ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 55.5K and 310 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h48mins30secs

    8757/75665

    07-09-2012, 20:54 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    05-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Little Lap
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Went out for a little lap this evening. The weather was less brilliant than yesterday with cloudy skies but still 22 degrees C. The wind was blowing from the north, adding to the feeling of freshness. Long sleeves. Rode out over Bierbeek and Opvelp. The long climb out of Opvelp went fine, I had a gut on a mountainbike in my sight. He was really fast and I only caught him at the top of the hill. In Beauvechain we split and I wa son my own riding fast through Tourinnes and Hamme Mille. The mac-adam roads were not the best for smooth riding. Crossing the N25 and I was on tarmac speeding towards Nethen and on to Sint Joris Weert. There was quite a bit of car traffic here and with my speed I had to take care not to get squeezed or blocked. But all went well and at the Zoete Waters I was again on mac-adam for a couple of kilometers until I reached Vaalbeek and its seperate bikepath. Into Blanden and in just over an hour I was back home. Nice and quick fun ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 32K and 195 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h02mins30secs

    8702/75355

    05-09-2012, 19:27 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    04-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hoegaarden
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    I had a good days' rest yesterday so when I got home from work today I felt like trying out my legs. Started on my 50K loop over Bierbeek, Opvelp, Beauvechain and La Bruyere. Into L'Ecluse and then down and up in and out Meldert. Straight on towards Hoegaarden, long climb out past the Marollenkapel and then into Oorbeek and further on to Kumtich. From Kumtich I closed the loop over Willebringen, Bremt, Bierbeek and into the Haasrode Industrie terrain. Along the Expressway back into Blanden and I noticed the legs were just fine. The weather was clement with 26 degrees C and what looked to be a northern breeze.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 54.5K and 405 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h52mins

    8670/75160

    04-09-2012, 20:35 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    02-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rixensart and Perwez
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Did not feel like doing a long ride today so I started out towards Egenhoven and the Sint Jansberg steenweg towards Overijse. The Gordel was happening and I had to slalom between slower bikers approaching Overijse and also on the way up towards Maleizen. Took the Reutenbeek towards Rosieres and then down into the valley of the Ijse. Long climb up in Genval and then down again into the vally of the Dyle to cross Wavre and follow the Chaussee de Huy for a while. Little detour along the Rue de les Louvranges and some quiet backroads to reach Gistoux. Following the Chaussee de Huy again all the way to Perwez where I took a left on the Ravel. This was turning out to be a longer ride than I anticipated but I felt reasonably good and at the moment the wind was gently pushing me to the east to reach the Ravel 2 . On towards Jodoigne and continuing along the Ravel until I reached Hoegaarden. From here the wind was becoming an enemy instead of a friend. It came from the west and was playing with me whilst I made my way towards Oorbeek, Kumtich, Willebringen and Neervelp. On the long climb towards the Bierbeek Wereldbol I was lucky to have the slope between me and the wind. But when I reached the crest of the hill it was back. Luckily it was all downhill into Bierbeek now and I continued towards Haasrode and ultimately Blanden. A solid ride, the second 100K ride of this weekend and I was tired but pleased when I reached my home. It turned out to be quite a hilly ride - especially the first part  - and the weather was Ok. Overcast when I left but the skies broke now and then which upped the temperature from a frisky 16 degrees C at the start towards an average of 21 degrees C on average throughout the ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 101.5K and 775 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h42mins

    8616/74755

    02-09-2012, 15:21 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    01-09-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Eghezee and Perwez
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Two days off the bike  - did an 11.3K forest walk yesterday - and today I was fresh for a long ride. Starting out over Bierbeek and Meldert to reach Hoegaarden and inject myself on the Ravel. Through Jodoigne and reaching Perwez in a record time - according to Strava. I did not have the impression I was riding that fast but a little bit of wind in my back might have made it look a bit easier. In Eghezee I rode on to Longchamps and then turned towards Mehaigne and Aishe-en-Refail . A little bit later I was in Perwez. Riding onwards to Maleves-Sainte Marie-Wastinnes where there seemed to be a cycling event of some sort taking place - lots of slow bikers on the roads - and then taking a right again in Opprebais to reach the N91. Following that for a little while and then turning towards Dongelberg. The chateau was looking pretty hiding behind the trees in the sun. The weather was sunny but rather cool. The high summer temperatures are behind us and there is a certain smell of autumn already in the air. past Dongelberg and then taking a left turn towards Lathuy and further on, crossing the N240, towards Melin. Here I took a left again to reach the N240 again. Following it for a short time and then taking a right turn to reach La Bruyere. Onwards to Meldert where I rode back whence I had come a couple of hours earlier. Opvelp and Bierbeek and then towards the Haasrode Industrie terrain where I did a couple of laps before following the Epressweg towards Blanden. A good solid LSD ride in fine conditions.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 102K and 605 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h37mins

    8515/73980

    01-09-2012, 14:55 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    29-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Industry Laps Deluxe
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Coming home from work I checked my rear tyre. This time it held. I had to change the outer because the Continental Force did not want to seat properly. I put on my old Vredestein Fortezza outer and this seated just fine.
    I set out towards the Haasrode Industry terrain for an hour and a half of local laps. That way I can get a good feel of the new rear tyre and in case anything happens I'm not too far from home. All went well. My legs hurt - especially my calves - and I think it is time for a resting day. I also need to get me some magnesium caps because I felt cramps coming up during the effort. 19 laps later I was back on my way home along the Expressweg. A good condensed and intense effort. Pity the southern wind was blowing full in my face on the climb, preventing me from taking it with the big ring in front. I could have , but that would have cost me too much effort and an uphill sprint every lap.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 53K and 310 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h42mins

    8412/73375

    29-08-2012, 20:38 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    28-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Industry laps
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Didn't feel like riding too far out. Had to change my inner tyre before leaving since my spare from yesterday was flat. Hurried job because I could feel a bump in the wheel while riding, I need to reset the inner tyre later. I rode to the Haasrode Industry Terrain and did some fast laps there. The wind was making some trouble, just in my face whilst on the climb. But I managed a good speed and a good average despite the wobble in my rear tyre.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 39.5K and 230 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h16mins

    8359/73065

    28-08-2012, 20:25 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    27-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Eghezee
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Home late from work but I still wanted to do an 80K ride so I set out with a good pace on the Vortex around 5.30pm. From Bierbeek over Meldert to Hoegaarden I injected myself on the Ravel 2. The wind was blowing from the south but luckily the Ravels shrubberies sheltered me most of the time. Only on a couple of exposed stretches in the fields did I have to push a little harde. Through Jodoigne and arriving at Eghezee I took a sharp turn to the right and followed the N91 for a long and fast stretch until I reached Pietrebais. The wind was blowing in my favour now and I maintained a good speed. Crossing the N240 I rode along and passed the 60K mark in exactly 2 hours. Taking a fast turn on some bad mac-adam I had a nasty shock in my real wheel and indeed, snakebite! The first flat in 2 years on this bike and I had to change the inner tyre and pump it up with my Blackburn framefit pump. This proved to be a great pump because in no time and without any effort my tyre was inflated to 7 bars and I could continue. What a blessing to have this pump. It looks weird on the bike but at times like these you are glad to have it. In less than 8 minutes I was back on the road. Through La Bruyere and then passed Beauvechain where I beat my strava record on the climb out of Beauvechain towards Opvelp. In Opvelp I turned left and into the sun for teh stretch towards Bierbeek. From Bierbeek I made for the haasrode Industrie and finished my ride along the Expressweg into Blanden. I was not surprised to see my 31kph average. I really felt good today and even with the wind against me I could maintain a good speed. With a 129bpm average heartrate this turned out to be a very good workout and a great ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 81K and 425 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h36mins

    8320/72835

    27-08-2012, 21:28 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    26-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tienen
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today saw a lot of showers and a fierce wind blowing. Around 4pm things dried out and around 6pm I decided to ride out for a couple of hours. Things went fast with the wind more or less in my advantage as I rode from Bierbeek over Opvelp to Beauvechain, onwards to La Bruyere and then through L'Ecluse and Hoegaarden. I decided to ride to Tienen and return straight to Leuven along the N3. Here the wind was more to my disadvantage but I managed to keep my speed. Arriving in Leuven I went for a lap around it. had to climb the Keizersberg since the bikepath along the Ludenscheidsingel was closed. Back on the Singel I made my way to the Naamsepoort. From there I rode along the Kardinaal Mercierlaan to Heverlee and the Zoete Waters to finish off through Vaalbeek and into Blanden. The weather was rather cool with only 22 degrees but at least it stayed dry and the wind seemed to settle down near the end of the ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 64K and 390 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h09mins

    8239/72410

    26-08-2012, 21:17 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    25-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rain and wind
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    From the weather forecast it looked like this weekend would be one determined by rain showers and gusty wind. Not wanting to sit home and watch the time glide by I decided to give it a shot and rode out . Starting over Heverlee and Egenhoven I was soon forced to stop and hide, put on my Assos raincoat and wait until the shower passed. On wet roads I rode on to Korbeek Dyle and the Zoete Waters. The wind was misbehaving from the southwest but I decided to risk it and set towards Sint Joris Weert and Nethen. Lo and behold, the roads were dry here. Onwards to Hamme Mille and then upwards to the fields above Pietrebais. Turning to the 1st Wing Airbase the wind was in my favor now and cruising along against 40kph I passed through La Bruyere and set to Meldert. Here I chose the way back home since another little shower was falling and the streets were damp again. Passing through Opvelp and Bierbeek I rode to the Haasrode Industrie for a couple of laps. The wind was fierce now and the last stretch along the Expressweg was not an easy one with the wind blowing full in my face.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 57K and 360 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h59mins

    8175/72020

    25-08-2012, 14:48 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    24-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Little Lap
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Warm and sunny when I left but already dark clouds seemed to be gathering at the horizon. The forecast called for showers in the evening and night, the first this month. So I settled for a fast short lap. Speeding through Bierbeek, Opvelp and Beauvechain and braving the breeze while making my way through Tourinnes, Hamme Mille and Nethen to Sint Joris Weert. There was a lot of car traffic and care had to be taken from both sides. Finishing the ride along the Zoete Waters and Vaalbeek putting just the right amount of stress on my muscles to call it a fun ride. Near the end the clouds were dark and threatening and just after I arrived home some light rain started to fall. A blessing for nature.

    Endomondo track


     Ride Stats : 31.5K and 190 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h03mins

    8118/71660

    24-08-2012, 19:24 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    23-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hoegaarden 2
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Another dry and sunny day so I started out again around 5pm. On the same route as yesterday, Bierbeek to Opvelp, then Beauvechain and at La Bruyere take a left towards L'Ecluse. Passing high above Meldert and taking a right turn to Hoegaarden. In Hoegaarden climbing out to the Goudberg Geosite and then towards Oorbeek and Kumtich. My speed was a lot faster than yesterday. Legs felt better and there seemed to be less wind also. Contributing to a higher average . From Kumtich I took the wind in stride to climb to the E40. Passing that I came into Willebringen and then took the small tarmac road to Neervelp. From Neervelp I reached Bremt and then made my way parallel to the E40 towards Bierbeek and Haasrode Industrie. The last stretch along the Expressweg was a blast for my legs. They felt strong and enduring.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 51K and 355 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h43mins

    8087/71470

    23-08-2012, 19:52 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    22-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hoegaarden
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    A days' rest yesterday so today I was fresh for a new ride. The weather had turned a bit; still sunny but with a cool breeze from the southwest it felt less hot to ride out. My legs were a bit full but I still managed a good average speed at a low average heartrate. I set out over Bierbeek, Opvelp, Beauvechain and La Bruyere and the took a left towards L'Ecluse. From Ecluse I rode to Hoegaarden where I set for the Goudberg Geosite and then turned into the wind on my way to Oorbeek and Kumtich. Willebringen , Neervelp and Bremt were next and I finished my ride  over the Haasrode Industrie and along the Expressweg into Blanden.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 51K and 365 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h50mins

    8036/71115

    22-08-2012, 20:07 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    20-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Jodoigne
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    After the ontense heat of the last two days, today was a little bit less warm, and when I rode out at 5pm the sun was shaded and there was a little bit of wind blowing from the north. Cooler wind which was a joy for once. I started out along Haasrode Industrie and then set for Neervelp and Willebringen. Up and down to Kumtich and Oorbeek and then up to the Goudberg geosite. Down to Hoegaarden and on to the Ravel 2 which brought me to Jodoigne. Takin a double right here through the little city and I was on the N240 climbing out of the valley of the Grande Gette . Past Melin and then right past the 1st Wing and through La Bruyere. I added a loop over L'Ecluse and Meldert before setting sail for Beauvechain and Opvelp. With the wind in my face but for once I did not mind because it had a nice cooling effect. Through Bierbeek and Haasrode and I was yet again speeding down into Blanden. Had a good ride with an average heartrate of only 114bpm even though my average speed was above 29kph. Must have been recovering well.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 68.5K and 415 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h20mins

    7985/70750

    20-08-2012, 20:35 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    19-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Vedrin
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today even hotter weather was forecast so I rode out at 7am when temps were already above 20 degrees C with the sun just over the horizon. The passages under the trees bordering the route to Meldert were cool and the climb next to Meldert bos was a relief. Into Hoegaarden and onto the Ravel 2 for a stretch of 35K on a small tarmac road bordered at times by shrubberies, offering coolness but also a variety of flies. Downhill towards Namur I stopped when I reached Vedrin. 2 hours out and I turned around for the climb back to the crest and then the long downhill to Eghezee. From Eghezee the Ravel 2 climbs up to the ancient battlefield overlooking the Hottomont tomb. From then onwards the trail goes downhill again towards Jodoigne. It was just past 10am when I passed Jodoigne for the second time today and all that was left was riding to Hoegaarden and then climb out of that town to the road towards Meldert. The sun was burning now and I did not waste any time getting back home, just before 11am. Had a good long ride and I was back home before it really got hot out there.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 110.5K and 545 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h51mins

    7917/70335

     

    19-08-2012, 12:56 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    18-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Longchamps
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Hot weather forecast for today, so I started at 8AM in an effort to beat the heat. Starting with a temperature already around 20 degrees C and the wind which was slowly picking up from the southeast. I rode towards Hoegaarden where I picked in on the Ravel 2. Following that past Eghezee to reach Longchamps. The wind was nicely sheltered by the shrubberies around the Ravel track. I was taking it easy on the long steady uphill from Jodoigne to Eghezee. Arriving in Longchamps I took a right turn and rode towards Perwez, passing first through Mehaigne and Aische-en-Refail along the way. The wind was in my back now and the sun also. From Perwez I took the Ravel coming from Gembloux back to where it merges with the Ravel 2 . Arriving at Hoegaarden again I decided to ride past the Goudberg geosite and then onwards to Oorbeek and Kumtich. Pausing for a while at the geosite I took a couple of pictures before moving on.


    20120818_104909

    The heat was really building up as I arrived in Willebringen and during that last 15 minutes I was glad I started early. I was glad I got a solid 100K ride in with a good average despite an easy start and an average temperature of 27 degrees throughout the ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 101.5K and 525 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h31mins

    7806/69790

    18-08-2012, 13:56 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    Foto

    Gastenboek./.Guestbook

    Druk op onderstaande knop om een berichtje achter te laten in mijn Gastenboek. / Press the button below to write in my Guestbook.


    Foto

    Blog als favoriet !


    Foto

    Email Me

    Press the button to send me a mail






    Archief per week
  • 31/08-06/09 2020
  • 20/04-26/04 2020
  • 29/10-04/11 2018
  • 22/10-28/10 2018
  • 24/09-30/09 2018
  • 03/09-09/09 2018
  • 27/08-02/09 2018
  • 13/08-19/08 2018
  • 30/07-05/08 2018
  • 23/07-29/07 2018
  • 16/07-22/07 2018
  • 09/07-15/07 2018
  • 14/05-20/05 2018
  • 07/05-13/05 2018
  • 30/04-06/05 2018
  • 23/04-29/04 2018
  • 16/04-22/04 2018
  • 09/04-15/04 2018
  • 02/04-08/04 2018
  • 26/03-01/04 2018
  • 12/03-18/03 2018
  • 05/03-11/03 2018
  • 26/02-04/03 2018
  • 19/02-25/02 2018
  • 12/02-18/02 2018
  • 05/02-11/02 2018
  • 29/01-04/02 2018
  • 22/01-28/01 2018
  • 01/01-07/01 2018
  • 04/12-10/12 2017
  • 27/11-03/12 2017
  • 06/11-12/11 2017
  • 25/09-01/10 2017
  • 18/09-24/09 2017
  • 11/09-17/09 2017
  • 28/08-03/09 2017
  • 21/08-27/08 2017
  • 07/08-13/08 2017
  • 31/07-06/08 2017
  • 24/07-30/07 2017
  • 17/07-23/07 2017
  • 10/07-16/07 2017
  • 03/07-09/07 2017
  • 29/05-04/06 2017
  • 22/05-28/05 2017
  • 15/05-21/05 2017
  • 01/05-07/05 2017
  • 24/04-30/04 2017
  • 17/04-23/04 2017
  • 10/04-16/04 2017
  • 03/04-09/04 2017
  • 27/03-02/04 2017
  • 20/03-26/03 2017
  • 13/03-19/03 2017
  • 06/03-12/03 2017
  • 27/02-05/03 2017
  • 20/02-26/02 2017
  • 13/02-19/02 2017
  • 06/02-12/02 2017
  • 30/01-05/02 2017
  • 23/01-29/01 2017
  • 16/01-22/01 2017
  • 09/01-15/01 2017
  • 19/12-25/12 2016
  • 12/12-18/12 2016
  • 05/12-11/12 2016
  • 28/11-04/12 2016
  • 21/11-27/11 2016
  • 14/11-20/11 2016
  • 07/11-13/11 2016
  • 31/10-06/11 2016
  • 24/10-30/10 2016
  • 10/10-16/10 2016
  • 03/10-09/10 2016
  • 26/09-02/10 2016
  • 19/09-25/09 2016
  • 05/09-11/09 2016
  • 29/08-04/09 2016
  • 22/08-28/08 2016
  • 15/08-21/08 2016
  • 08/08-14/08 2016
  • 01/08-07/08 2016
  • 25/07-31/07 2016
  • 18/07-24/07 2016
  • 11/07-17/07 2016
  • 04/07-10/07 2016
  • 27/06-03/07 2016
  • 13/06-19/06 2016
  • 06/06-12/06 2016
  • 30/05-05/06 2016
  • 23/05-29/05 2016
  • 09/05-15/05 2016
  • 02/05-08/05 2016
  • 25/04-01/05 2016
  • 18/04-24/04 2016
  • 11/04-17/04 2016
  • 04/04-10/04 2016
  • 28/03-03/04 2016
  • 14/03-20/03 2016
  • 07/03-13/03 2016
  • 29/02-06/03 2016
  • 22/02-28/02 2016
  • 15/02-21/02 2016
  • 08/02-14/02 2016
  • 01/02-07/02 2016
  • 25/01-31/01 2016
  • 18/01-24/01 2016
  • 11/01-17/01 2016
  • 04/01-10/01 2016
  • 28/12-03/01 2021
  • 21/12-27/12 2015
  • 14/12-20/12 2015
  • 07/12-13/12 2015
  • 30/11-06/12 2015
  • 23/11-29/11 2015
  • 16/11-22/11 2015
  • 19/10-25/10 2015
  • 12/10-18/10 2015
  • 05/10-11/10 2015
  • 28/09-04/10 2015
  • 21/09-27/09 2015
  • 14/09-20/09 2015
  • 07/09-13/09 2015
  • 31/08-06/09 2015
  • 24/08-30/08 2015
  • 17/08-23/08 2015
  • 10/08-16/08 2015
  • 03/08-09/08 2015
  • 27/07-02/08 2015
  • 20/07-26/07 2015
  • 13/07-19/07 2015
  • 06/07-12/07 2015
  • 29/06-05/07 2015
  • 22/06-28/06 2015
  • 15/06-21/06 2015
  • 08/06-14/06 2015
  • 01/06-07/06 2015
  • 25/05-31/05 2015
  • 18/05-24/05 2015
  • 11/05-17/05 2015
  • 04/05-10/05 2015
  • 27/04-03/05 2015
  • 20/04-26/04 2015
  • 13/04-19/04 2015
  • 06/04-12/04 2015
  • 30/03-05/04 2015
  • 23/03-29/03 2015
  • 16/03-22/03 2015
  • 09/03-15/03 2015
  • 02/03-08/03 2015
  • 23/02-01/03 2015
  • 16/02-22/02 2015
  • 09/02-15/02 2015
  • 02/02-08/02 2015
  • 26/01-01/02 2015
  • 19/01-25/01 2015
  • 12/01-18/01 2015
  • 08/12-14/12 2014
  • 01/12-07/12 2014
  • 24/11-30/11 2014
  • 17/11-23/11 2014
  • 10/11-16/11 2014
  • 03/11-09/11 2014
  • 27/10-02/11 2014
  • 20/10-26/10 2014
  • 06/10-12/10 2014
  • 29/09-05/10 2014
  • 22/09-28/09 2014
  • 15/09-21/09 2014
  • 08/09-14/09 2014
  • 01/09-07/09 2014
  • 25/08-31/08 2014
  • 18/08-24/08 2014
  • 11/08-17/08 2014
  • 04/08-10/08 2014
  • 21/07-27/07 2014
  • 14/07-20/07 2014
  • 07/07-13/07 2014
  • 30/06-06/07 2014
  • 02/06-08/06 2014
  • 26/05-01/06 2014
  • 19/05-25/05 2014
  • 12/05-18/05 2014
  • 05/05-11/05 2014
  • 28/04-04/05 2014
  • 21/04-27/04 2014
  • 14/04-20/04 2014
  • 07/04-13/04 2014
  • 31/03-06/04 2014
  • 24/03-30/03 2014
  • 17/03-23/03 2014
  • 10/03-16/03 2014
  • 03/03-09/03 2014
  • 24/02-02/03 2014
  • 17/02-23/02 2014
  • 10/02-16/02 2014
  • 03/02-09/02 2014
  • 27/01-02/02 2014
  • 20/01-26/01 2014
  • 13/01-19/01 2014
  • 06/01-12/01 2014
  • 30/12-05/01 2014
  • 23/12-29/12 2013
  • 16/12-22/12 2013
  • 09/12-15/12 2013
  • 18/11-24/11 2013
  • 11/11-17/11 2013
  • 04/11-10/11 2013
  • 28/10-03/11 2013
  • 21/10-27/10 2013
  • 14/10-20/10 2013
  • 07/10-13/10 2013
  • 30/09-06/10 2013
  • 23/09-29/09 2013
  • 16/09-22/09 2013
  • 09/09-15/09 2013
  • 02/09-08/09 2013
  • 19/08-25/08 2013
  • 12/08-18/08 2013
  • 05/08-11/08 2013
  • 29/07-04/08 2013
  • 22/07-28/07 2013
  • 15/07-21/07 2013
  • 08/07-14/07 2013
  • 01/07-07/07 2013
  • 24/06-30/06 2013
  • 17/06-23/06 2013
  • 10/06-16/06 2013
  • 03/06-09/06 2013
  • 27/05-02/06 2013
  • 20/05-26/05 2013
  • 13/05-19/05 2013
  • 06/05-12/05 2013
  • 29/04-05/05 2013
  • 22/04-28/04 2013
  • 15/04-21/04 2013
  • 08/04-14/04 2013
  • 01/04-07/04 2013
  • 25/03-31/03 2013
  • 11/03-17/03 2013
  • 04/03-10/03 2013
  • 25/02-03/03 2013
  • 18/02-24/02 2013
  • 11/02-17/02 2013
  • 04/02-10/02 2013
  • 28/01-03/02 2013
  • 21/01-27/01 2013
  • 14/01-20/01 2013
  • 07/01-13/01 2013
  • 31/12-06/01 2013
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 17/12-23/12 2012
  • 10/12-16/12 2012
  • 03/12-09/12 2012
  • 26/11-02/12 2012
  • 19/11-25/11 2012
  • 22/10-28/10 2012
  • 15/10-21/10 2012
  • 01/10-07/10 2012
  • 24/09-30/09 2012
  • 17/09-23/09 2012
  • 10/09-16/09 2012
  • 03/09-09/09 2012
  • 27/08-02/09 2012
  • 20/08-26/08 2012
  • 13/08-19/08 2012
  • 06/08-12/08 2012
  • 30/07-05/08 2012
  • 23/07-29/07 2012
  • 16/07-22/07 2012
  • 09/07-15/07 2012
  • 02/07-08/07 2012
  • 25/06-01/07 2012
  • 18/06-24/06 2012
  • 11/06-17/06 2012
  • 04/06-10/06 2012
  • 28/05-03/06 2012
  • 21/05-27/05 2012
  • 14/05-20/05 2012
  • 07/05-13/05 2012
  • 30/04-06/05 2012
  • 23/04-29/04 2012
  • 16/04-22/04 2012
  • 09/04-15/04 2012
  • 02/04-08/04 2012
  • 26/03-01/04 2012
  • 19/03-25/03 2012
  • 12/03-18/03 2012
  • 05/03-11/03 2012
  • 27/02-04/03 2012
  • 20/02-26/02 2012
  • 13/02-19/02 2012
  • 06/02-12/02 2012
  • 30/01-05/02 2012
  • 23/01-29/01 2012
  • 16/01-22/01 2012
  • 09/01-15/01 2012
  • 02/01-08/01 2012
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 19/12-25/12 2011
  • 12/12-18/12 2011
  • 05/12-11/12 2011
  • 28/11-04/12 2011
  • 21/11-27/11 2011
  • 14/11-20/11 2011
  • 07/11-13/11 2011
  • 31/10-06/11 2011
  • 24/10-30/10 2011
  • 17/10-23/10 2011
  • 10/10-16/10 2011
  • 03/10-09/10 2011
  • 26/09-02/10 2011
  • 19/09-25/09 2011
  • 12/09-18/09 2011
  • 05/09-11/09 2011
  • 29/08-04/09 2011
  • 22/08-28/08 2011
  • 15/08-21/08 2011
  • 08/08-14/08 2011
  • 01/08-07/08 2011
  • 25/07-31/07 2011
  • 18/07-24/07 2011
  • 11/07-17/07 2011
  • 04/07-10/07 2011
  • 27/06-03/07 2011
  • 20/06-26/06 2011
  • 13/06-19/06 2011
  • 06/06-12/06 2011
  • 30/05-05/06 2011
  • 23/05-29/05 2011
  • 16/05-22/05 2011
  • 09/05-15/05 2011
  • 02/05-08/05 2011
  • 25/04-01/05 2011
  • 18/04-24/04 2011
  • 11/04-17/04 2011
  • 04/04-10/04 2011
  • 28/03-03/04 2011
  • 21/03-27/03 2011
  • 14/03-20/03 2011
  • 07/03-13/03 2011
  • 21/02-27/02 2011
  • 14/02-20/02 2011
  • 07/02-13/02 2011
  • 17/01-23/01 2011
  • 26/12-01/01 2012
  • 20/12-26/12 2010
  • 13/12-19/12 2010
  • 06/12-12/12 2010
  • 29/11-05/12 2010
  • 22/11-28/11 2010
  • 15/11-21/11 2010
  • 08/11-14/11 2010
  • 01/11-07/11 2010
  • 25/10-31/10 2010
  • 18/10-24/10 2010
  • 11/10-17/10 2010
  • 04/10-10/10 2010
  • 27/09-03/10 2010
  • 20/09-26/09 2010
  • 06/09-12/09 2010
  • 30/08-05/09 2010
  • 23/08-29/08 2010
  • 16/08-22/08 2010
  • 09/08-15/08 2010
  • 02/08-08/08 2010
  • 26/07-01/08 2010
  • 19/07-25/07 2010
  • 12/07-18/07 2010
  • 05/07-11/07 2010
  • 28/06-04/07 2010
  • 21/06-27/06 2010
  • 14/06-20/06 2010
  • 07/06-13/06 2010
  • 31/05-06/06 2010
  • 24/05-30/05 2010
  • 17/05-23/05 2010
  • 10/05-16/05 2010
  • 03/05-09/05 2010
  • 26/04-02/05 2010
  • 19/04-25/04 2010
  • 12/04-18/04 2010
  • 05/04-11/04 2010
  • 29/03-04/04 2010
  • 22/03-28/03 2010
  • 15/03-21/03 2010
  • 08/03-14/03 2010
  • 01/03-07/03 2010
  • 22/02-28/02 2010
  • 15/02-21/02 2010
  • 08/02-14/02 2010
  • 01/02-07/02 2010
  • 25/01-31/01 2010
  • 18/01-24/01 2010
  • 11/01-17/01 2010
  • 04/01-10/01 2010
  • 28/12-03/01 2016
  • 21/12-27/12 2009
  • 14/12-20/12 2009
  • 07/12-13/12 2009
  • 30/11-06/12 2009
  • 23/11-29/11 2009
  • 16/11-22/11 2009
  • 09/11-15/11 2009
  • 26/10-01/11 2009
  • 19/10-25/10 2009
  • 12/10-18/10 2009
  • 05/10-11/10 2009
  • 28/09-04/10 2009
  • 21/09-27/09 2009
  • 14/09-20/09 2009
  • 07/09-13/09 2009
  • 31/08-06/09 2009
  • 24/08-30/08 2009
  • 17/08-23/08 2009
  • 10/08-16/08 2009
  • 03/08-09/08 2009
  • 27/07-02/08 2009
  • 20/07-26/07 2009
  • 13/07-19/07 2009
  • 06/07-12/07 2009
  • 29/06-05/07 2009
  • 22/06-28/06 2009
  • 15/06-21/06 2009
  • 08/06-14/06 2009
  • 01/06-07/06 2009
  • 25/05-31/05 2009
  • 18/05-24/05 2009
  • 11/05-17/05 2009
  • 04/05-10/05 2009
  • 27/04-03/05 2009
  • 20/04-26/04 2009
  • 13/04-19/04 2009
  • 06/04-12/04 2009
  • 30/03-05/04 2009
  • 23/03-29/03 2009
  • 16/03-22/03 2009
  • 09/03-15/03 2009
  • 02/03-08/03 2009
  • 23/02-01/03 2009
  • 16/02-22/02 2009
  • 09/02-15/02 2009
  • 02/02-08/02 2009
  • 26/01-01/02 2009
  • 19/01-25/01 2009
  • 12/01-18/01 2009
  • 05/01-11/01 2009
  • 29/12-04/01 2009
  • 22/12-28/12 2008
  • 15/12-21/12 2008
  • 08/12-14/12 2008
  • 01/12-07/12 2008
  • 24/11-30/11 2008
  • 17/11-23/11 2008
  • 10/11-16/11 2008
  • 03/11-09/11 2008
  • 27/10-02/11 2008
  • 20/10-26/10 2008
  • 13/10-19/10 2008
  • 06/10-12/10 2008
  • 29/09-05/10 2008
  • 22/09-28/09 2008
  • 15/09-21/09 2008
  • 08/09-14/09 2008
  • 01/09-07/09 2008
  • 25/08-31/08 2008
  • 18/08-24/08 2008
  • 11/08-17/08 2008
  • 04/08-10/08 2008
  • 28/07-03/08 2008
  • 21/07-27/07 2008
  • 14/07-20/07 2008
  • 07/07-13/07 2008
  • 30/06-06/07 2008
  • 23/06-29/06 2008
  • 16/06-22/06 2008
  • 09/06-15/06 2008
  • 02/06-08/06 2008
  • 26/05-01/06 2008
  • 19/05-25/05 2008
  • 12/05-18/05 2008
  • 05/05-11/05 2008
  • 28/04-04/05 2008
  • 21/04-27/04 2008
  • 14/04-20/04 2008
  • 07/04-13/04 2008
  • 31/03-06/04 2008
  • 24/03-30/03 2008
  • 17/03-23/03 2008
  • 10/03-16/03 2008
  • 03/03-09/03 2008
  • 25/02-02/03 2008
  • 18/02-24/02 2008
  • 11/02-17/02 2008
  • 04/02-10/02 2008
  • 28/01-03/02 2008
  • 21/01-27/01 2008
  • 14/01-20/01 2008
  • 07/01-13/01 2008
  • 31/12-06/01 2008
  • 24/12-30/12 2007
  • 17/12-23/12 2007
  • 10/12-16/12 2007
  • 03/12-09/12 2007
  • 26/11-02/12 2007
  • 19/11-25/11 2007
  • 12/11-18/11 2007
  • 05/11-11/11 2007
  • 29/10-04/11 2007
  • 22/10-28/10 2007
  • 15/10-21/10 2007
  • 08/10-14/10 2007
  • 01/10-07/10 2007
  • 24/09-30/09 2007
  • 17/09-23/09 2007
  • 10/09-16/09 2007
  • 03/09-09/09 2007
  • 27/08-02/09 2007
  • 20/08-26/08 2007
  • 13/08-19/08 2007
  • 06/08-12/08 2007
  • 30/07-05/08 2007
  • 23/07-29/07 2007
  • 16/07-22/07 2007
  • 09/07-15/07 2007
  • 02/07-08/07 2007
  • 25/06-01/07 2007
  • 18/06-24/06 2007
  • 11/06-17/06 2007
  • 04/06-10/06 2007
  • 28/05-03/06 2007
  • 21/05-27/05 2007
  • 14/05-20/05 2007
  • 07/05-13/05 2007
  • 30/04-06/05 2007
  • 23/04-29/04 2007
  • 16/04-22/04 2007
  • 09/04-15/04 2007
  • 02/04-08/04 2007
  • 26/03-01/04 2007
  • 19/03-25/03 2007
  • 12/03-18/03 2007
  • 05/03-11/03 2007
  • 26/02-04/03 2007
  • 19/02-25/02 2007
  • 12/02-18/02 2007
  • 05/02-11/02 2007
  • 29/01-04/02 2007
  • 22/01-28/01 2007
  • 15/01-21/01 2007
  • 08/01-14/01 2007
  • 01/01-07/01 2007
  • 25/12-31/12 2006
  • 18/12-24/12 2006
  • 11/12-17/12 2006
  • 04/12-10/12 2006
  • 27/11-03/12 2006
  • 20/11-26/11 2006
  • 13/11-19/11 2006
  • 06/11-12/11 2006
  • 30/10-05/11 2006
  • 23/10-29/10 2006
  • 16/10-22/10 2006
  • 09/10-15/10 2006
  • 02/10-08/10 2006
  • 25/09-01/10 2006
  • 18/09-24/09 2006


    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs