Big Bad Log
Inhoud blog
  • Mollendaal Forest
  • Back to the Sonian Forest
  • Tacx Satori
  • Tacx Satori
  • Heverlee forest
  • Mr.Merlin rides out
  • Mr. Merlin rides out
  • Nodebais
  • Following my front wheel
  • Psychlotron 55K

    Foto


    Foto

    Big Bad Links
  • Big Bad Wolf Home
  • The History blog
  • Steep Hill Bike Travelogue
  • LOUP . ORG
  • Chicks and Bikes - humor
  • Moster Blond
  • David Moulton's Bike Blog
  • Christine Peanut Vardaros
  • Velonews Competition Journal
  • Pez Cycling News

    Big Bad Links 2
  • Nothing rides like Ti
  • Irina Kalentieva
  • Kim Saenen - MTB Marathon Girl
  • Big Wheel Building - Mike Curiak blog
  • Jeff Kerkove - Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete
  • Kaa Petaate - Leives klupke
  • Life Behind Bars - luv2mtb blog
  • MTB Lily : latest MTB news
  • Como Cyco
  • MTB Wallon

    Big Bad Links 3
  • Milano Fixed
  • Scot 'Chuck Ibis' Nicol Spew
  • Hell Yeah !
  • Zen Garage
  • CyclingNews.COM babe thread (humor)
  • Nerv+

    Foto


    Beoordeel dit blog
      Zeer goed
      Goed
      Voldoende
      Nog wat bijwerken
      Nog veel werk aan
     

    Foto

    Zoeken in blog


    Tales from the Woods
    09-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Coloma
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today saw the return of clement weather. When I got home from work I grabbed my Vortex and set forth towards the Leuvense vaart. Riding through Leuven was a bit hairy but went well and once I was next to the water things settled down quickly in a good rhythm. The wind was blowing against me but it was not too strong and I quickly covered the 34K distance to Mechelen. Turning next to the Coloma I rode back towards Leuven. Making good speed now and my average went up towards 30kph. I did close to 35kph on some sections. I had a biker in my wheel most of the time. He never took over but I didn't actually mind. I was training and he was cheating his average. When I arrived next to Leuven again I took the east side and rode over de Kop of Kessel Lo back to the Tiensesteenweg. From the Mol I followed the Expresweg back into Blanden. Good solid tempo training in mild weather. Around 24 degrees C on average.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 69K and 165 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h17mins

    7230/66110

    09-08-2012, 21:10 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    08-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Industry Laps
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The weather didn't look too stable and after a days' rest I wanted to ease my legs back into cycling by doing some controlled laps. So I rode towards the Haasrode Industrieterrein for a couple of 2.3K laps. It was rather busy with people leaving from work but except for one a$$hole who suddenly braked whilst riding in front of me - just for the fun of it - I didn't have any trouble with the cars . I rode the laps at a good speed but didn't pull through on the climb. After an hours worth I rode back home. When I arrived it started to drizzle so I was very lucky to have hit a dry spell for training.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 34.5K and 230 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h17mins

    7161/65945

    08-08-2012, 19:19 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    05-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rosieres-Oorbeek
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Felt Ok when waking up this morning so I decided to ride out and do some active recovery. Starting out over Egenhoven and taking the Sint Jansberg Steenweg to Overijse and then riding up to Maleizen I liked the feeling in my legs. So I settled for a bigger ride, making my way towards Rosieres and then up and down into Bierges. Passing through Wavre for a long climb to the Chaussee de Huy. Left to Dion and then up to the Golf de Bercuit, where I managed to beat my fastest time. Not bad after yesterdays' ride. Down into Grez and then along the N25 to Hamme Mille. Yet another extra loop brough me to Nodebais, whence I rode on to Beauvechain. Here I took a right turn and then left to Meldert. Onwards to Oorbeek and then left to Hoksem. The climb out of Hoksem to Kumtich was also good for a personal record. Double right in Kumtich and I was on my way to Willebringen. Through Neervelp and up towards the Bierbeek water tower. Taking a right and then a left to follow the tarmac road parallel to the E40. Into the Haasrode Industrie for a big lap and then back to Blanden along the Expressway. I was surprised to see the distance when I got home. That makes 227.5K for this weekend.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 93.5K and 760 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h18mins

    7121/67715

    05-08-2012, 14:39 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    04-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Witch
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today the weather was fine, around 20 degrees C when I rode out and the wind was moderate. Some cloud cover but the sun burst through enough to make me apply some sunscreen before heading out for what would turn out to be a 5 hour ride. I set out on the Lf6a - Vlaanderen Fietsroute , following this all the way to Heks, deep in the province of Limburg. Riding east I could feel the wind blowing in my advantage and I also felt it getting stronger. This promised some difficulty on the return trip. Passing Velm and entering Kerkom, this marked the furthest point I ever ventured on the Lf6a. The landscape once past Velm was ondulating more and more . Lots of apple and pear trees, the roads were mostly smaller tarmac affairs which rolled well. From time to time I passed a little forest or collection of trees and shrubberies . I was depending on the Lf6a signage and - of course - I also had the GPS track as a backup. Passing through Aalst, Brustem and then passing little villages with cute names like Velshoven, Helschoven, Gutshoven I ventured further and further towards the east. Passing Broekhoven I saw that I was entering the village of Heks, my furthest point for today. Looking on my Edge 705 I noticed I was 65K from home. Stopping for a little snack and to take some pictures of the little Heks' church.


    20120804_122314

    Riding back towards Brustem I had to climb up some hills which proved quite difficult with the wind now blowing strongly in my face. Good thing the track zigzagged from time to time but most of the time I was facing the wind. The sun provided me with warmth and the strong wind made me thirsty. Once back in Velm I was counting back the kilometers and the villages that passed brought me closer and closer to home. This was turning out to be my longest road bike ride - ever. With 134km and just under 5 hours it was quite a ride. I felt OK but I was glad to be home. Especially the wind was my strongest adversary today. Good thing the forecast rain showers never appeared. Good solid ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 134K and 905 heightmeters (Garmin) in 4h57mins

    7028/64955

    04-08-2012, 17:05 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    02-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hoegaarden
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    When I got home from work it looked to be like perfect weather for a ride. I took the Vortex and set out on what I hoped to be a fast and relaxing ride. Starting following the "Haasrode Toer" over the Haasrode Industrie, into Bierbeek and then towards Bremt. The wind was blowing noticeably from the west-southwest and I was already thinking that the second part of the ride might prove difficult because of that. Onwards to Neervelp and then over the crest into Willebringen. From Willebringen the track took me to Kumtich and Oorbeek, and then over the Goudberg geosite into Hoegaarden. Turning back I took the long climb out of Hoegaarden along a small tarmac road, well protected from the wind. When I reached the road leading to Meldert I braced myself but the wind seemed to be less strong than before. The sun was out and I sped towards Meldert. From Meldert I rode towards La Bruyere where I took a right turn towards Beauvechain and ultimately Opvelp. Here I went to the left and before long I was back in Bierbeek. Making my way to the Haasrode Industrie terrain for a quick loop before following the Expressweg into Blanden. Legs felt strong and I was not surprised to see that my average speed was more than 29kph, whilst my average heartrate was only a modest 119bpm.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 53K and 355 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h48mins

    6894/64050

    02-08-2012, 19:49 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    01-08-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Middle Lap
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Busy shedule today so I rode out early in the morning. The sun was out and I could enjoy temperatures around 25 degrees C on average accompanied by a mild southern wind. I rode out for what I like to call a Middle Lap, a medium distance lap. Over Bierbeek to Meldert and then turning right towards La Bruyere. Riding up to the N240 and then switching to the N91 past Nodebais and into Hamme Mille. A left here and the loop was closed over Nethen, Sint Joris Weert, the Zoete Waters and Vaalbeek. Nice relaxed ride with a good tempo.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 45K and 255 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h33mins

    6841/63695

    01-08-2012, 11:47 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    31-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Longueville
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Last ride of the month July and I wanted to get over the 1800K mark so I set out for a longish ride. Starting out over the Zoete Waters, Sint Joris Weert and Nethen I made my way up and down into Pecrot. Onwards to Florival and Archennes where I suffered the terrible state of the road until I came in Grez where things brightened up. The weather was overcast but dry and rather warm with an average temperature of 23 degrees C. I chose to wear a longsleeved jersey, not being sure if it would stay dry. From Grez I climbed past Biez and Heze to Longueville. Past Longueville I turned left to reach Roux-Miroir. A short stretch on the N91 and then to the right at the ferme de Happeau for a stretch of narrow backroads. Back on the N91 and then taking a right turn to reach the road to La Bruyere. Taking the long way to Beauvechain and then up and down to Opvelp. Here I took a left turn towards Bierbeek. On to the Haasrode Industrie terrain and then to the Expressweg which took me nicely back to Blanden.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 61K and 390 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h07mins

    6796/63440

    31-07-2012, 20:33 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    30-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Little Lap
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    First day back at work today, so I did not feel like doing much too much when I got home. There was a good breeze blowing from the west and it looked like it would rain . I settled on a little lap, just stretching the legs and trying to keep the chain on the big ring. This went surprisingly well, despite the wind trying to stop me when I rode on the long climb out of Opvelp towards Beauvechain. The sun came out and I soon regretted putting on a shirt with long sleeves. But a little later the sun was hiding behind clouds again and the temperature dropped a couple of degrees, made worse by the cool breeze. The lap was my standard little lap, starting over Haasrode and Bierbeek, then Opvelp, Beauvechain and Hamme Mille and closing up through Nethen, Sint Joris Weert and the Zoete Waters and Vaalbeek.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 33K and 215 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h10mins

    6735/63050

    30-07-2012, 19:54 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    29-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rosieres
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Temperatures are back in normal regions, and the wind is also back. I wanted to do an easy ride today so I started out towards Heverlee and Egenhoven, then following the Sint Jansberg steenweg all the way to Overijse . Climbing up towards Maleizen and then taking a left towards Rosieres and then dropping into Bierges. Climbing out of the Lasne valley and before long I was riding into the Dyle valley in Wavre. Long climb out of that one and following the Chaussee de Huy for a while until I took another left taking me into Dion-Le-Val.
    A sharp right and I was on the steep climb up to the Golf de Bercuit. 14% and even a bit more at places. Down into Grez-Doiceau and then riding towards Hamme Mille along the N25. Fromm Hamme Mille I took my normal finishing loop over Nethen, Sint Joris Weert, the Zoete Waters and Vaalbeek into Blanden. Had a good relaxing ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 67.5K and 565 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h28mins

    6702/62835

    29-07-2012, 13:30 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    27-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Brustem
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Another hot day forecast so I started out early to beat the heat. Or at least tried to, because it heated up pretty fast when I started out towards Hoegaarden . Riding onwards along Outgaarden, Goetsenhoven, Ezemaal and Neerwinden I caught up on the Lf6 just before Neerhespen. Following that bikepath until I came to the N80 just before Kerkom bij Sint Truiden. I could have gone further but the heat was getting to me and I still needed to ride all the way back. Turning around and the wind  - the little wind there was - was blowing in my face which cooled me down just enough to make the heat more comfortable. Riding back following the Lf6 this time over Velm, Neerwinden , Ezemaal and then just before Goetsenhoven taking a detour along the N64 and then taking a right towards Outgaarden. From Hoegaarden I took my usual way back home riding through Oorbeek, Kumtich, Willebringen, Opvelp and Bremt towards the Haasrode Industrie terrain. I was glad to be on the Expressway and close to Blanden after almost 4 hours with an average outside temperature of 30 degrees C. My effort was in the recovery regions because I noticed my average heartrate was only 107 bpm throughout this ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 102.5K and 685 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h55mins

    6635/62270

    27-07-2012, 14:31 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    26-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Ravel 2
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Got an early start today because the forecast called for hot weather. Making my way to Hoegaarden over Bierbeek, Opvelp and Meldert and after some 19K I was on the ravel 2 which connects Hoegaarden with Namur. Riding though Jodoigne and Eghezee and then dropping into the valley to reach Saint Marc  and Saint Servais. 56.5K and around 2 hours out. Turning around an facing the 7K long climb back to get out of the Meuse valley. The wind was blowing slightly against me but with the sun gaining force the little breeze was very welcome. Back through Eghezee and Jodoigne to reach Hoegaarden. Riding back I took another loop, first riding up to the Goudberg geosite and then into Oorbeek and up to Kumtich. From Kumtich the wind was blowing in my favor when I rode to Willebringen and Neervelp. Up to the Bierbeek globe and then back home following the Expressweg from Haasrode Industrie. A nice long ride with a minimum of effort, judging on the average heartrate of 112bpm, and due to the fact that I was home around 12.30 I also had a manageable 26 degrees average temperature during this ride. The long stretches of shrubberies next to the Ravel offer good protection against the sun and the wind if need be.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 119K and 620 heightmeters (Garmin) in 4h17mins

    6532/61585

    26-07-2012, 14:05 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    25-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Active recovery
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    My first idea for today was to take a days' rest but when I saw another beautiful sunny day developing I could not resist riding out. I took it easy and focussed on low gears and active recovery for the legs. A quick dash around incorporating Bierbeek, Meldert, La Bruyere, Pietrebais and then taking a right towards Nodebais and onwards to Beauvechain. Some F16 were doing calisthenics in the air above the 1st Wing Airforce base and their booming noises accompanied me past Opvelp and to Bierbeek. From Bierbeek I rode towards the Haasrode Industrie Terrain for a loop and then I set forth to Heverlee Park to return from Heverlee to Blanden along the Naamsesteenweg. The sun made it hot out there but there was also a slight breeze from what seemed to be north-northeasterly directions.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 52K and 330 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h56mins

    6413/60965

    25-07-2012, 14:58 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    24-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Ottignies and Tienen
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Another bright and sunny day and I rode out for an easy recovery ride. Riding towards Bonlez over Sint Joris Weert, Nethen, Pecrot, Archennes and Grez-Doiceau. In Bonlez I took a stretch of the Ottinoise towards Ottignies but just before entering Mont-Saint-Guibert I took a 180 degree turn and rode back towards Chaumont Gistoux. The hilly terrain here pushed me into the lower gears and since I did not want to put too much pressure on my legs the average speed was a mild 25kph so far. Into and out of Longueville and I set towards Incourt and Dongelberg. Came upon Roger L. and Johan H. who were also doing a road ride and we stopped a while to catch up on the latest goings-on. Onwards past Dongelberg towards Jodoigne were I took the Ravel 2 towards Hoegaarden. I followed the Ravel on the other side of the Stationstraat until I reached Bost where I had to search a bit to find my way back to Hoegaarden. Riding up to the Marollenkapel in Sint Katharina Houtem I took a break overlooking the sun-drenched landscapes.


    20120724_123238

    Riding onwards to Oorbeek, Kumtich  and Willebringen , past Neervelp and towards Bremt where I climbed towards the Bierbeek water tower. Fast downhill into Bierbeek  whence I rode towards the Haasrode Industrie Park where I did a couple of laps before finishing with a stretch along the Expressweg into Blanden, getting a nice 100K with an average heartrate of only 113bpm, well into recovery ranges.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 101K and 745 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h52mins

    6361/60635

    24-07-2012, 15:02 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    23-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Boom
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Even though I begin to feel the fatigue setting in from the past week, the good weather drew me out for a long ride. Since I did not want to stress my body too much I opted for a fairly flat ride, first riding towards the Leuvense Vaart and then following this body of water until past Mechelen, where a short intermediate stretch brought me to the Zennegat where I followed  the river Zenne until I came to Boom. Here I took a little break, to photograph the US Sherman tank, which was obviously being prepared for a new coat of paint.


    20120723_111518

    Turning around I managed to catch another cyclist and together we rode a couple of kilometers in the direction of Heffen, alternating the lead. He took the bridge so I was alone and I rode back along the same way whence I had come. Riding past Battel and Mechelen, the Leuvense Vaart led me straight towards Leuven. Around Kampenhout I was overtaken by another cyclist. I took his wheel and again I could alternate the lead . We made good speed until he took a left and I was alone again. Passing through Kessel Lo and taking the Tiensesteenweg until I took a right turn on the Expressweg . I rode a couple of laps in the Industrieterrain of Haasrode to make sure I would make the 100K mark today. The weather was splendid with temperatures around 25 degrees C and a mild wind from westerly directions.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 102K and 220 heightmeters (Garmin) in 3h30mins

    6259/59890

    23-07-2012, 14:29 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    22-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Neerhespen
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today saw the sun out again. I wanted to do a recovery ride so I set out towards Hoegaarden and then onwards to Goetsenhoven, Ezemaal and Neerwinden . The temperature was around 18 degrees when I started, but it looked like the sun would make it warmer very soon.
    I wanted to check out a couple of cars I saw in Neerwinden whilst I was riding the Kroeme Toer earlier this week. They were still there so I could take some pictures and move on.



    20120722_113436

    When I reached the War memorial site at Neerhespen I turned the Vortex around an rode back towards Hoegaarden along the traces of the Kroeme Toer. From Hoegaarden I took another track towards Oorbeek, Hoksem and Kumtich. Willebringen, Opvelp and Neervelp were next. The wind was blowing faintly from the North-Northeast again and it did not bother me too much today. From Neervelp I took a left towards Bremt. Bierbeek, Haasrode Industrie and then Heverlee Park and returning following the Naamsesteenweg into Blanden completed this easy recovery ride with an average heartrate of 112bpm. The average temperature was a mild 23 degrees C, looks like the summer has arrived at last.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 82K and 565 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h56mins

    6157/59670

    22-07-2012, 14:47 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    21-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Ottintoise 2012 sampler
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The plan today was to ride up to Bonlez. Getting there involved riding over the Zoete Waters, Sint Joris Weert, Pecrot, Archennes and past Grez. In all just short of 25K. I had the track of the 2012 Ottintoise in my Garmin 705 and I picked in on this organised ride just past Bonlez. I did  its easternmost loop, which involved more than a couple very steep, but thankfully also short - hills. I had to get out of the saddles a couple of times which meant the slope was nearing 14-15 degrees. I rode up to the point where the track almost crosses itself and then rode back towards Bonlez. Looks like this Ottintoise is quite a hilly ride, I hope to explore it further in the near future. It starts in Ottignies and is 86K long with almost a 1000 heightmeters.
    Arriving back in Bonlez I decided to loop towards Grez, taking a right and starting the long climb through Heze towards Longueville. Passing  through Incourt and Dongelberg I followed the smaller track through Lathuy and then crossing the N240 I arrived in Melin. From here I rode on towards Sart-Melin and then arriving at the N240 again I followed this until I could take a right and plunge towards La Bruyere. The wind came from North-North Easterly directions but it did not bother me much. Passing through La Bruyere and then onwards to Meldert and Opvelp. Here I took a left towards Beauvechain. Through Tourinnes and Hamme Mille and before long I was back in Nethen. From here I closed my loop over Sint Joris Weert, the Zoete Waters and Vaalbeek. Quite a good ride and even though my average was low in the hilly sections in the beginning and on the Ottintoise I managed to crank it up in the end. The average temperature turned out to be 21 degrees C and with the sun peeping through the cloud cover from time to time it was quite pleasant weather for cycling.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 112K and 900 heightmeters (Garmin) in 4h03mins

    6075/59105

    21-07-2012, 15:34 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    19-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Little recovery lap
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Very windy weather and the possibility of showers was making me decide to do an easy recovery ride today. Starting out over the Zoete Waters and Sint Joris Weert towards Nethen, Hamme Mille and Nodebais. The wind was tugging on me and its gusty character made it dangerous between the houses. Riding up to Beauvechain and then taking a left in the direction of Opvelp and Neervelp. The fun was over when I turned left again and faced the wind straight in my face whilst I battled my way into Bremt. Having some shelter behind the E40 I crisscrossed through Bierbeek and arriving at the Industrie Park in Haasrode I could not resist doing a local loop. Unfortunately one of the clouds decided to let go when I made my way towards Heverlee Park. Not a full blast shower but I got wet nevertheless. Fortunately it was over soon and when I arrived in Heverlee at least the rain was gone. Only the wet roads made the ride a little treacherous now. Soon I was riding along the Naamsesteenweg into Blanden. My average heartrate was nicely in the recovery regions with 112bpm and the average temperature of 20 degrees made it - all things considered - a very enjoyable little ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 44.5K and 305 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h40mins

    5963/58205

    19-07-2012, 13:28 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    18-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Fast Recovery
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The weather looked a lot better today. More sunshine and also temperatures above 20 degrees. It had been a while. When the Tour de France finished I set out for a recovery ride. The wind was a major factor, it was strong and gusty and blew from the west-southwest. The start was easy with me heading towards Hoegaarden and there turning on the Ravel 2. When I reached Jodoigne I turned right and felt the wind for the first time straight in my face. Making my way towards Dongelberg I took it easy - after all this was supposed to be a recovery ride - and upon reaching the N91 I took a right again for a long straight line leading me to Pietrebais. The wind came from my left and was strong enough to try to topple me over. So I had to grab the bull by the horns and anticipate by riding half a metre from the side of the road. When I reached Pietrebais I tooka left towards La Bruyere and here I could make good speed. I overtook another biker and we took turns taking the lead. But all of a sudden he couldn't keep up the pace and dropped back. I was riding 40kph at the time but the wind was blowing from the side as I headed onwards to Meldert. Here the trouble began again as I set out towards Opvelp and Bierbeek. The wind was strong and pushing from left forwards. Riding on to reach the Expressweg I took a left towards Blanden and had to battle to make the long slope on the big ring. But I survived and was pleased with the average pace of this right. I did not expect it to be so high, especially since my average heartrate was only 118bpm . Well into recovery territory.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 65K and 415 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h15mins

    5919/57900

    18-07-2012, 20:55 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    17-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Kroemen Toer 100K
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The weather forecast for today was clouded in the AM, and after noon it would dry out and the sun might break through the clouds occasionally. I left around 1PM and set out to do the 100K version of the Truval Kroemen Toer, an organised ride that starts southeast of Sint Truiden and come up to Bierbeek. There is also a 135K version. The track I had dates from the first version of this ride in 2008.
    The wind was blowing hard from the west and in the first half of this ride , it more or less was to my advantage. I followed the GPS trail and passed through a lot of Linters, next to Zoutleeuw and then came to the starting point just past Gorsem and entering Sint Truiden. From here things would become less easy since the wind was now my enemy.
    Paasing through Wilderen and making my way to Halle Booienhoven, I eventuallt came on known territory as I followed the road from Dormaal to Neerlanden. Neerwinden and then Goetsenhoven passed as I battled it out with the fierce wind. When I came close to Outgaerden and Hoegaarden I relaxed a bit, I was nearing Meldert and from there onwards the wind would be blowing from the right whilst I made my way towards Opvelp and Bierbeek. For a last stretch to make it an even 100K I rode to the Industrieterrain of Haasrode and then rode towards Blanden along the Expressweg. It was a good ride and I was amazed at my average speed which was quite high for such a windy ride all on my own.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 102.5K and 595 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h34mins

    5854/57485

    17-07-2012, 17:40 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    16-07-2012
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Oorbeek and some rain
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    This morning saw the sun out, so I was fast to get on my bike and try to get a ride in. Meteox.be forecast rain around noon so I had to be fast to keep it dry. Starting out along the Kroeme Toer from a couple of years ago, over Haasrode, Bierbeek, Willebringen and then riding towards Kumtich. I came upon Roger L, who was fiddling with his pedal cleats - he does this all the time, has a hard time finding the correct position on his bike - and we rode together for a while. I saw some menacing clouds over the western horizon but Roger assured me that there was too much wind and it would not rain. Yeah right. When he stopped again to fiddle with his shoes I bid him au revoir and rode on from Meldert towards La Bruyere , braving a strong headwind. In Beauvechain I took a left towards Tourinnes and Hamme Mille. Entering Nethen my luck ran out and it started to rain, softly at first but before long I had to stop and don my Assos windbreaker to keep myself dry. Obviously the road became wet and dangerous very fast. Riding over Sint Joris Weert and the Zoete Waters, barely able to see where I was riding with my glasses getting wet and dampy, I was glad to have the wind in my back for the last stretch towards Vaalbeek and Blanden. When I got home I took 15 minutes out to clean my bike. At least I got a 50K ride in, I hate to think about the distance I might have ridden when the weather would have been "normal" for a Belgian summer. I have the feeling I already lost 500K due to this rainy weather the last 2 weeks. Damn.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 50K and 335 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h49mins

    5751/56890

    16-07-2012, 14:11 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    Foto

    Gastenboek./.Guestbook

    Druk op onderstaande knop om een berichtje achter te laten in mijn Gastenboek. / Press the button below to write in my Guestbook.


    Foto

    Blog als favoriet !


    Foto

    Email Me

    Press the button to send me a mail






    Archief per week
  • 31/08-06/09 2020
  • 20/04-26/04 2020
  • 29/10-04/11 2018
  • 22/10-28/10 2018
  • 24/09-30/09 2018
  • 03/09-09/09 2018
  • 27/08-02/09 2018
  • 13/08-19/08 2018
  • 30/07-05/08 2018
  • 23/07-29/07 2018
  • 16/07-22/07 2018
  • 09/07-15/07 2018
  • 14/05-20/05 2018
  • 07/05-13/05 2018
  • 30/04-06/05 2018
  • 23/04-29/04 2018
  • 16/04-22/04 2018
  • 09/04-15/04 2018
  • 02/04-08/04 2018
  • 26/03-01/04 2018
  • 12/03-18/03 2018
  • 05/03-11/03 2018
  • 26/02-04/03 2018
  • 19/02-25/02 2018
  • 12/02-18/02 2018
  • 05/02-11/02 2018
  • 29/01-04/02 2018
  • 22/01-28/01 2018
  • 01/01-07/01 2018
  • 04/12-10/12 2017
  • 27/11-03/12 2017
  • 06/11-12/11 2017
  • 25/09-01/10 2017
  • 18/09-24/09 2017
  • 11/09-17/09 2017
  • 28/08-03/09 2017
  • 21/08-27/08 2017
  • 07/08-13/08 2017
  • 31/07-06/08 2017
  • 24/07-30/07 2017
  • 17/07-23/07 2017
  • 10/07-16/07 2017
  • 03/07-09/07 2017
  • 29/05-04/06 2017
  • 22/05-28/05 2017
  • 15/05-21/05 2017
  • 01/05-07/05 2017
  • 24/04-30/04 2017
  • 17/04-23/04 2017
  • 10/04-16/04 2017
  • 03/04-09/04 2017
  • 27/03-02/04 2017
  • 20/03-26/03 2017
  • 13/03-19/03 2017
  • 06/03-12/03 2017
  • 27/02-05/03 2017
  • 20/02-26/02 2017
  • 13/02-19/02 2017
  • 06/02-12/02 2017
  • 30/01-05/02 2017
  • 23/01-29/01 2017
  • 16/01-22/01 2017
  • 09/01-15/01 2017
  • 19/12-25/12 2016
  • 12/12-18/12 2016
  • 05/12-11/12 2016
  • 28/11-04/12 2016
  • 21/11-27/11 2016
  • 14/11-20/11 2016
  • 07/11-13/11 2016
  • 31/10-06/11 2016
  • 24/10-30/10 2016
  • 10/10-16/10 2016
  • 03/10-09/10 2016
  • 26/09-02/10 2016
  • 19/09-25/09 2016
  • 05/09-11/09 2016
  • 29/08-04/09 2016
  • 22/08-28/08 2016
  • 15/08-21/08 2016
  • 08/08-14/08 2016
  • 01/08-07/08 2016
  • 25/07-31/07 2016
  • 18/07-24/07 2016
  • 11/07-17/07 2016
  • 04/07-10/07 2016
  • 27/06-03/07 2016
  • 13/06-19/06 2016
  • 06/06-12/06 2016
  • 30/05-05/06 2016
  • 23/05-29/05 2016
  • 09/05-15/05 2016
  • 02/05-08/05 2016
  • 25/04-01/05 2016
  • 18/04-24/04 2016
  • 11/04-17/04 2016
  • 04/04-10/04 2016
  • 28/03-03/04 2016
  • 14/03-20/03 2016
  • 07/03-13/03 2016
  • 29/02-06/03 2016
  • 22/02-28/02 2016
  • 15/02-21/02 2016
  • 08/02-14/02 2016
  • 01/02-07/02 2016
  • 25/01-31/01 2016
  • 18/01-24/01 2016
  • 11/01-17/01 2016
  • 04/01-10/01 2016
  • 28/12-03/01 2021
  • 21/12-27/12 2015
  • 14/12-20/12 2015
  • 07/12-13/12 2015
  • 30/11-06/12 2015
  • 23/11-29/11 2015
  • 16/11-22/11 2015
  • 19/10-25/10 2015
  • 12/10-18/10 2015
  • 05/10-11/10 2015
  • 28/09-04/10 2015
  • 21/09-27/09 2015
  • 14/09-20/09 2015
  • 07/09-13/09 2015
  • 31/08-06/09 2015
  • 24/08-30/08 2015
  • 17/08-23/08 2015
  • 10/08-16/08 2015
  • 03/08-09/08 2015
  • 27/07-02/08 2015
  • 20/07-26/07 2015
  • 13/07-19/07 2015
  • 06/07-12/07 2015
  • 29/06-05/07 2015
  • 22/06-28/06 2015
  • 15/06-21/06 2015
  • 08/06-14/06 2015
  • 01/06-07/06 2015
  • 25/05-31/05 2015
  • 18/05-24/05 2015
  • 11/05-17/05 2015
  • 04/05-10/05 2015
  • 27/04-03/05 2015
  • 20/04-26/04 2015
  • 13/04-19/04 2015
  • 06/04-12/04 2015
  • 30/03-05/04 2015
  • 23/03-29/03 2015
  • 16/03-22/03 2015
  • 09/03-15/03 2015
  • 02/03-08/03 2015
  • 23/02-01/03 2015
  • 16/02-22/02 2015
  • 09/02-15/02 2015
  • 02/02-08/02 2015
  • 26/01-01/02 2015
  • 19/01-25/01 2015
  • 12/01-18/01 2015
  • 08/12-14/12 2014
  • 01/12-07/12 2014
  • 24/11-30/11 2014
  • 17/11-23/11 2014
  • 10/11-16/11 2014
  • 03/11-09/11 2014
  • 27/10-02/11 2014
  • 20/10-26/10 2014
  • 06/10-12/10 2014
  • 29/09-05/10 2014
  • 22/09-28/09 2014
  • 15/09-21/09 2014
  • 08/09-14/09 2014
  • 01/09-07/09 2014
  • 25/08-31/08 2014
  • 18/08-24/08 2014
  • 11/08-17/08 2014
  • 04/08-10/08 2014
  • 21/07-27/07 2014
  • 14/07-20/07 2014
  • 07/07-13/07 2014
  • 30/06-06/07 2014
  • 02/06-08/06 2014
  • 26/05-01/06 2014
  • 19/05-25/05 2014
  • 12/05-18/05 2014
  • 05/05-11/05 2014
  • 28/04-04/05 2014
  • 21/04-27/04 2014
  • 14/04-20/04 2014
  • 07/04-13/04 2014
  • 31/03-06/04 2014
  • 24/03-30/03 2014
  • 17/03-23/03 2014
  • 10/03-16/03 2014
  • 03/03-09/03 2014
  • 24/02-02/03 2014
  • 17/02-23/02 2014
  • 10/02-16/02 2014
  • 03/02-09/02 2014
  • 27/01-02/02 2014
  • 20/01-26/01 2014
  • 13/01-19/01 2014
  • 06/01-12/01 2014
  • 30/12-05/01 2014
  • 23/12-29/12 2013
  • 16/12-22/12 2013
  • 09/12-15/12 2013
  • 18/11-24/11 2013
  • 11/11-17/11 2013
  • 04/11-10/11 2013
  • 28/10-03/11 2013
  • 21/10-27/10 2013
  • 14/10-20/10 2013
  • 07/10-13/10 2013
  • 30/09-06/10 2013
  • 23/09-29/09 2013
  • 16/09-22/09 2013
  • 09/09-15/09 2013
  • 02/09-08/09 2013
  • 19/08-25/08 2013
  • 12/08-18/08 2013
  • 05/08-11/08 2013
  • 29/07-04/08 2013
  • 22/07-28/07 2013
  • 15/07-21/07 2013
  • 08/07-14/07 2013
  • 01/07-07/07 2013
  • 24/06-30/06 2013
  • 17/06-23/06 2013
  • 10/06-16/06 2013
  • 03/06-09/06 2013
  • 27/05-02/06 2013
  • 20/05-26/05 2013
  • 13/05-19/05 2013
  • 06/05-12/05 2013
  • 29/04-05/05 2013
  • 22/04-28/04 2013
  • 15/04-21/04 2013
  • 08/04-14/04 2013
  • 01/04-07/04 2013
  • 25/03-31/03 2013
  • 11/03-17/03 2013
  • 04/03-10/03 2013
  • 25/02-03/03 2013
  • 18/02-24/02 2013
  • 11/02-17/02 2013
  • 04/02-10/02 2013
  • 28/01-03/02 2013
  • 21/01-27/01 2013
  • 14/01-20/01 2013
  • 07/01-13/01 2013
  • 31/12-06/01 2013
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 17/12-23/12 2012
  • 10/12-16/12 2012
  • 03/12-09/12 2012
  • 26/11-02/12 2012
  • 19/11-25/11 2012
  • 22/10-28/10 2012
  • 15/10-21/10 2012
  • 01/10-07/10 2012
  • 24/09-30/09 2012
  • 17/09-23/09 2012
  • 10/09-16/09 2012
  • 03/09-09/09 2012
  • 27/08-02/09 2012
  • 20/08-26/08 2012
  • 13/08-19/08 2012
  • 06/08-12/08 2012
  • 30/07-05/08 2012
  • 23/07-29/07 2012
  • 16/07-22/07 2012
  • 09/07-15/07 2012
  • 02/07-08/07 2012
  • 25/06-01/07 2012
  • 18/06-24/06 2012
  • 11/06-17/06 2012
  • 04/06-10/06 2012
  • 28/05-03/06 2012
  • 21/05-27/05 2012
  • 14/05-20/05 2012
  • 07/05-13/05 2012
  • 30/04-06/05 2012
  • 23/04-29/04 2012
  • 16/04-22/04 2012
  • 09/04-15/04 2012
  • 02/04-08/04 2012
  • 26/03-01/04 2012
  • 19/03-25/03 2012
  • 12/03-18/03 2012
  • 05/03-11/03 2012
  • 27/02-04/03 2012
  • 20/02-26/02 2012
  • 13/02-19/02 2012
  • 06/02-12/02 2012
  • 30/01-05/02 2012
  • 23/01-29/01 2012
  • 16/01-22/01 2012
  • 09/01-15/01 2012
  • 02/01-08/01 2012
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 19/12-25/12 2011
  • 12/12-18/12 2011
  • 05/12-11/12 2011
  • 28/11-04/12 2011
  • 21/11-27/11 2011
  • 14/11-20/11 2011
  • 07/11-13/11 2011
  • 31/10-06/11 2011
  • 24/10-30/10 2011
  • 17/10-23/10 2011
  • 10/10-16/10 2011
  • 03/10-09/10 2011
  • 26/09-02/10 2011
  • 19/09-25/09 2011
  • 12/09-18/09 2011
  • 05/09-11/09 2011
  • 29/08-04/09 2011
  • 22/08-28/08 2011
  • 15/08-21/08 2011
  • 08/08-14/08 2011
  • 01/08-07/08 2011
  • 25/07-31/07 2011
  • 18/07-24/07 2011
  • 11/07-17/07 2011
  • 04/07-10/07 2011
  • 27/06-03/07 2011
  • 20/06-26/06 2011
  • 13/06-19/06 2011
  • 06/06-12/06 2011
  • 30/05-05/06 2011
  • 23/05-29/05 2011
  • 16/05-22/05 2011
  • 09/05-15/05 2011
  • 02/05-08/05 2011
  • 25/04-01/05 2011
  • 18/04-24/04 2011
  • 11/04-17/04 2011
  • 04/04-10/04 2011
  • 28/03-03/04 2011
  • 21/03-27/03 2011
  • 14/03-20/03 2011
  • 07/03-13/03 2011
  • 21/02-27/02 2011
  • 14/02-20/02 2011
  • 07/02-13/02 2011
  • 17/01-23/01 2011
  • 26/12-01/01 2012
  • 20/12-26/12 2010
  • 13/12-19/12 2010
  • 06/12-12/12 2010
  • 29/11-05/12 2010
  • 22/11-28/11 2010
  • 15/11-21/11 2010
  • 08/11-14/11 2010
  • 01/11-07/11 2010
  • 25/10-31/10 2010
  • 18/10-24/10 2010
  • 11/10-17/10 2010
  • 04/10-10/10 2010
  • 27/09-03/10 2010
  • 20/09-26/09 2010
  • 06/09-12/09 2010
  • 30/08-05/09 2010
  • 23/08-29/08 2010
  • 16/08-22/08 2010
  • 09/08-15/08 2010
  • 02/08-08/08 2010
  • 26/07-01/08 2010
  • 19/07-25/07 2010
  • 12/07-18/07 2010
  • 05/07-11/07 2010
  • 28/06-04/07 2010
  • 21/06-27/06 2010
  • 14/06-20/06 2010
  • 07/06-13/06 2010
  • 31/05-06/06 2010
  • 24/05-30/05 2010
  • 17/05-23/05 2010
  • 10/05-16/05 2010
  • 03/05-09/05 2010
  • 26/04-02/05 2010
  • 19/04-25/04 2010
  • 12/04-18/04 2010
  • 05/04-11/04 2010
  • 29/03-04/04 2010
  • 22/03-28/03 2010
  • 15/03-21/03 2010
  • 08/03-14/03 2010
  • 01/03-07/03 2010
  • 22/02-28/02 2010
  • 15/02-21/02 2010
  • 08/02-14/02 2010
  • 01/02-07/02 2010
  • 25/01-31/01 2010
  • 18/01-24/01 2010
  • 11/01-17/01 2010
  • 04/01-10/01 2010
  • 28/12-03/01 2016
  • 21/12-27/12 2009
  • 14/12-20/12 2009
  • 07/12-13/12 2009
  • 30/11-06/12 2009
  • 23/11-29/11 2009
  • 16/11-22/11 2009
  • 09/11-15/11 2009
  • 26/10-01/11 2009
  • 19/10-25/10 2009
  • 12/10-18/10 2009
  • 05/10-11/10 2009
  • 28/09-04/10 2009
  • 21/09-27/09 2009
  • 14/09-20/09 2009
  • 07/09-13/09 2009
  • 31/08-06/09 2009
  • 24/08-30/08 2009
  • 17/08-23/08 2009
  • 10/08-16/08 2009
  • 03/08-09/08 2009
  • 27/07-02/08 2009
  • 20/07-26/07 2009
  • 13/07-19/07 2009
  • 06/07-12/07 2009
  • 29/06-05/07 2009
  • 22/06-28/06 2009
  • 15/06-21/06 2009
  • 08/06-14/06 2009
  • 01/06-07/06 2009
  • 25/05-31/05 2009
  • 18/05-24/05 2009
  • 11/05-17/05 2009
  • 04/05-10/05 2009
  • 27/04-03/05 2009
  • 20/04-26/04 2009
  • 13/04-19/04 2009
  • 06/04-12/04 2009
  • 30/03-05/04 2009
  • 23/03-29/03 2009
  • 16/03-22/03 2009
  • 09/03-15/03 2009
  • 02/03-08/03 2009
  • 23/02-01/03 2009
  • 16/02-22/02 2009
  • 09/02-15/02 2009
  • 02/02-08/02 2009
  • 26/01-01/02 2009
  • 19/01-25/01 2009
  • 12/01-18/01 2009
  • 05/01-11/01 2009
  • 29/12-04/01 2009
  • 22/12-28/12 2008
  • 15/12-21/12 2008
  • 08/12-14/12 2008
  • 01/12-07/12 2008
  • 24/11-30/11 2008
  • 17/11-23/11 2008
  • 10/11-16/11 2008
  • 03/11-09/11 2008
  • 27/10-02/11 2008
  • 20/10-26/10 2008
  • 13/10-19/10 2008
  • 06/10-12/10 2008
  • 29/09-05/10 2008
  • 22/09-28/09 2008
  • 15/09-21/09 2008
  • 08/09-14/09 2008
  • 01/09-07/09 2008
  • 25/08-31/08 2008
  • 18/08-24/08 2008
  • 11/08-17/08 2008
  • 04/08-10/08 2008
  • 28/07-03/08 2008
  • 21/07-27/07 2008
  • 14/07-20/07 2008
  • 07/07-13/07 2008
  • 30/06-06/07 2008
  • 23/06-29/06 2008
  • 16/06-22/06 2008
  • 09/06-15/06 2008
  • 02/06-08/06 2008
  • 26/05-01/06 2008
  • 19/05-25/05 2008
  • 12/05-18/05 2008
  • 05/05-11/05 2008
  • 28/04-04/05 2008
  • 21/04-27/04 2008
  • 14/04-20/04 2008
  • 07/04-13/04 2008
  • 31/03-06/04 2008
  • 24/03-30/03 2008
  • 17/03-23/03 2008
  • 10/03-16/03 2008
  • 03/03-09/03 2008
  • 25/02-02/03 2008
  • 18/02-24/02 2008
  • 11/02-17/02 2008
  • 04/02-10/02 2008
  • 28/01-03/02 2008
  • 21/01-27/01 2008
  • 14/01-20/01 2008
  • 07/01-13/01 2008
  • 31/12-06/01 2008
  • 24/12-30/12 2007
  • 17/12-23/12 2007
  • 10/12-16/12 2007
  • 03/12-09/12 2007
  • 26/11-02/12 2007
  • 19/11-25/11 2007
  • 12/11-18/11 2007
  • 05/11-11/11 2007
  • 29/10-04/11 2007
  • 22/10-28/10 2007
  • 15/10-21/10 2007
  • 08/10-14/10 2007
  • 01/10-07/10 2007
  • 24/09-30/09 2007
  • 17/09-23/09 2007
  • 10/09-16/09 2007
  • 03/09-09/09 2007
  • 27/08-02/09 2007
  • 20/08-26/08 2007
  • 13/08-19/08 2007
  • 06/08-12/08 2007
  • 30/07-05/08 2007
  • 23/07-29/07 2007
  • 16/07-22/07 2007
  • 09/07-15/07 2007
  • 02/07-08/07 2007
  • 25/06-01/07 2007
  • 18/06-24/06 2007
  • 11/06-17/06 2007
  • 04/06-10/06 2007
  • 28/05-03/06 2007
  • 21/05-27/05 2007
  • 14/05-20/05 2007
  • 07/05-13/05 2007
  • 30/04-06/05 2007
  • 23/04-29/04 2007
  • 16/04-22/04 2007
  • 09/04-15/04 2007
  • 02/04-08/04 2007
  • 26/03-01/04 2007
  • 19/03-25/03 2007
  • 12/03-18/03 2007
  • 05/03-11/03 2007
  • 26/02-04/03 2007
  • 19/02-25/02 2007
  • 12/02-18/02 2007
  • 05/02-11/02 2007
  • 29/01-04/02 2007
  • 22/01-28/01 2007
  • 15/01-21/01 2007
  • 08/01-14/01 2007
  • 01/01-07/01 2007
  • 25/12-31/12 2006
  • 18/12-24/12 2006
  • 11/12-17/12 2006
  • 04/12-10/12 2006
  • 27/11-03/12 2006
  • 20/11-26/11 2006
  • 13/11-19/11 2006
  • 06/11-12/11 2006
  • 30/10-05/11 2006
  • 23/10-29/10 2006
  • 16/10-22/10 2006
  • 09/10-15/10 2006
  • 02/10-08/10 2006
  • 25/09-01/10 2006
  • 18/09-24/09 2006


    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs