Big Bad Log
Inhoud blog
  • Mollendaal Forest
  • Back to the Sonian Forest
  • Tacx Satori
  • Tacx Satori
  • Heverlee forest
  • Mr.Merlin rides out
  • Mr. Merlin rides out
  • Nodebais
  • Following my front wheel
  • Psychlotron 55K

    Foto


    Foto

    Big Bad Links
  • Big Bad Wolf Home
  • The History blog
  • Steep Hill Bike Travelogue
  • LOUP . ORG
  • Chicks and Bikes - humor
  • Moster Blond
  • David Moulton's Bike Blog
  • Christine Peanut Vardaros
  • Velonews Competition Journal
  • Pez Cycling News

    Big Bad Links 2
  • Nothing rides like Ti
  • Irina Kalentieva
  • Kim Saenen - MTB Marathon Girl
  • Big Wheel Building - Mike Curiak blog
  • Jeff Kerkove - Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete
  • Kaa Petaate - Leives klupke
  • Life Behind Bars - luv2mtb blog
  • MTB Lily : latest MTB news
  • Como Cyco
  • MTB Wallon

    Big Bad Links 3
  • Milano Fixed
  • Scot 'Chuck Ibis' Nicol Spew
  • Hell Yeah !
  • Zen Garage
  • CyclingNews.COM babe thread (humor)
  • Nerv+

    Foto


    Beoordeel dit blog
      Zeer goed
      Goed
      Voldoende
      Nog wat bijwerken
      Nog veel werk aan
     

    Foto

    Zoeken in blog


    Tales from the Woods
    12-05-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Kom Op tegen Kanker
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    I had agreed to ride for the KBC b.strong team during one of the days of the 4-day 1000km Against Cancer event. As the event drew nearer I began to worry if I would be up to the task of riding 250km in a single day. Stress developed, my stomach got in a twist and last wednesday the pressure caused my back to start hurting. I made an appointment with an osteopath and he put everything in place again in my back and neck, giving me a lecture on proper nutrition as well. I will try to take more care of what , how much, and when I eat.
    Resting for the rest of the week allowed my body to recover from the manupilations and with some extra encouragement of a friend I was ready to face to challenge.
    Up bright and early at 5.30am , riding the car to Mechelen where the start was to be given at 7.45 for my group. I decided to ride in the 27kph average group, the 24 being too slow and the 30 too fast for my liking.



    KOTK DAY4 KOTK DAY4

    The weather was cloudy but even though it was fresh - around 8 degrees - and there was a lot of wind, I settled for a 3 layer solution, the Assos BlitzFeder being the final insulation layer. I also put a thin rainjacket in my backpack because some showers were forecast. The bike was in tiptop shape and from the start the big peloton settled in a nice average. The big group makes for easy riding, but also calls for concentration . We reached the first rest stop in Zelem - around 60K into the ride - and I was still feeling fresh and full of energy. Eating and drinking being very important . When we left the stop we had our first rain shower. The peloton took a pause to allow everyone to don their raincoats or other protection. The raincoat would be worn for the rest of the ride.
    The wind was blowing in our backs and some 4.5 hours into the ride we reached the halfway point, 125km into the ride, Bilzen. When we arrived in the city hundreds of people were lining the streets, making a lot of noise, cheering us on. Amazing, we felt special. In Bilzen we would stop for a warm meal . I checked for the members of the other KBC b.strong teams and found some company for the meal. Pasta and hot soup, delicious.



    KOTK DAY4 KOTK DAY4

    Around an hour later, we started again for the second leg, the ride back to Mechelen. I had some fears for the wind but once again, being in a big group helps , and we made good speed on our way in . Two more rest stops were planned, one after around 40K in Beringen, in the neighborhood of the old mining site. Again , I stocked up on plenty to eat and drink. The organisation was almost perfect. A big fleet of Police and Way Captains on motorcycles stopped all traffic and blocked all crossroads so that our peloton could pass. The only time we had to stop was when we came to a railroad crossing and we had to wait for a train to pass. Also, the rest stops were well stocked and manned by the most friendly people. All for the good cause. A big applause for them.



    KOTK DAY4 KOTK DAY4

    40K later we were already at the last rest stop, situated in Westerlo. Again eating and drinking for the last stretch. We already passed the 200K mark and I was beginning to feel confident I would make it. When passing in Duffel and riding on a big road towards Mechelen distaster struck. The group had to brake for some potholes in the road, I had to turn into the sideberm briefly and when we started rolling faster again I could feel my rear tyre losing pressure. Up goes my hand. The truck with the technical assistance team stopped besides me, my wheel was taken out and I was given a replacement wheel. It was a Shimano cassette but the shifting went fine and before long I was back at the peloton, which had dropped its speed. Riding behind the truck coming back was easy. After the ride I would pick up my wheel, with a new inner tyre and inflated. Great job guys !
    Arriving in Mechelen was another great experience, the Grote Markt and the streets leading towards it were packed to the brim with enthusiastic supporter, making a lot of noise and cheering us on. What an expirience. I was very glad to be able to participate and the ride was completed without any physical trouble. Ok, my neck , triceps and hands started to hurt near the end of the ride and I could also feel some pain in my hips, but my back didn't budge. Good job of the osteopath!

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 257K and 685 heightmeters (Garmin) in 09h34mins

    5236/18415

    12-05-2013, 00:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    05-05-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Ravel 2 and L147
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Great sunny weather today so I took the Litespeed Vortex out for a longer ride. Starting over Bierbeek, Willebringen and Hoksem to reach Hoegaarden, where I followed the Ravel 2 . Past Jodoigne I followed the Ravel 2  to where it intersects with the L147 ,which connects Landen with Perwez, and goes further to Gembloux. I took a left turn and followed this small tarmac road through Jauche and Orp to where it ends, just before Landen. A great stretch of road that is calm and deserted. With the wind in my back I could maintain a good speed here, concentrating on recuperation from yesterdays' ride. Turning left once more and now riding back towards Hoegaarden through Overwinden, Ezemaal , Goetsenhoven and Outgaarden. Flirting with the language border. Back in Hoegaarden I had to tackle the climb out of it with the cobbles near the end giving me a good shaked. Meldert and another climb followed. The wind was bothering me a bit , and of course I was also starting to feel the kilometers - yesterdays' and todays' - accumulating in my legs. In Opvelp I turned towards Beauvechain for a loop that would bring me through Tourinnes and Hamme Mille on to the N25 . Back into Blanden I had enjoyed a solid ride .

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 91K and 560 heightmeters (Garmin) in 03h19mins

    4980/17730

    05-05-2013, 15:06 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    04-05-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Yse and Voer Bloso trails
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    This morning saw clear and sunny weather. The temperature was just above 10 degrees C but that did not bother me much. On the contrary, I prefer temperatures between 10 and 20 degrees, they are perfect for cycling and certainly for mountainbiking. I set out through Meerdael Forest and Sint Joris Weert towards Sint Agatha Rode where I joined the Black Yse and Voer Bloso trail. My plan was to combine all three routes today. There was some kind of happening because around these new trails because I passed a lot of bikers on the black trail looping towards Terlanen and Huldenberg. Here I switched on the Blue which took me way up north to Duisburg and even Vossem and Moorsel, before turning towards the east and later to the southeast to join Leefdaal. Here I hopped on the Green to complete the last of the trails before joining the Black Bloso again riding down to the Wolfshagen and into Sint Agatha Rode. The trails are well marked, but at some points there are road works and of course no arrow was to be seen. So I took the precaution of downloading them into my Garmin. Better be safe than sorry.
    What can be said about these trails? Well, they are varied, a lot of field tracks, a couple of passages through little forests - Sint Agatha Rode Bos and Moorselbos among them - some of the trails run parallel with the Overijse Bloso routes and the Tervuren Bloso routes. They skid along the edge of the Sonian Forest, so if you feel up to it, you can combine them, just make sure you take enough to eat and drink ! A couple of passages through villages demand your attention, be advised that you do NOT have any right of way just because you are a biker following arrows. I was fortunate to do these trails after a long dry period. Some passages can be quite muddy . I was surprised at the amount of climbing, but there are quite a few long and even steep climbs. The climb out of Huldenberg along the Dreefstraat, the dreaded Moskesstraat in Terlanen, the Kleine Hollestraat out of Leefdaal, and the climb into the Kleine Keistraat towards the Grote Keistraat are some that I remember quite well. There are also a couple of zooming downhills , all easy now that its dry but some might prove quite a handful when the floor is wet.


    20130430_181955

    When I arrived in Sint Agatha Rode I decided to add a couple of extra kilometers to my ride. I first rode through the river Dyle estuary to reach Pecrot. Here I worked my way up the Malaise crest and then dropped down into Nethen. Along the Savenel wall I joined the Blue Meerdael Bloso and followed that, and later the Red, accumulating trail after trail, kilometer after kilometer, and sight after sight. Nature is becoming alive at last, trees are turning green with foliage and there are flowers - white, yellow, blue, red -  everywhere. When I arrived at the Margrietendreef I decided to call it a day and ride into Blanden for a last loop.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 73K and 915 heightmeters (Garmin) in 03h32mins

    4889/17170

    04-05-2013, 15:03 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    02-05-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.KBC MTB
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    This evening it was the weekly KBC MTB ride. I was the guide and I suggested we took towards the Black Yse & Voer BLOSO and try to ride that before returning to Meerdael  Forest and Heverlee Bos. We started out with 6 men and 2 women and rode through Heverlee Bos and the Doode Beemde towards the Wolfshagen. Into Sint Agatha Rode where I started following the Black Bloso route. One of the women had told me she was tired from a long ride on the roadbike yesterday, so I kept the speed moderate but obviously when we reached Sint Agatha Rode Bos the track started to go up and down and I noticed the girl had some trouble keeping up with the pace. Up the Moskesberg - another killer - and then into Huldenberg to reach the river Yse. Here we decided  - well the girls did - to follow the river Yse. So I missed out on a long climb out of Huldenberg. We joined the Black route again a little further downstream where we took a right turn up into the Margijsbos. Down again towards the Wolfshagen and back into Sint Joris Weert where I climbed into Meerdael Forest along the Borrestraat. From here on the trail stayed more or less on the higher ground as I rode towards Vaalbeek where we crossed into the Heverleebos again. A last stint along the singletrails and macadam roads of the military compound of Heverlee and we were back at our starting point. Considering the moderate speed we did manage to do a nice little distance before darkness fell.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 54K and 460 heightmeters (Garmin) in 02h37mins

    4816/16255

    02-05-2013, 21:53 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    01-05-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Haasrode Industrie
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    First ride on the Litespeed Vortex. To recover from yesterdays' mountainbike ride I chose to do some laps at the Haasrode Industry Park. The wind was blowing quite fiercely from the northeast and I was glad at least during the uphill part I had it blowing in my back. Did 12 laps before I really got fed up of the continuing tugging from the invisible hands. Riding back home along the Expressweg.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 37K and 230 heightmeters (Garmin) in 1h20mins

    4762/15795

    01-05-2013, 15:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    30-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tussen Yse en Voer
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    When I came home from work and the temperature was still around 15 degrees C I rode out with the Moots YBB. I started out with no particular plan but followed the Langendaal along the edge of Meerdael forest towards Sint Joris Weert. Rode through the Doode Beemde, passing on the bridge where I fell last october. Everything is bone dry now so there was no risk of slippage. Towards the Wolfshagen and up the Smeysberg where I stumbled upon Green Bloso arrows. Since I had no other plans I decided to follow them. Into the Yse valley and then out of it towards Leefdaal where I came upon the starting point of this route. Turned out to be part of some new BLOSO trails which passed through Bertem and Huldenberg. I continued along the Green and gradually came back up the ridge where a nasty wind from the north greeted me. Luckily the trail turned towards the southeast and down into Neerijse.


    20130430_181940

    From Neerijse it went back over the Smeysberg to drop onto the Wolfshagen again. I left the route and rode back through Sint Joris Weert into Meerdael Forest. Here I followed my front wheel along some nifty climbs and descents, following the Meerdael Bloso for a while. Doing a perimeter ride which brought me to Mollendaalbos and then back into Blanden along the Godensalon and the Margrietendreef. A solid 50K of riding which had me dig deep from time to time but I was able to maintain a good speed throughout the ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 52K and 620 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h29mins

    4725/15565

    30-04-2013, 21:15 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    28-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Mollendaal Trails
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today saw me out with the Moots YBB. Fridays' rain was long forgotten and when I entered the forest I could not see anything but bonehard dry trails. I decided to start with my twisty mollendaal trails loop and whilst weaving through the forest from north to south and back again I enjoyed the crisp but clean air. Temperature was around 10 degrees C. No more, no less. When I finished the trail section I rode back to the Weertsedreef for another succession of trails, leading me towards the Warande Pond. From here I followed some more trails bringing me to one of the nicer looking valleys in Meerdael. I took 3 pics and kinda stitched them together with Paint. This is the result. Try not to see the obvious color differences, like I said , no posh stitching program, just cut and paste.


    Valley

    Venturing further along smaller trails , checking out some tracks I did not do for a long while, I wound up at the Hertebron near La Hetraie and decided to take a picture of the bike.


    Moots YBB

    Riding onwards I took the new biketrail parallel to the Weertse Dreef and then took a right turn on the Herculesdreef and another right turn to get back into the military compound and from there I followed the Green Bloso into Vaalbeek. A little venture into Heverlee bos closed my ride for today. Entering Blanden I followed some footpaths and then took a last loop to arrive into Blanden again following the Margrietendreef. Had a long and solid ride.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 53.5K and 700 heightmeters (Garmin) in 02h42mins

    4673/14945

    28-04-2013, 15:18 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    27-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Haven't been feeling super well these last couple of days so I decided against riding out today, instead allowing me a recovery ride on the Tacx Satori. The weather badly deteriorated, dropping 18 degrees C in a day and bringing some - much needed by the dry nature - rain yesterday. Today the sun was out again but temperatures of 8 degrees C were not really begging me to ride out. Allowing the fallen water to settle on the trails for one more day I am aiming for an offroad ride tomorrow.
    Todays' ride went well, relaxing at a low resistance and started reading yet another one of F.Paul Wilsons's majestic dark scribblings ;  Sibs , on my Kindle.

    Ride Stats : 48.5K in 01h06mins

    4620/14245

    27-04-2013, 12:12 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    25-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.KBC MTB Club
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The last couple of days saw the return of warm and beautiful weather. It has been dry for several weeks now but the temperatures have been letting us down. Not so today, with temperatures well into the 20ies, reaching 26 degrees C at one point, a lot of sun and a breeze from the south, nature has awoken at last after the winter that seemed to last forever. Every flower is pushing to reach full bloom and the trees are becoming greener with fresh foliage.
    So I decided to get the Moots YBB out and join my fellow KBC'ers for their weekly outing into Meerdael Forest and Heverlee bos. Quite a large group, with 10 men and 2 women. The first part consisted of twisting and turning singletrails in Heverlee Bos. Until someone broke his X0 derailler right off and he had to turn his bike into a singlespeed. Luckily his X0 survived and the replaceable derailler hanger saved his frame. But 2 people remaimed behind to make sure he got home allright. This included the guide so I had to take the honors from then on. We were with fast and slower riders so I decided not to make it too difficult. Passing at the Zoete Waters and then some little trails around Sint Joris Weert before riding towards the Herculesdreef. A little venture from the Kouterbos into Meerdael Forest with some more difficult  trails around the Kluis and the the long climb on the BLOSO route. That was about the most strenuous part and I guided them back into the valley of the Tomme, passing over the Tomme and then along the Prosperdreef back into Heverleebos and towards the starting point at the Heverlee kazerne. I hope all did enjoy the fine weather and the super ride.  

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 45K and 420 heightmeters (Garmin) in 02h15mins

    4571/14245

    25-04-2013, 21:33 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    18-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Did not feel recovered enough from yesterdays' ride to venture out with the KBC MTB team. So I decided to stay indoors and have a recovery ride on the Tacx Satori. Worked my way up to resistance level 2 for 15 minutes but I left it at that.

    Ride Stats : 45km in 01h01mins

    4526/13825

    18-04-2013, 20:08 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    17-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Sart Melin
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen Today saw temperatures soar to 24 degrees C, even more in the sun. Even though I originally did not intend to ride I could not resist so I rode the Moots Psychlo-X out. First to Hamme Mille and then braving the strong southern wind I battled my way up past the Beauvechain airport. Turning to the left towards Sart Melin brought me some well-earned relief. Not even the cobbles could bother whilst I made my way towards Zetrud-Lumay and Hoegaarden along the Ravel 2. From Hoegaarden I climbed out along the cobbled road and then with the wind coming from behind I sped towards Meldert. Along to Opvelp and Bierbeek and then I had to brave the wind again whilst cycling through Haasrode and Blanden. But the warm temperature made up for a lot.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 43K and 320 heightmeters (Garmin) in 01h35mins

    4482/13825

    17-04-2013, 20:20 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    16-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    A well-deserved day of rest yesterday and today I wanted to do an easy recovery ride so I settled for the Tacx Satori. An hour of high-rpm and low-resistance pedalling . Just enough to get the juices flowing in my legs and hopefully speed up the recovery.

    Ride Stats : 43.5K in 01h01mins

    4438/13505

    16-04-2013, 19:19 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    14-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Almost Eghezee
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    This morning still showed overcast skies but the temperature was a balmy 11 degrees C when I rode out on the Moots Psychlo-X. I decided to ride through Bierbeek, Meldert and then descend into Hoegaarden. Very cobbly descend but the 28mm tyres on the Moots add to the comfort so I could just let the bike go. Up to Zetrud-Lumay on the Ravel 2. Past Jodoigne and just before Eghezee the Ravel was closed. The wind had been blowing in my face up till then so I was pleased I could take a right turn towards Noville-sur-Mehaigne to reach the N91. Following that towards Incourt I had the wind blowing from my left.  From Incourt I took a right turn towards Dongelberg to have a look at the Chateau. Straight on to Jodoigne where I took a left towards Pietrebais on the N240. The wind was blowing from the side again which made this a tough section. Once I was back on the N91 and looping around the Beauvechain Airport the wind was at last in my favor and I zoomed along into Hamme Mille. Attacking the climb out of Hamme Mille along the Naamsesteenweg and then I was nearly home, just a little loop into Blanden. This turned out to be my longest ride of the year so far. If the weather keeps getting better I will soon switch to the Litespeed Vortex, but first I need to continue breaking in the Brooks saddle on the Psychlo-X for as long as possible . I have nearly 500K on it now and I'm guesstimating I need another 250-500K on it for it to start mellowing out and forming itself to my buttocks.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 74K and 480 heightmeters (Garmin) in 02h48mins

    4395/13505

    14-04-2013, 13:49 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    13-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Brabantse Pijl part 2
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Weather forecast for today called for clouds and rain in the PM, so I set out for a moderate distance. I decided on doing the second - less intense part - of the Brabantse Pijl. Starting along Vaalbeek and the Zoete Waters towards Sint Joris Weert and Nethen where I picked in on the BP. The trail was easy and with the strong western wind mostly in my back things progressed quite well. Hamme Mille, Beauvechain, Hoksem and then up towards Kumtich. When I turned a double left in Kumtich to ride towards Willebringen I stopped laughing. The wind struck me with a blow and kept me working hard to join Opvelp. The loop to Bierbeek and then down towards Bremt brough some relief. Onwards to the Haasrode Industrie Park where I left the BP trail and finished off my ride by riding through Heverlee Park and then into Blanden along the Naamsesteenweg. I felt some droplets of rain every now and then but no major weather perks except the wind.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 59.5K and 435 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h18mins

    Arriving home I settled on the Tacx Satori for another 40 minutes of cooldown.

    Ride Stats : 28.5K in 00h41mins

    4321/13025

    13-04-2013, 13:45 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    12-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Felt a little frustrated that telenet cable TV was out of order and they could not come around to fix it until next monday. So we can only watch analog TV, which narrows the number of channels and the quality of reception.
    Getting on the Tacx Satori allowed me to relax a bit whilst I was listening to a W.A.S.P LIVE recording on Spotify and reading some F.Paul Wilson short story on my Kindle.

    Ride Stats : 65K in 01h31mins

    4233/12590

    12-04-2013, 22:38 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    10-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Felt like I needed another recovery ride so after watching Peter Sagan beating Philippe Gilbert on the finish line of yet another enticing Brabantse Pijl, I took my Kindle and Galaxy S2 on the Hilset and the Tacx Satori. With Bruce Dickinson singing of Chemical Weddings on the latter and one of Paul F.Wilson's short stories developing on the former, I pedaled for more than an hour on low resistance and fast pace.

    Ride Stats : 47K in 01h06mins

    4168/12590

    10-04-2013, 20:17 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    09-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Tacx Satori
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Today saw the return of warmer weather, at last, but also some light rain that washed the salt of the winter off of the streets. I decided on a recovery ride on the Tacx Satori. Resistance level one and easy pedalling at high rpm.

    Ride Stats : 44K in 01h01mins

    4121/12590

    09-04-2013, 18:30 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    08-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Bosberg
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    The weather was fine in the late afternoon so I got on the Psychlo-X and rode towards the Bosberg in Meldert. There was still some wind blowing from the northeast but when I rode through Opvelp, Beauvechain, La Bruyere and L'Ecluse I took care to take it relatively easy. I wanted to do some Interval training on the Bosberg. This is a 500m climb with an average percentage of 3.7% and a peak of around 7%. I stayed on the big ring and sprinted upwards, taking the guidon in the hoops and pushing whilst standing up. The first one was a couple of seconds faster than the second one and I managed to keep my heartrate under control. I think I need to do more of these intervals because I noticed my heart is getting lazy and settles easily for the long haul, but I have difficulty when I have to change the pace. I have become a diesel and I need some training to become a turbo-diesel when the need is there. After the double interval I rode back over La Bruyere, Beauvechain, Opvelp and Bierbeek towards the Expressweg in Haasrode and followed that into Blanden. I had a good average speed and was tired but pleased with todays' training effort.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 49K and 315 heightmeters (Garmin) in 01h51mins

    4077/12590

    08-04-2013, 00:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    07-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Brabantse Pijl
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    What a difference a day makes. This morning the sun was out and even though it was a cold night the temperatures were rising when I took the Moots Psychlo-X out for a spin. I got on the trail of the Brabantse Pijl cyclo and followed that to Oud-Heverlee. Here I picked in on the beginning of the track and followed it towards Huldenberg where the first serious obstacle was awaiting me. The Smeysberg. I did not take the big road going up that hill but tooks it's parallel alternative - the Kleinwaverstraat -which is every bit as steep, even steeper at some point - but is a calm road with almost no polluting traffic. Getting over the 20% bits was not easy on the Psychlo-X with its road-cassette. But I managed it and continuing along the Brabantse Pijl track into Huldenberg and then towards Overijse, where the real challenge awaits. The Ijskelderstraat, the Schavei, the Hagaard and the Herstraat. All serious little climbs that the profs will have to tackle for 5 or 6 loops. Me, I was quite pleased with only one loop, those little hills hurt like hell. From the Hertstraat the trail then makes way towards Wavre and Terlanen. I left it near Nethen. Perhaps I will do the complete loop a little later in the season. Today I had enough with this intensive workout and decided to call it a day, returning over Hamme Mille and along the Naamsesteenweg.

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 64K and 625 heightmeters (Garmin) in 02h33mins

    4028/12275

    07-04-2013, 14:56 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    06-04-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Meerdael Bloso's and Mollendaal Trails
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Time to get the Moots YBB out of the stable. I started out on the Meerdael Bloso routes, starting in Blanden with the Green and working my way towards Nethen were I added a couple of extra climbs to boost up the amount of heightmeters and give my legs a workout. Jumping on the Red I decided to stay inside of the forest and finish off my ride with the Mollendaal trails loop I did a couple of days ago. This is quiet an intense loop with several climbs up and down the backbone of a crest that runs through Mollendaal forest from the east to the west. The loop consists of parallel trails roughly going from the north to the south, and back again. So a lot of small trails and a lot of climbs. I found the tension in my tyres a bit too high - I started out with 2 bars - so I stopped and lowered it a bit. But by the end of the ride I again falt the ride becoming rather harsh. The front fork is rather hard  - a Magura Durin SL - and the back of the YBB has some suspension, but the tyre pressure has to be spot on to give it a great feeling. Also, the Rocket Ron in the back is a little narrow. The trails were bonehard due to the week-long drought and near-freezing temperatures. No mud in sight. I finished the ride with a very satisfactory amount of kilometers and heightmeters. 

    Endomondo track


    Ride Stats : 55K and 725 heightmeters (Garmin) in 2h53mins

    When I arrived home I wanted to let my legs recover a bit from the ride so I got on the Tacx Satori for a cooldown session. half an hour of easy spinning.

    Ride Stats : 20K in 00h31mins

    3965/11650

    06-04-2013, 15:23 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    Foto

    Gastenboek./.Guestbook

    Druk op onderstaande knop om een berichtje achter te laten in mijn Gastenboek. / Press the button below to write in my Guestbook.


    Foto

    Blog als favoriet !


    Foto

    Email Me

    Press the button to send me a mail






    Archief per week
  • 31/08-06/09 2020
  • 20/04-26/04 2020
  • 29/10-04/11 2018
  • 22/10-28/10 2018
  • 24/09-30/09 2018
  • 03/09-09/09 2018
  • 27/08-02/09 2018
  • 13/08-19/08 2018
  • 30/07-05/08 2018
  • 23/07-29/07 2018
  • 16/07-22/07 2018
  • 09/07-15/07 2018
  • 14/05-20/05 2018
  • 07/05-13/05 2018
  • 30/04-06/05 2018
  • 23/04-29/04 2018
  • 16/04-22/04 2018
  • 09/04-15/04 2018
  • 02/04-08/04 2018
  • 26/03-01/04 2018
  • 12/03-18/03 2018
  • 05/03-11/03 2018
  • 26/02-04/03 2018
  • 19/02-25/02 2018
  • 12/02-18/02 2018
  • 05/02-11/02 2018
  • 29/01-04/02 2018
  • 22/01-28/01 2018
  • 01/01-07/01 2018
  • 04/12-10/12 2017
  • 27/11-03/12 2017
  • 06/11-12/11 2017
  • 25/09-01/10 2017
  • 18/09-24/09 2017
  • 11/09-17/09 2017
  • 28/08-03/09 2017
  • 21/08-27/08 2017
  • 07/08-13/08 2017
  • 31/07-06/08 2017
  • 24/07-30/07 2017
  • 17/07-23/07 2017
  • 10/07-16/07 2017
  • 03/07-09/07 2017
  • 29/05-04/06 2017
  • 22/05-28/05 2017
  • 15/05-21/05 2017
  • 01/05-07/05 2017
  • 24/04-30/04 2017
  • 17/04-23/04 2017
  • 10/04-16/04 2017
  • 03/04-09/04 2017
  • 27/03-02/04 2017
  • 20/03-26/03 2017
  • 13/03-19/03 2017
  • 06/03-12/03 2017
  • 27/02-05/03 2017
  • 20/02-26/02 2017
  • 13/02-19/02 2017
  • 06/02-12/02 2017
  • 30/01-05/02 2017
  • 23/01-29/01 2017
  • 16/01-22/01 2017
  • 09/01-15/01 2017
  • 19/12-25/12 2016
  • 12/12-18/12 2016
  • 05/12-11/12 2016
  • 28/11-04/12 2016
  • 21/11-27/11 2016
  • 14/11-20/11 2016
  • 07/11-13/11 2016
  • 31/10-06/11 2016
  • 24/10-30/10 2016
  • 10/10-16/10 2016
  • 03/10-09/10 2016
  • 26/09-02/10 2016
  • 19/09-25/09 2016
  • 05/09-11/09 2016
  • 29/08-04/09 2016
  • 22/08-28/08 2016
  • 15/08-21/08 2016
  • 08/08-14/08 2016
  • 01/08-07/08 2016
  • 25/07-31/07 2016
  • 18/07-24/07 2016
  • 11/07-17/07 2016
  • 04/07-10/07 2016
  • 27/06-03/07 2016
  • 13/06-19/06 2016
  • 06/06-12/06 2016
  • 30/05-05/06 2016
  • 23/05-29/05 2016
  • 09/05-15/05 2016
  • 02/05-08/05 2016
  • 25/04-01/05 2016
  • 18/04-24/04 2016
  • 11/04-17/04 2016
  • 04/04-10/04 2016
  • 28/03-03/04 2016
  • 14/03-20/03 2016
  • 07/03-13/03 2016
  • 29/02-06/03 2016
  • 22/02-28/02 2016
  • 15/02-21/02 2016
  • 08/02-14/02 2016
  • 01/02-07/02 2016
  • 25/01-31/01 2016
  • 18/01-24/01 2016
  • 11/01-17/01 2016
  • 04/01-10/01 2016
  • 28/12-03/01 2021
  • 21/12-27/12 2015
  • 14/12-20/12 2015
  • 07/12-13/12 2015
  • 30/11-06/12 2015
  • 23/11-29/11 2015
  • 16/11-22/11 2015
  • 19/10-25/10 2015
  • 12/10-18/10 2015
  • 05/10-11/10 2015
  • 28/09-04/10 2015
  • 21/09-27/09 2015
  • 14/09-20/09 2015
  • 07/09-13/09 2015
  • 31/08-06/09 2015
  • 24/08-30/08 2015
  • 17/08-23/08 2015
  • 10/08-16/08 2015
  • 03/08-09/08 2015
  • 27/07-02/08 2015
  • 20/07-26/07 2015
  • 13/07-19/07 2015
  • 06/07-12/07 2015
  • 29/06-05/07 2015
  • 22/06-28/06 2015
  • 15/06-21/06 2015
  • 08/06-14/06 2015
  • 01/06-07/06 2015
  • 25/05-31/05 2015
  • 18/05-24/05 2015
  • 11/05-17/05 2015
  • 04/05-10/05 2015
  • 27/04-03/05 2015
  • 20/04-26/04 2015
  • 13/04-19/04 2015
  • 06/04-12/04 2015
  • 30/03-05/04 2015
  • 23/03-29/03 2015
  • 16/03-22/03 2015
  • 09/03-15/03 2015
  • 02/03-08/03 2015
  • 23/02-01/03 2015
  • 16/02-22/02 2015
  • 09/02-15/02 2015
  • 02/02-08/02 2015
  • 26/01-01/02 2015
  • 19/01-25/01 2015
  • 12/01-18/01 2015
  • 08/12-14/12 2014
  • 01/12-07/12 2014
  • 24/11-30/11 2014
  • 17/11-23/11 2014
  • 10/11-16/11 2014
  • 03/11-09/11 2014
  • 27/10-02/11 2014
  • 20/10-26/10 2014
  • 06/10-12/10 2014
  • 29/09-05/10 2014
  • 22/09-28/09 2014
  • 15/09-21/09 2014
  • 08/09-14/09 2014
  • 01/09-07/09 2014
  • 25/08-31/08 2014
  • 18/08-24/08 2014
  • 11/08-17/08 2014
  • 04/08-10/08 2014
  • 21/07-27/07 2014
  • 14/07-20/07 2014
  • 07/07-13/07 2014
  • 30/06-06/07 2014
  • 02/06-08/06 2014
  • 26/05-01/06 2014
  • 19/05-25/05 2014
  • 12/05-18/05 2014
  • 05/05-11/05 2014
  • 28/04-04/05 2014
  • 21/04-27/04 2014
  • 14/04-20/04 2014
  • 07/04-13/04 2014
  • 31/03-06/04 2014
  • 24/03-30/03 2014
  • 17/03-23/03 2014
  • 10/03-16/03 2014
  • 03/03-09/03 2014
  • 24/02-02/03 2014
  • 17/02-23/02 2014
  • 10/02-16/02 2014
  • 03/02-09/02 2014
  • 27/01-02/02 2014
  • 20/01-26/01 2014
  • 13/01-19/01 2014
  • 06/01-12/01 2014
  • 30/12-05/01 2014
  • 23/12-29/12 2013
  • 16/12-22/12 2013
  • 09/12-15/12 2013
  • 18/11-24/11 2013
  • 11/11-17/11 2013
  • 04/11-10/11 2013
  • 28/10-03/11 2013
  • 21/10-27/10 2013
  • 14/10-20/10 2013
  • 07/10-13/10 2013
  • 30/09-06/10 2013
  • 23/09-29/09 2013
  • 16/09-22/09 2013
  • 09/09-15/09 2013
  • 02/09-08/09 2013
  • 19/08-25/08 2013
  • 12/08-18/08 2013
  • 05/08-11/08 2013
  • 29/07-04/08 2013
  • 22/07-28/07 2013
  • 15/07-21/07 2013
  • 08/07-14/07 2013
  • 01/07-07/07 2013
  • 24/06-30/06 2013
  • 17/06-23/06 2013
  • 10/06-16/06 2013
  • 03/06-09/06 2013
  • 27/05-02/06 2013
  • 20/05-26/05 2013
  • 13/05-19/05 2013
  • 06/05-12/05 2013
  • 29/04-05/05 2013
  • 22/04-28/04 2013
  • 15/04-21/04 2013
  • 08/04-14/04 2013
  • 01/04-07/04 2013
  • 25/03-31/03 2013
  • 11/03-17/03 2013
  • 04/03-10/03 2013
  • 25/02-03/03 2013
  • 18/02-24/02 2013
  • 11/02-17/02 2013
  • 04/02-10/02 2013
  • 28/01-03/02 2013
  • 21/01-27/01 2013
  • 14/01-20/01 2013
  • 07/01-13/01 2013
  • 31/12-06/01 2013
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 17/12-23/12 2012
  • 10/12-16/12 2012
  • 03/12-09/12 2012
  • 26/11-02/12 2012
  • 19/11-25/11 2012
  • 22/10-28/10 2012
  • 15/10-21/10 2012
  • 01/10-07/10 2012
  • 24/09-30/09 2012
  • 17/09-23/09 2012
  • 10/09-16/09 2012
  • 03/09-09/09 2012
  • 27/08-02/09 2012
  • 20/08-26/08 2012
  • 13/08-19/08 2012
  • 06/08-12/08 2012
  • 30/07-05/08 2012
  • 23/07-29/07 2012
  • 16/07-22/07 2012
  • 09/07-15/07 2012
  • 02/07-08/07 2012
  • 25/06-01/07 2012
  • 18/06-24/06 2012
  • 11/06-17/06 2012
  • 04/06-10/06 2012
  • 28/05-03/06 2012
  • 21/05-27/05 2012
  • 14/05-20/05 2012
  • 07/05-13/05 2012
  • 30/04-06/05 2012
  • 23/04-29/04 2012
  • 16/04-22/04 2012
  • 09/04-15/04 2012
  • 02/04-08/04 2012
  • 26/03-01/04 2012
  • 19/03-25/03 2012
  • 12/03-18/03 2012
  • 05/03-11/03 2012
  • 27/02-04/03 2012
  • 20/02-26/02 2012
  • 13/02-19/02 2012
  • 06/02-12/02 2012
  • 30/01-05/02 2012
  • 23/01-29/01 2012
  • 16/01-22/01 2012
  • 09/01-15/01 2012
  • 02/01-08/01 2012
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 19/12-25/12 2011
  • 12/12-18/12 2011
  • 05/12-11/12 2011
  • 28/11-04/12 2011
  • 21/11-27/11 2011
  • 14/11-20/11 2011
  • 07/11-13/11 2011
  • 31/10-06/11 2011
  • 24/10-30/10 2011
  • 17/10-23/10 2011
  • 10/10-16/10 2011
  • 03/10-09/10 2011
  • 26/09-02/10 2011
  • 19/09-25/09 2011
  • 12/09-18/09 2011
  • 05/09-11/09 2011
  • 29/08-04/09 2011
  • 22/08-28/08 2011
  • 15/08-21/08 2011
  • 08/08-14/08 2011
  • 01/08-07/08 2011
  • 25/07-31/07 2011
  • 18/07-24/07 2011
  • 11/07-17/07 2011
  • 04/07-10/07 2011
  • 27/06-03/07 2011
  • 20/06-26/06 2011
  • 13/06-19/06 2011
  • 06/06-12/06 2011
  • 30/05-05/06 2011
  • 23/05-29/05 2011
  • 16/05-22/05 2011
  • 09/05-15/05 2011
  • 02/05-08/05 2011
  • 25/04-01/05 2011
  • 18/04-24/04 2011
  • 11/04-17/04 2011
  • 04/04-10/04 2011
  • 28/03-03/04 2011
  • 21/03-27/03 2011
  • 14/03-20/03 2011
  • 07/03-13/03 2011
  • 21/02-27/02 2011
  • 14/02-20/02 2011
  • 07/02-13/02 2011
  • 17/01-23/01 2011
  • 26/12-01/01 2012
  • 20/12-26/12 2010
  • 13/12-19/12 2010
  • 06/12-12/12 2010
  • 29/11-05/12 2010
  • 22/11-28/11 2010
  • 15/11-21/11 2010
  • 08/11-14/11 2010
  • 01/11-07/11 2010
  • 25/10-31/10 2010
  • 18/10-24/10 2010
  • 11/10-17/10 2010
  • 04/10-10/10 2010
  • 27/09-03/10 2010
  • 20/09-26/09 2010
  • 06/09-12/09 2010
  • 30/08-05/09 2010
  • 23/08-29/08 2010
  • 16/08-22/08 2010
  • 09/08-15/08 2010
  • 02/08-08/08 2010
  • 26/07-01/08 2010
  • 19/07-25/07 2010
  • 12/07-18/07 2010
  • 05/07-11/07 2010
  • 28/06-04/07 2010
  • 21/06-27/06 2010
  • 14/06-20/06 2010
  • 07/06-13/06 2010
  • 31/05-06/06 2010
  • 24/05-30/05 2010
  • 17/05-23/05 2010
  • 10/05-16/05 2010
  • 03/05-09/05 2010
  • 26/04-02/05 2010
  • 19/04-25/04 2010
  • 12/04-18/04 2010
  • 05/04-11/04 2010
  • 29/03-04/04 2010
  • 22/03-28/03 2010
  • 15/03-21/03 2010
  • 08/03-14/03 2010
  • 01/03-07/03 2010
  • 22/02-28/02 2010
  • 15/02-21/02 2010
  • 08/02-14/02 2010
  • 01/02-07/02 2010
  • 25/01-31/01 2010
  • 18/01-24/01 2010
  • 11/01-17/01 2010
  • 04/01-10/01 2010
  • 28/12-03/01 2016
  • 21/12-27/12 2009
  • 14/12-20/12 2009
  • 07/12-13/12 2009
  • 30/11-06/12 2009
  • 23/11-29/11 2009
  • 16/11-22/11 2009
  • 09/11-15/11 2009
  • 26/10-01/11 2009
  • 19/10-25/10 2009
  • 12/10-18/10 2009
  • 05/10-11/10 2009
  • 28/09-04/10 2009
  • 21/09-27/09 2009
  • 14/09-20/09 2009
  • 07/09-13/09 2009
  • 31/08-06/09 2009
  • 24/08-30/08 2009
  • 17/08-23/08 2009
  • 10/08-16/08 2009
  • 03/08-09/08 2009
  • 27/07-02/08 2009
  • 20/07-26/07 2009
  • 13/07-19/07 2009
  • 06/07-12/07 2009
  • 29/06-05/07 2009
  • 22/06-28/06 2009
  • 15/06-21/06 2009
  • 08/06-14/06 2009
  • 01/06-07/06 2009
  • 25/05-31/05 2009
  • 18/05-24/05 2009
  • 11/05-17/05 2009
  • 04/05-10/05 2009
  • 27/04-03/05 2009
  • 20/04-26/04 2009
  • 13/04-19/04 2009
  • 06/04-12/04 2009
  • 30/03-05/04 2009
  • 23/03-29/03 2009
  • 16/03-22/03 2009
  • 09/03-15/03 2009
  • 02/03-08/03 2009
  • 23/02-01/03 2009
  • 16/02-22/02 2009
  • 09/02-15/02 2009
  • 02/02-08/02 2009
  • 26/01-01/02 2009
  • 19/01-25/01 2009
  • 12/01-18/01 2009
  • 05/01-11/01 2009
  • 29/12-04/01 2009
  • 22/12-28/12 2008
  • 15/12-21/12 2008
  • 08/12-14/12 2008
  • 01/12-07/12 2008
  • 24/11-30/11 2008
  • 17/11-23/11 2008
  • 10/11-16/11 2008
  • 03/11-09/11 2008
  • 27/10-02/11 2008
  • 20/10-26/10 2008
  • 13/10-19/10 2008
  • 06/10-12/10 2008
  • 29/09-05/10 2008
  • 22/09-28/09 2008
  • 15/09-21/09 2008
  • 08/09-14/09 2008
  • 01/09-07/09 2008
  • 25/08-31/08 2008
  • 18/08-24/08 2008
  • 11/08-17/08 2008
  • 04/08-10/08 2008
  • 28/07-03/08 2008
  • 21/07-27/07 2008
  • 14/07-20/07 2008
  • 07/07-13/07 2008
  • 30/06-06/07 2008
  • 23/06-29/06 2008
  • 16/06-22/06 2008
  • 09/06-15/06 2008
  • 02/06-08/06 2008
  • 26/05-01/06 2008
  • 19/05-25/05 2008
  • 12/05-18/05 2008
  • 05/05-11/05 2008
  • 28/04-04/05 2008
  • 21/04-27/04 2008
  • 14/04-20/04 2008
  • 07/04-13/04 2008
  • 31/03-06/04 2008
  • 24/03-30/03 2008
  • 17/03-23/03 2008
  • 10/03-16/03 2008
  • 03/03-09/03 2008
  • 25/02-02/03 2008
  • 18/02-24/02 2008
  • 11/02-17/02 2008
  • 04/02-10/02 2008
  • 28/01-03/02 2008
  • 21/01-27/01 2008
  • 14/01-20/01 2008
  • 07/01-13/01 2008
  • 31/12-06/01 2008
  • 24/12-30/12 2007
  • 17/12-23/12 2007
  • 10/12-16/12 2007
  • 03/12-09/12 2007
  • 26/11-02/12 2007
  • 19/11-25/11 2007
  • 12/11-18/11 2007
  • 05/11-11/11 2007
  • 29/10-04/11 2007
  • 22/10-28/10 2007
  • 15/10-21/10 2007
  • 08/10-14/10 2007
  • 01/10-07/10 2007
  • 24/09-30/09 2007
  • 17/09-23/09 2007
  • 10/09-16/09 2007
  • 03/09-09/09 2007
  • 27/08-02/09 2007
  • 20/08-26/08 2007
  • 13/08-19/08 2007
  • 06/08-12/08 2007
  • 30/07-05/08 2007
  • 23/07-29/07 2007
  • 16/07-22/07 2007
  • 09/07-15/07 2007
  • 02/07-08/07 2007
  • 25/06-01/07 2007
  • 18/06-24/06 2007
  • 11/06-17/06 2007
  • 04/06-10/06 2007
  • 28/05-03/06 2007
  • 21/05-27/05 2007
  • 14/05-20/05 2007
  • 07/05-13/05 2007
  • 30/04-06/05 2007
  • 23/04-29/04 2007
  • 16/04-22/04 2007
  • 09/04-15/04 2007
  • 02/04-08/04 2007
  • 26/03-01/04 2007
  • 19/03-25/03 2007
  • 12/03-18/03 2007
  • 05/03-11/03 2007
  • 26/02-04/03 2007
  • 19/02-25/02 2007
  • 12/02-18/02 2007
  • 05/02-11/02 2007
  • 29/01-04/02 2007
  • 22/01-28/01 2007
  • 15/01-21/01 2007
  • 08/01-14/01 2007
  • 01/01-07/01 2007
  • 25/12-31/12 2006
  • 18/12-24/12 2006
  • 11/12-17/12 2006
  • 04/12-10/12 2006
  • 27/11-03/12 2006
  • 20/11-26/11 2006
  • 13/11-19/11 2006
  • 06/11-12/11 2006
  • 30/10-05/11 2006
  • 23/10-29/10 2006
  • 16/10-22/10 2006
  • 09/10-15/10 2006
  • 02/10-08/10 2006
  • 25/09-01/10 2006
  • 18/09-24/09 2006


    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs