Big Bad Log
Inhoud blog
  • Mollendaal Forest
  • Back to the Sonian Forest
  • Tacx Satori
  • Tacx Satori
  • Heverlee forest
  • Mr.Merlin rides out
  • Mr. Merlin rides out
  • Nodebais
  • Following my front wheel
  • Psychlotron 55K

    Foto


    Foto

    Big Bad Links
  • Big Bad Wolf Home
  • The History blog
  • Steep Hill Bike Travelogue
  • LOUP . ORG
  • Chicks and Bikes - humor
  • Moster Blond
  • David Moulton's Bike Blog
  • Christine Peanut Vardaros
  • Velonews Competition Journal
  • Pez Cycling News

    Big Bad Links 2
  • Nothing rides like Ti
  • Irina Kalentieva
  • Kim Saenen - MTB Marathon Girl
  • Big Wheel Building - Mike Curiak blog
  • Jeff Kerkove - Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete
  • Kaa Petaate - Leives klupke
  • Life Behind Bars - luv2mtb blog
  • MTB Lily : latest MTB news
  • Como Cyco
  • MTB Wallon

    Big Bad Links 3
  • Milano Fixed
  • Scot 'Chuck Ibis' Nicol Spew
  • Hell Yeah !
  • Zen Garage
  • CyclingNews.COM babe thread (humor)
  • Nerv+

    Foto


    Beoordeel dit blog
      Zeer goed
      Goed
      Voldoende
      Nog wat bijwerken
      Nog veel werk aan
     

    Foto

    Zoeken in blog


    Tales from the Woods
    31-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Century
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    My first century this year. I did not know when I started how long I would be out for, but my plan was to do another attempt at following the 'C' tour and see how that went. So I did, and between the Smeysberg and just past Wavre it was pretty hilly..40K out and I already had 450 heightmeters, nice. One hill in particular, just behind the Walibi park had me struggling , it started rather easy and gently sloping upwards on a narrow tarmac road but then came a 200 degree turn to the left and the road was going upwards like a wall in front of me. I had to dig deep to ride it. It went on for about 250 very steep metres before the slope lessened . That is a hill I must do more often when I am around. I later learned that it is a 20% slope. That is why I like to follow these marked trails, you often discover some hidden pearls. I had passed here so many times before, not knowing about this hill.
    I was in Wavre now - Limal to be exact - and the arrows pointed towards Perwez. Just past Chaumont I decided to leave them and loop back over Incourt and Opprebais towards home. The wind was again a major player and when on the high plains around Incourt I was really stuggling. At that time the plan began to form to make it a 100K ride, which would fit in nicely just one week before the Tour de Flandres and mentally I was reviewing possibilities for loops to get me over the century mark. I also had to take the wind into account and decided to make sure the last 10K or so I had the wind in my back, so that I could recuperate a bit before arriving home. So I looped over Longueville, Grez Doiceau, Hamme Mille and Meldert. Behind Meldert I followed the Haasrode tour in reverse - knowing all these tours is really a great bonus - and I also noted some yellow BLOSO markings with one distance of 80K marked . This could be an interesting ride for the future. Behind Meldert the wind was blowing from my right side and when I arrived in Bierbeek it was in my back.. oh the joys of biking with the wind giving you a gentle push cannot be described to the uninitiated but those of you who bike will know exactly how wonderful that feeling can be.
    So I passed the 100K mark for the first time this year, and with a very nice amount of heightmeters as the icing on the cake. Tomorrow I won't go to the Ardennes or Namur area, opting for closer-by Bertem instead. The longest distance over there is 70K but I will have to wait how I feel tomorrow .

    Ride Stats : 100.5k and 845 heightmeters in 4h11mins

    2720/19175

    31-03-2007, 17:45 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    29-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Run rabbit run
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Bah, a stressful day at work today, so I was pretty loaded when I arrived home. Legs were recuperated so I set out to do a quick dash around the Meerdael Bloso's. I did them in reverse direction with some extra loops here and there. I felt good and along the ride upped the pace and tried to keep the chain on the big ring during the climbs, training the muscles to endure the pain of the lactic acid onset . The trails were perfect, a bit hard at times but I managed to keep a good pace going, especially on the climbs.
    I am thinking about going towards the Ardennes this weekend, hesitant to go either to Saint Gerard in the Province of Namur, or go all the way towards Olne for the Olne-Spa-Olne ride, a 45K technical and very hard ride with lots of climbing and hairy descents. There is also a 70K chrono race but I think my racing days are over. Maybe later in the season I might be tempted but I tend to focus more on enjoyment and admiring the landscapes during a ride instead of racing around like a chicken with no head, no time to look around, only focussing on the clock.
    Perhaps Olne will be too much for a first ride after the winter so I could opt for Saint Gerard, which is a bit less technical but still offers a good amount of climbing and a distance of 60K which is more than enough in that region . The weather will decide, if it rains a lot saturday I might just opt to go to nearby Bertem where a 70K ride is offered.
    First recuperate from this one, the legs are numb now and I need a long hot bath and a good meal to replenish all the burnt calories (1940Kcal according to my Polar) and get some life back in the old limbs and bones.


    Ride Stats : 60K and 520 heightmeters in 2h50mins

    2620/18330

    29-03-2007, 20:26 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    27-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.New Brake - Will Stop
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    I had been noticing a while now that the front brake on my Litespeed (a 1999 XTR V-brake ) had developed quite a bit of play at the little axis that makes it rotate. It had been a few years since I changed the rear V for the same reason. I have had some close encounters with all kinds of bushes on some very steep descents these last few weeks due to the fact that the brake developed a lot of 'shake' and failed to brake properly. Since brakes are important I went over to Filip Sport today to get me a new one.
    Filip also explained to me where I could find the 'C' route I had missed last Sunday so after my new brake had been installed I followed that route up and down through Hoeilaart and all the way to the Smeysberg, where I left it to loop back over Ottenburg and Sint Agatha Rode to Meerdael Forest.
    I thought I was dead yesterday but today I certainly felt my legs were tired but nevertheless I had sufficient strenght left to tackle some 20 percent hills (on tarmac sure, but 20 percent is 20 percent) . The wind was another major player but the lovely sunshine made the ride very enjoyable despite the contant surge from the northeast.

    Ride Stats : 62K and 585 heightmeters in 2h44mins

    2559/17810

    27-03-2007, 17:51 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    26-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Accro Bike 52K reverse
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Ahhh, today was my day. Hot and ready for a long-overdue ride along the Accro Bike trails I hold so dear. I decided to do the long version (52K) and do it in the reverse direction. This makes for a completely different ride, some of the mean descents now become mean climbs - two of them unride-able due to the utter steepness - and what normally is a tough climb now becomes a leisurely descent. Although from experience I know that nothing about these trails is leisurely, they are tricky and tough, with a surprise waiting around every corner. I have been floored many times - one of the descents I have secretly nicknamed the Big Bad Gully because I already went over the bars there twice - by the treacherous trails and today I needed all my technical luggage to keep me safe . The "Big Bad Gully" sure looked mean as ever today, out of respect I dismounted and rounded it on foot. Not a third time, thank you.
    Some very muddy patches too but nothing I couldn't handle, 90 percent of the trails were dry or at least dry enough not to leave a mark on the bike or myself.

    Some parts were severely eroded with a soft floor , forcing me to walk - I HATE to walk - and some parts were relatively easy, or at least seemed to be . The weather was great except for a nasty wind blowing from the northeast again. This would only bother me during the last 20K or so. I misjudged the amount of liquid I needed because I found my bottle to be dry with some 10K to go. I did stop once to have a nice Powerbar and I needed it, as this ride really dug into my arsenal of strenght, which had already suffered from yesterdays' ride. No wells or fountains in the neighborhood so I had to make do with what little liquids I had, and the wind blowing in my face during the last K's didn't really help. I had to dig deep but I survived .
    I tried out a new pair of trousers today , which were supposedly better than the Assos I am used to. And I have to say, they are really great. My bum was very happy throughout the ride and no saddle sores developed, or at least no new ones. So yes, a great pair of trousers. They were manufactured by Xesco and it's their top-of-the line offering, with elastic foam and breathing skin, price is 99€ .
    Felt really good thoughout the ride, no slipping or sliding around, very good support of back and bottom, nice and tight the way I like it. I will have to order a second one soon.

    Ride Stats : 80k and 1090 heightmeters in 4h34mins

    2497/17225


    26-03-2007, 17:43 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    25-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Wrong C
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Ok, so today the sun was out. Fierce wind though, which would prove to be my major bother later on during the ride. I had heard that there was a road ride passing not far from my home - follow the C with the arrow on top of it - so I decided to give that a shot. They told me the start was in Gembloux and the ride was 110K with nearly 1400 heightmeters. I did not feel up to doing the whole distance but I decided to pick in at the bottom of the Smeysberg and play it by ear. So it went. I spotted a big C with an arrow so I followed that. The route was pretty hilly and meandering nicely through La Hulpe towards Rixensart and Wavre. I had hoped to see some bikers on the ride but I was all alone. So I began to doubt if I was following the right signs. Still, I knew my way around these parts of Brabant Walloon so I rode on. When the ride looped back towards Maleizen and Ottenburg I began to smell a rat. I must be following the wrong C's !
    Ok, no big deal, when I arrived in Sint Agatha Rode I decided to loop back to the Smeysberg and check out the signage again. On top of the hills I saw some bikers and I also saw another type of C plastered on the tarmac. Surely, that must have been the right "C'..
    I was not in the mood, nor did I feel strong enough, to add another 100 K to the ride  - at that point my counter was on 40K - so I decided to follow the Red Bloso arrows which also pass there and which would yield me another 30-ish K's.
    The wind was blowing fiercely from North-eastern regions and during the latter part of the ride it was really bothering me. Sapping strength out of my legs and making me decide to just do the Bloso ride and not add another extra loop to make it a 100K ride.
    Also bearing in mind that I took a day off of work tomorrow to try and ride the Accro Bike loop, I hope I made the right decision. Temperatures were in the 10 degrees C region, feeling a bit more when the wind was blowing in my back and definately feeling a bit less when the dry gusts were blowing in my face.

    Ride Stats : 75K and 655 heightmeters in 3h15mins

    2417/16135

    25-03-2007, 16:04 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    24-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rolling
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    And another one, drizzle for most of the day, so I remained once again inside for a ride on the rollers. Hoping for good weather tomorrow.

    Ride Stats : 26.5K in 1h11mins

    2343/15480

    24-03-2007, 18:30 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    23-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Hoppa Hoppa Reiter
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Another dreary cold day and first I did not want to bike at all. But when I heard that for tomorrow they predict even more wetness I decided to count my chickens and do a short ride on the rollers. Good thing because I could read another couple of chapters in 'Lord Fouls' Bane', the first book of the First Trilogy of the White Gold Wielder saga.
    Put some Rammstein ( Mutter )  on the MP3 and this helped me to up the tempo during the ride. Hoppa Hoppa Reiter..

    Ride Stats : 25K in 1h2mins

    2316/15480

    23-03-2007, 20:09 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    22-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Young green and eldritch dark
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Ok, it remained dry most of the day and although there was still a pretty fierce wind, blowing from Northwestern areas, I went out , happy to feel the air move along me again. Some young green leaves on the trees announce the arrival of spring, the sun didn't shine much but when it did pierce through the menacing dark clouds - I love those menacing clouds that hold the promise of rain but fail to keep it - it gave me a warm feeling on the cheeks. Ride was pretty uneventful and I had plenty of time to order my thoughts on the events of the day.
    I had browsed around a bit on my favorite online bookstore to order the latest in the Covenant Chronicles series (Yip, Stephen R.Donaldson is working on a third trilogy after 20 years ,the first book - "The Runes of the Earth" which I ordered -  is out and a second book is to come soon, possibly this year ) and found some stuff of Clark Ashton Smith and H.P.Lovecraft, two writers I was quite fond of when I was younger and who still arouse me with their stories of the beyond and the ungraspable eldritch dark . Mystery and horror weaved in a tight web of the unsurmountable Ur-Angst we all have for the formless terror that lies just beyond what our eyes can see. Like a double shadow. Great stuff.



    I want to close with one of Clark Ashtons' Poems , which I believe captures the spirit of his writings rather well.


    The Winter Moonlight

    The silence of the silver night
    Lies visibly upon the pines;
    In marble tame the moon declines
    Where spectral mountains dream in light.

    And pale as with eternal sleep
    The enchanted valleys, far and strange,
    Extend for ever without change
    Beneath the veiling splendors deep.

    Carven of steel or fretted stone,
    One stark and leafless autumn tree
    With shadows made of ebony
    Leans on the moon-ward field alone.

    Printed from: www.eldritchdark.com/writings/poetry/655


    Ride Stats : 33.5K and 215 heightmeters in 1h25mins

    2291/15480






    22-03-2007, 20:30 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    21-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.No balls
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Another grim day, 4 degrees C and lots of wintery showers made me get on my rollers again, Lord Fouls' Bane as food for my brain and a lot of girls singing in my ear. Lets keep our fingers crossed that tomorrow things will dry out and I can get out for a change.
    I had a bit of a sour grape moment when I read today how many of the Co2 pollution is caused by planes and ships.. typical of the government to fine the car drivers and leave the big culprits to pollute as if nothing was wrong . Why? Because it takes balls to take on the ships and planes and make them pollute less. And balls and politics don't mix, or at least not for long.
    Things like that make me wanna sit down in a corner and weep , weep out of frustration and helplessness.

    Ride Stats : 37K in 1h33mins

    2257/16265

    21-03-2007, 22:06 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    20-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Shaven .. euhm.. kiwi's
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Today called for some powertraining.. I like to do that on my rollers. 7 tough spells of 3 minutes with the brake full on, followed by an easy 2 minutes before repeating the interval again. First a good 20' warmup of course and after the intervals a 20 minute cooldown to cleanse the legs from the acids.
    Didn't feel in top shape but nevertheless had a good workout. Hopefully I can go out tomorrow for a 2 hour LSD ride to recuperate from this one.

    Ride Stats : 30.5K in 1h15mins

    2220/15265

    20-03-2007, 19:50 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    18-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Recovery
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Sometimes a ride on the rollers can make you feel better, you actually feel refreshed after the ride. Usually, riding a bike or doing any other physical activity leaves you more tired after the activity than when you started it. But when riding the rollers at a certain pace, especially after a draining day, the activity actually revives you. I did not feel up to facing the bad weather outside today, and already having done a good mountainbike ride yesterday made me decide to stay indoors and just go through the motions on an half hour roller ride.
    Ironically, when I finished the ride, the weather seemed to clear out a bit,but the forecast remains grim.

    Ride Stats : 11K in 30mins

    2190/15265

    18-03-2007, 12:47 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    17-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Meerdael BLOSO
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    High time I rode the Meerdael BLOSO's again. Checking out the arrowing and looking out for possible problem areas. Lots of forestry going on, fallen trees everywhere but only needed to get off my bike twice. Once on the Green Loop for a tree that seems to have fallen during the Februari storm, and once on the descent into Sint Joris Weert for a couple of smallish trees that seem to have been deliberately dropped over the track. I tried moving the trees but could not. But with 2 or 3 people I'm sure we could dislodge them.
    I rode pretty relaxed, only upping the pace towards the end of the ride. I quite enjoyed this ride.
    The forest is wonderful, even in this time of year, when all is supposed to be dead and waiting for the spring. The trail conditions were excellent . Pity the weather forecast calls for some rain and even snow , but I'm sure glad I got this ride in today. Have to work later this afternoon and depending on the weather I might ride the SVK ride tomorrow, which also covers a part of Meerdaelwoud..

    Ride Stats : 55K and 510 heightmeters in 2h41mins

    2179/15265


     

    17-03-2007, 13:57 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    15-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Melenkurion Skyweir
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Tough ride today. I rode over to Huldenberg to do some hill training and with the Smeysberg, those who know that hill will know what I mean, the going is always tough.
    I rode up and over it 7 times , doing 70kph in the downhill bit and 11kph on the uphill. Legs were screaming for mercy but I wasn't listening. Good training, I'm nearly dead now but will survive I'm sure.
    Episode 2 in the government battle against the fine dust. Yesterday they fined 3000 (!)  drivers going faster than 90kph on the Flemish highways. Since yesterday there is a restriction to 90kph on the highways and the Rings around Brussels and Antwerp.
    Some drivers were complaining they were not aware of the restriction. Yeah right, there were 90kph signs about every 2K or so.. Some people really need to open their eyes when driving. Perhaps they should put the 90kph signs on the left side of the highway, were the fast lane is, as well.. not that it matters a lot I guess. Assholes will always be assholes, the only language they understand is when they are slapped with a fine...repeatedly.
    I felt that today most drivers were more or less driving around the 90kph mark, most a bit more, some a bit less.
    Melenkurion Skyweir? That was what I was thinking about when attacking the hill. Look it up.

    Ride Stats : 41K and 530 heightmeters in 1h53mins

    2124/14755

    15-03-2007, 19:06 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (1)

    14-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Go Cat go, but not faster than 90
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Yesss, another fine day and I could get away from work around 3pm . Did a nice little loop just south of the language border in Brabant Walloon, through some pittoresque little villages softly glowing in the afternoon sun. Wanted to say hello to the little donkey I saw in Happeau some time ago but I only saw a big one. Hope the little one is fine.
    Government was warning for small dust particles in the sky, announcing a 90kph speed limit on the freeways. As usual, egotistical Belgians couldn't get bothered much to 'do the right thing' speeding along as usual although when I went home I did notice I wasn't the only one cruising at 90kph on the freeway. This not only saves the environment, I also feel a lot more relaxed in my car at that speed. The fact that the police has been speedtrapping at a lot of places might have contributed to the general decrease of speeders. Belgians are very open to suggestions when they have to dig into their wallet.

    Ride Stats : 52K and 335 heightmeters in 2h05 mins

    2083/14225

    14-03-2007, 19:06 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    12-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Spring is in the air
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Wow, I had to sit out a wonderful biking day yesterday because my bum is still giving me a lot of worries. It felt really sore after saturdays' ride but the ulcer that has been bothering me on and off for more than a month now had finally broken open so I could clean it out , desinfect it and start the healing process. Today it seemed well enough healed to go out for a ride .
    And what a great ride it was. The weather was wonderful, sunny, almost no wind and clear blue skies. I did not want to underdress so I still wore long trousers and a long sleeved jacket. When I stopped briefly in a hollow road I turned my head into the sun and felt its soothing glorious warmth make my skin tingle with joy. I wanted to go and lie down in the grass but I guess if I would have done that I would have fallen asleep. Ah, what a little sun can do after 2 weeks of rain and wind.
    I did one of my regular tours including a few extra loops to gather some extra heightmeters and avoid some cobbly sections (my bum wasn't THAT healed). All went well and it was with a very broad grin on my face that I completed the ride.

    Ride Stats : 70K and 665 heightmeters in 2h55mins

    2031/13890

    12-03-2007, 15:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (3)

    10-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rode Lintjes Tocht Nr26 in Meerdael
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    This morning saw a new batch of Rode Lintjes showing up for this second installment of RL26 which consisted of my Secret Meerdael training loop, starting in Blanden and trying to show an unexpected side of the Meerdaelwoud in all its splendor. We were 8 when we left and due to the heavy rainfall of the last few weeks, I expected a lot of mud. I was not far off, in fact I was spot on . I left my mudfenders at home this time because I had mounted a smaller section tyre.
    The weather was just gorgeous, nice sunshine, almost no wind and around 13 degrees C at noon made this ideal circumstances for a good tough ride. So lets go !
    The first part of the ride was a lot wetter. Due to the saturation of the grounds the water was still standing in large quantities on the trails. The floor here is clay-like, which saturates faster . The little singletrails demanded a lot of power to get through them, leaving us slipping and sliding when the top soil moved. Again I left out one hollow road uphill and downhill because they are real mud-traps. Today I had mounted my Schwalbe Black Shark Mud tyres , 1.5 inches wide, which cut through the mud like a hot knife through butter, finding grip where other tyres have long thrown in the towel. These tyres got me through the worst of the mud sections today and are really a joy, especially in off-camber situations - where most other tyres lose their grip -  these just bite and let you continue. They demand a LOT of rider attention on harder tracks though, due to the stiff knobs which tend to tilt and let the tyre skip in turns , and they also need 3 bars in them to prevent snakebites which doesn't do much for comfort. Still, after an initial getting-used-to-them and a flat which I believe was caused by a snakebite , I got along fine.
    I noticed some people using GPS but I am quite sure that they will keep to the set rules; GPS was OK but on the condition the recorded track is for THEIR personal use.
    As I explained before, and as the attendees certainly noticed throughout the ride, a lot of the tracks used on this "Secret Trails" ride are small and thats how they should remain. This keeps both me and the Forestry happy.
    Once we crossed over the Naamsesteenweg into the 'hilly' section, the floor looked dryer - except for a really bad mudhole in a crevasse and the occasional puddle  - and the difficulty now shifted from mud to the steepness of the climbs and the descents. The small-section tyres' footprint don't give you a lot of brake-power and I managed to hit the bushes again on one particularly steep downhill. When the tyres did bite when braking I nearly went OTB but luckily I had the reaction to ease on the front brake and then managed to steer clear of harms way. The bushes stopped me but without any harm to me or my bike. What a joy diskbrakes are compared to V-brakes - pity I cannot mount them on all my bikes. The Litespeed I was using today doesn't have them .
    The group was very homogenous and I stopped often to allow everyone to catch their breath, eat and drink a bit from time to time. I added a little extra loop along a new footpath in Sint Joris Weert and also included another section which yielded us a bit more distance and one climb more than a few weeks back. I was feeling tired when we arrived and I'm sure most of the others were too. But I had a feeling of fullfilment on completing this tough ride.  


    Ride Stats : 56K and 925 heightmeters in 4h08
    Ride Profile : CLICK
    Ride Pictures : CLICK (thanks to Polarbear for the pics ! )

    1961/13225

    10-03-2007, 00:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (2)

    08-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.International Womens Day
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen

    Wow, was I glad to get home from work and get on my bike. I had been up quite late last night and getting up for work at 5.30 hurt like hell. But one advantage to start work early is that you can sneak out at a decent hour and enjoy an few hours of light to do a long ride on yer bike. Today was a have of rest between some very wet days, and the temperature roared towards 15 degrees C when I set off for one of my standard rides. This time I chose the Haasrode Tour, which yields me 65K and some 500 heightmeters. I felt good from the moment I got on my bike, filled my lungs with fresh clean air and soared off behind a small motorcycle.. Had a great ride and I was in just in time before night fell.

    On another note, today was the International Womens Day.
    Women , I love them all, even (or should I say, especially ? ) the naughty ones. It's good that they have their day but in fact to me every day is Womens' Day. They deserve it. And they had a good day for it, so much is sure. Lets hope women all over the world benefit in some way from this incentive. I am a strong advocate for equal rights for women, and I mean equal in every way, no matter what color, race or religion . Like I said, they deserve it.

    Ride Stats: 66K and 490 heightmeters in 2h35mins

    1905/12300

    08-03-2007, 19:04 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (4)

    06-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Powertraining
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Damn foul weather. Lots of rain kept me inside on the rollers instead of out on some nasty hill to do my powertraining session. Went to the Polar importer today to have a new battery installed in my trusty S710. I have this heartrate monitor for nearly five years now and logged nearly 3000 hours of biking on it.
    Training wetn fine except for my bottom that gave me a spot of trouble. The adventures of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever guided me through the warmup and cooldown phases of this workout.

    Riding Stats : 24K in 1h1min

    1840/11810

    06-03-2007, 20:38 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    04-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Easy ride
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Nice and calm sunny weather this morning so I decided to go out and do a couple of hours on the road. My Polar S710 gave me a 'low battery' warning yesterday so I need to have the battery changed asap. Will drive to the importer tomorrow.
    Had a good ride, relaxing and soothing with the sun on my face. What a difference with yesterdays conditions. Will put some more pics in the Heze folder and am looking for the next opportunity to follow a race to hone my skills with the new camera.

    Ride Stats : 45k and 330 heightmeters in 1h55mins

    1816/11810

    04-03-2007, 14:32 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (3)

    03-03-2007
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Heze - Trophee Jeunes Vetetistes
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Wet, strong wind, dark skies .. excellent conditions to stay home in bed, one would think. But no, today I had promised my club to help out with the organisation of the first leg of the "Trophee Jeunes Vetetistes" , taking place in Heze, a small rural village next to Grez-Doiceau. My task consisted of safeguarding the security on one of the crossroads where the mountainbike race was to pass. I had demanded a spot in the forest so I could also try out my new camera and flash .
    The conditions were dark, so the flash came in handy.. unfortunately I would discover later that I had overlooked restoring some settings I had previously tampered with while trying out some stuff at home. This oversight rendered most of my pics even darker than they already were due to the storm that was still raging in the early hours of the day. Oh well, we live to learn, don't we.
    I was in place around 10am and some 4 hours later it all was all over and done. Being in the forest and in a hollow road I was spared from the fierce wind, which had already felled some trees on the main road earlier that day.
    I have to admit, I saw a lot of nearly-dead bikers pass before my lens today. The climatic conditions were horrific:  wetness , mud , storm wind in the plains and of course the ups and downs and technical passages of this circuit took their toll. Mountainbiking is a tough sport, let there be no doubt about that. I shot some 160 pictures and I think I have around 20 that I consider to be good.  I hope they reflect some of the toughness of the race. Scroll down to the bottom of this article for a link to a small pictorial album.
    I tried out a lot of stuff on my Nikon D2X camera , like different autofocus procurement settings , some of them worked, some didn't quite give me the results I was looking for. But thats OK, this is a learning process and I rather have some bad pictures now, when things aren't stressy, than during some important race where I want most of the pics to be good.
    Later that day I managed to squeeze in an hour on the rollers, to complete a powertraining session. I was quite tired and I have not been feeling all that good these last few days, but the workout went fine nevertheless.

    Ride Stats : 25k in 1h5mins

    1770/11480

    Heze picture album (click)

    03-03-2007, 00:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    Foto

    Gastenboek./.Guestbook

    Druk op onderstaande knop om een berichtje achter te laten in mijn Gastenboek. / Press the button below to write in my Guestbook.


    Foto

    Blog als favoriet !


    Foto

    Email Me

    Press the button to send me a mail






    Archief per week
  • 31/08-06/09 2020
  • 20/04-26/04 2020
  • 29/10-04/11 2018
  • 22/10-28/10 2018
  • 24/09-30/09 2018
  • 03/09-09/09 2018
  • 27/08-02/09 2018
  • 13/08-19/08 2018
  • 30/07-05/08 2018
  • 23/07-29/07 2018
  • 16/07-22/07 2018
  • 09/07-15/07 2018
  • 14/05-20/05 2018
  • 07/05-13/05 2018
  • 30/04-06/05 2018
  • 23/04-29/04 2018
  • 16/04-22/04 2018
  • 09/04-15/04 2018
  • 02/04-08/04 2018
  • 26/03-01/04 2018
  • 12/03-18/03 2018
  • 05/03-11/03 2018
  • 26/02-04/03 2018
  • 19/02-25/02 2018
  • 12/02-18/02 2018
  • 05/02-11/02 2018
  • 29/01-04/02 2018
  • 22/01-28/01 2018
  • 01/01-07/01 2018
  • 04/12-10/12 2017
  • 27/11-03/12 2017
  • 06/11-12/11 2017
  • 25/09-01/10 2017
  • 18/09-24/09 2017
  • 11/09-17/09 2017
  • 28/08-03/09 2017
  • 21/08-27/08 2017
  • 07/08-13/08 2017
  • 31/07-06/08 2017
  • 24/07-30/07 2017
  • 17/07-23/07 2017
  • 10/07-16/07 2017
  • 03/07-09/07 2017
  • 29/05-04/06 2017
  • 22/05-28/05 2017
  • 15/05-21/05 2017
  • 01/05-07/05 2017
  • 24/04-30/04 2017
  • 17/04-23/04 2017
  • 10/04-16/04 2017
  • 03/04-09/04 2017
  • 27/03-02/04 2017
  • 20/03-26/03 2017
  • 13/03-19/03 2017
  • 06/03-12/03 2017
  • 27/02-05/03 2017
  • 20/02-26/02 2017
  • 13/02-19/02 2017
  • 06/02-12/02 2017
  • 30/01-05/02 2017
  • 23/01-29/01 2017
  • 16/01-22/01 2017
  • 09/01-15/01 2017
  • 19/12-25/12 2016
  • 12/12-18/12 2016
  • 05/12-11/12 2016
  • 28/11-04/12 2016
  • 21/11-27/11 2016
  • 14/11-20/11 2016
  • 07/11-13/11 2016
  • 31/10-06/11 2016
  • 24/10-30/10 2016
  • 10/10-16/10 2016
  • 03/10-09/10 2016
  • 26/09-02/10 2016
  • 19/09-25/09 2016
  • 05/09-11/09 2016
  • 29/08-04/09 2016
  • 22/08-28/08 2016
  • 15/08-21/08 2016
  • 08/08-14/08 2016
  • 01/08-07/08 2016
  • 25/07-31/07 2016
  • 18/07-24/07 2016
  • 11/07-17/07 2016
  • 04/07-10/07 2016
  • 27/06-03/07 2016
  • 13/06-19/06 2016
  • 06/06-12/06 2016
  • 30/05-05/06 2016
  • 23/05-29/05 2016
  • 09/05-15/05 2016
  • 02/05-08/05 2016
  • 25/04-01/05 2016
  • 18/04-24/04 2016
  • 11/04-17/04 2016
  • 04/04-10/04 2016
  • 28/03-03/04 2016
  • 14/03-20/03 2016
  • 07/03-13/03 2016
  • 29/02-06/03 2016
  • 22/02-28/02 2016
  • 15/02-21/02 2016
  • 08/02-14/02 2016
  • 01/02-07/02 2016
  • 25/01-31/01 2016
  • 18/01-24/01 2016
  • 11/01-17/01 2016
  • 04/01-10/01 2016
  • 28/12-03/01 2021
  • 21/12-27/12 2015
  • 14/12-20/12 2015
  • 07/12-13/12 2015
  • 30/11-06/12 2015
  • 23/11-29/11 2015
  • 16/11-22/11 2015
  • 19/10-25/10 2015
  • 12/10-18/10 2015
  • 05/10-11/10 2015
  • 28/09-04/10 2015
  • 21/09-27/09 2015
  • 14/09-20/09 2015
  • 07/09-13/09 2015
  • 31/08-06/09 2015
  • 24/08-30/08 2015
  • 17/08-23/08 2015
  • 10/08-16/08 2015
  • 03/08-09/08 2015
  • 27/07-02/08 2015
  • 20/07-26/07 2015
  • 13/07-19/07 2015
  • 06/07-12/07 2015
  • 29/06-05/07 2015
  • 22/06-28/06 2015
  • 15/06-21/06 2015
  • 08/06-14/06 2015
  • 01/06-07/06 2015
  • 25/05-31/05 2015
  • 18/05-24/05 2015
  • 11/05-17/05 2015
  • 04/05-10/05 2015
  • 27/04-03/05 2015
  • 20/04-26/04 2015
  • 13/04-19/04 2015
  • 06/04-12/04 2015
  • 30/03-05/04 2015
  • 23/03-29/03 2015
  • 16/03-22/03 2015
  • 09/03-15/03 2015
  • 02/03-08/03 2015
  • 23/02-01/03 2015
  • 16/02-22/02 2015
  • 09/02-15/02 2015
  • 02/02-08/02 2015
  • 26/01-01/02 2015
  • 19/01-25/01 2015
  • 12/01-18/01 2015
  • 08/12-14/12 2014
  • 01/12-07/12 2014
  • 24/11-30/11 2014
  • 17/11-23/11 2014
  • 10/11-16/11 2014
  • 03/11-09/11 2014
  • 27/10-02/11 2014
  • 20/10-26/10 2014
  • 06/10-12/10 2014
  • 29/09-05/10 2014
  • 22/09-28/09 2014
  • 15/09-21/09 2014
  • 08/09-14/09 2014
  • 01/09-07/09 2014
  • 25/08-31/08 2014
  • 18/08-24/08 2014
  • 11/08-17/08 2014
  • 04/08-10/08 2014
  • 21/07-27/07 2014
  • 14/07-20/07 2014
  • 07/07-13/07 2014
  • 30/06-06/07 2014
  • 02/06-08/06 2014
  • 26/05-01/06 2014
  • 19/05-25/05 2014
  • 12/05-18/05 2014
  • 05/05-11/05 2014
  • 28/04-04/05 2014
  • 21/04-27/04 2014
  • 14/04-20/04 2014
  • 07/04-13/04 2014
  • 31/03-06/04 2014
  • 24/03-30/03 2014
  • 17/03-23/03 2014
  • 10/03-16/03 2014
  • 03/03-09/03 2014
  • 24/02-02/03 2014
  • 17/02-23/02 2014
  • 10/02-16/02 2014
  • 03/02-09/02 2014
  • 27/01-02/02 2014
  • 20/01-26/01 2014
  • 13/01-19/01 2014
  • 06/01-12/01 2014
  • 30/12-05/01 2014
  • 23/12-29/12 2013
  • 16/12-22/12 2013
  • 09/12-15/12 2013
  • 18/11-24/11 2013
  • 11/11-17/11 2013
  • 04/11-10/11 2013
  • 28/10-03/11 2013
  • 21/10-27/10 2013
  • 14/10-20/10 2013
  • 07/10-13/10 2013
  • 30/09-06/10 2013
  • 23/09-29/09 2013
  • 16/09-22/09 2013
  • 09/09-15/09 2013
  • 02/09-08/09 2013
  • 19/08-25/08 2013
  • 12/08-18/08 2013
  • 05/08-11/08 2013
  • 29/07-04/08 2013
  • 22/07-28/07 2013
  • 15/07-21/07 2013
  • 08/07-14/07 2013
  • 01/07-07/07 2013
  • 24/06-30/06 2013
  • 17/06-23/06 2013
  • 10/06-16/06 2013
  • 03/06-09/06 2013
  • 27/05-02/06 2013
  • 20/05-26/05 2013
  • 13/05-19/05 2013
  • 06/05-12/05 2013
  • 29/04-05/05 2013
  • 22/04-28/04 2013
  • 15/04-21/04 2013
  • 08/04-14/04 2013
  • 01/04-07/04 2013
  • 25/03-31/03 2013
  • 11/03-17/03 2013
  • 04/03-10/03 2013
  • 25/02-03/03 2013
  • 18/02-24/02 2013
  • 11/02-17/02 2013
  • 04/02-10/02 2013
  • 28/01-03/02 2013
  • 21/01-27/01 2013
  • 14/01-20/01 2013
  • 07/01-13/01 2013
  • 31/12-06/01 2013
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 17/12-23/12 2012
  • 10/12-16/12 2012
  • 03/12-09/12 2012
  • 26/11-02/12 2012
  • 19/11-25/11 2012
  • 22/10-28/10 2012
  • 15/10-21/10 2012
  • 01/10-07/10 2012
  • 24/09-30/09 2012
  • 17/09-23/09 2012
  • 10/09-16/09 2012
  • 03/09-09/09 2012
  • 27/08-02/09 2012
  • 20/08-26/08 2012
  • 13/08-19/08 2012
  • 06/08-12/08 2012
  • 30/07-05/08 2012
  • 23/07-29/07 2012
  • 16/07-22/07 2012
  • 09/07-15/07 2012
  • 02/07-08/07 2012
  • 25/06-01/07 2012
  • 18/06-24/06 2012
  • 11/06-17/06 2012
  • 04/06-10/06 2012
  • 28/05-03/06 2012
  • 21/05-27/05 2012
  • 14/05-20/05 2012
  • 07/05-13/05 2012
  • 30/04-06/05 2012
  • 23/04-29/04 2012
  • 16/04-22/04 2012
  • 09/04-15/04 2012
  • 02/04-08/04 2012
  • 26/03-01/04 2012
  • 19/03-25/03 2012
  • 12/03-18/03 2012
  • 05/03-11/03 2012
  • 27/02-04/03 2012
  • 20/02-26/02 2012
  • 13/02-19/02 2012
  • 06/02-12/02 2012
  • 30/01-05/02 2012
  • 23/01-29/01 2012
  • 16/01-22/01 2012
  • 09/01-15/01 2012
  • 02/01-08/01 2012
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 19/12-25/12 2011
  • 12/12-18/12 2011
  • 05/12-11/12 2011
  • 28/11-04/12 2011
  • 21/11-27/11 2011
  • 14/11-20/11 2011
  • 07/11-13/11 2011
  • 31/10-06/11 2011
  • 24/10-30/10 2011
  • 17/10-23/10 2011
  • 10/10-16/10 2011
  • 03/10-09/10 2011
  • 26/09-02/10 2011
  • 19/09-25/09 2011
  • 12/09-18/09 2011
  • 05/09-11/09 2011
  • 29/08-04/09 2011
  • 22/08-28/08 2011
  • 15/08-21/08 2011
  • 08/08-14/08 2011
  • 01/08-07/08 2011
  • 25/07-31/07 2011
  • 18/07-24/07 2011
  • 11/07-17/07 2011
  • 04/07-10/07 2011
  • 27/06-03/07 2011
  • 20/06-26/06 2011
  • 13/06-19/06 2011
  • 06/06-12/06 2011
  • 30/05-05/06 2011
  • 23/05-29/05 2011
  • 16/05-22/05 2011
  • 09/05-15/05 2011
  • 02/05-08/05 2011
  • 25/04-01/05 2011
  • 18/04-24/04 2011
  • 11/04-17/04 2011
  • 04/04-10/04 2011
  • 28/03-03/04 2011
  • 21/03-27/03 2011
  • 14/03-20/03 2011
  • 07/03-13/03 2011
  • 21/02-27/02 2011
  • 14/02-20/02 2011
  • 07/02-13/02 2011
  • 17/01-23/01 2011
  • 26/12-01/01 2012
  • 20/12-26/12 2010
  • 13/12-19/12 2010
  • 06/12-12/12 2010
  • 29/11-05/12 2010
  • 22/11-28/11 2010
  • 15/11-21/11 2010
  • 08/11-14/11 2010
  • 01/11-07/11 2010
  • 25/10-31/10 2010
  • 18/10-24/10 2010
  • 11/10-17/10 2010
  • 04/10-10/10 2010
  • 27/09-03/10 2010
  • 20/09-26/09 2010
  • 06/09-12/09 2010
  • 30/08-05/09 2010
  • 23/08-29/08 2010
  • 16/08-22/08 2010
  • 09/08-15/08 2010
  • 02/08-08/08 2010
  • 26/07-01/08 2010
  • 19/07-25/07 2010
  • 12/07-18/07 2010
  • 05/07-11/07 2010
  • 28/06-04/07 2010
  • 21/06-27/06 2010
  • 14/06-20/06 2010
  • 07/06-13/06 2010
  • 31/05-06/06 2010
  • 24/05-30/05 2010
  • 17/05-23/05 2010
  • 10/05-16/05 2010
  • 03/05-09/05 2010
  • 26/04-02/05 2010
  • 19/04-25/04 2010
  • 12/04-18/04 2010
  • 05/04-11/04 2010
  • 29/03-04/04 2010
  • 22/03-28/03 2010
  • 15/03-21/03 2010
  • 08/03-14/03 2010
  • 01/03-07/03 2010
  • 22/02-28/02 2010
  • 15/02-21/02 2010
  • 08/02-14/02 2010
  • 01/02-07/02 2010
  • 25/01-31/01 2010
  • 18/01-24/01 2010
  • 11/01-17/01 2010
  • 04/01-10/01 2010
  • 28/12-03/01 2016
  • 21/12-27/12 2009
  • 14/12-20/12 2009
  • 07/12-13/12 2009
  • 30/11-06/12 2009
  • 23/11-29/11 2009
  • 16/11-22/11 2009
  • 09/11-15/11 2009
  • 26/10-01/11 2009
  • 19/10-25/10 2009
  • 12/10-18/10 2009
  • 05/10-11/10 2009
  • 28/09-04/10 2009
  • 21/09-27/09 2009
  • 14/09-20/09 2009
  • 07/09-13/09 2009
  • 31/08-06/09 2009
  • 24/08-30/08 2009
  • 17/08-23/08 2009
  • 10/08-16/08 2009
  • 03/08-09/08 2009
  • 27/07-02/08 2009
  • 20/07-26/07 2009
  • 13/07-19/07 2009
  • 06/07-12/07 2009
  • 29/06-05/07 2009
  • 22/06-28/06 2009
  • 15/06-21/06 2009
  • 08/06-14/06 2009
  • 01/06-07/06 2009
  • 25/05-31/05 2009
  • 18/05-24/05 2009
  • 11/05-17/05 2009
  • 04/05-10/05 2009
  • 27/04-03/05 2009
  • 20/04-26/04 2009
  • 13/04-19/04 2009
  • 06/04-12/04 2009
  • 30/03-05/04 2009
  • 23/03-29/03 2009
  • 16/03-22/03 2009
  • 09/03-15/03 2009
  • 02/03-08/03 2009
  • 23/02-01/03 2009
  • 16/02-22/02 2009
  • 09/02-15/02 2009
  • 02/02-08/02 2009
  • 26/01-01/02 2009
  • 19/01-25/01 2009
  • 12/01-18/01 2009
  • 05/01-11/01 2009
  • 29/12-04/01 2009
  • 22/12-28/12 2008
  • 15/12-21/12 2008
  • 08/12-14/12 2008
  • 01/12-07/12 2008
  • 24/11-30/11 2008
  • 17/11-23/11 2008
  • 10/11-16/11 2008
  • 03/11-09/11 2008
  • 27/10-02/11 2008
  • 20/10-26/10 2008
  • 13/10-19/10 2008
  • 06/10-12/10 2008
  • 29/09-05/10 2008
  • 22/09-28/09 2008
  • 15/09-21/09 2008
  • 08/09-14/09 2008
  • 01/09-07/09 2008
  • 25/08-31/08 2008
  • 18/08-24/08 2008
  • 11/08-17/08 2008
  • 04/08-10/08 2008
  • 28/07-03/08 2008
  • 21/07-27/07 2008
  • 14/07-20/07 2008
  • 07/07-13/07 2008
  • 30/06-06/07 2008
  • 23/06-29/06 2008
  • 16/06-22/06 2008
  • 09/06-15/06 2008
  • 02/06-08/06 2008
  • 26/05-01/06 2008
  • 19/05-25/05 2008
  • 12/05-18/05 2008
  • 05/05-11/05 2008
  • 28/04-04/05 2008
  • 21/04-27/04 2008
  • 14/04-20/04 2008
  • 07/04-13/04 2008
  • 31/03-06/04 2008
  • 24/03-30/03 2008
  • 17/03-23/03 2008
  • 10/03-16/03 2008
  • 03/03-09/03 2008
  • 25/02-02/03 2008
  • 18/02-24/02 2008
  • 11/02-17/02 2008
  • 04/02-10/02 2008
  • 28/01-03/02 2008
  • 21/01-27/01 2008
  • 14/01-20/01 2008
  • 07/01-13/01 2008
  • 31/12-06/01 2008
  • 24/12-30/12 2007
  • 17/12-23/12 2007
  • 10/12-16/12 2007
  • 03/12-09/12 2007
  • 26/11-02/12 2007
  • 19/11-25/11 2007
  • 12/11-18/11 2007
  • 05/11-11/11 2007
  • 29/10-04/11 2007
  • 22/10-28/10 2007
  • 15/10-21/10 2007
  • 08/10-14/10 2007
  • 01/10-07/10 2007
  • 24/09-30/09 2007
  • 17/09-23/09 2007
  • 10/09-16/09 2007
  • 03/09-09/09 2007
  • 27/08-02/09 2007
  • 20/08-26/08 2007
  • 13/08-19/08 2007
  • 06/08-12/08 2007
  • 30/07-05/08 2007
  • 23/07-29/07 2007
  • 16/07-22/07 2007
  • 09/07-15/07 2007
  • 02/07-08/07 2007
  • 25/06-01/07 2007
  • 18/06-24/06 2007
  • 11/06-17/06 2007
  • 04/06-10/06 2007
  • 28/05-03/06 2007
  • 21/05-27/05 2007
  • 14/05-20/05 2007
  • 07/05-13/05 2007
  • 30/04-06/05 2007
  • 23/04-29/04 2007
  • 16/04-22/04 2007
  • 09/04-15/04 2007
  • 02/04-08/04 2007
  • 26/03-01/04 2007
  • 19/03-25/03 2007
  • 12/03-18/03 2007
  • 05/03-11/03 2007
  • 26/02-04/03 2007
  • 19/02-25/02 2007
  • 12/02-18/02 2007
  • 05/02-11/02 2007
  • 29/01-04/02 2007
  • 22/01-28/01 2007
  • 15/01-21/01 2007
  • 08/01-14/01 2007
  • 01/01-07/01 2007
  • 25/12-31/12 2006
  • 18/12-24/12 2006
  • 11/12-17/12 2006
  • 04/12-10/12 2006
  • 27/11-03/12 2006
  • 20/11-26/11 2006
  • 13/11-19/11 2006
  • 06/11-12/11 2006
  • 30/10-05/11 2006
  • 23/10-29/10 2006
  • 16/10-22/10 2006
  • 09/10-15/10 2006
  • 02/10-08/10 2006
  • 25/09-01/10 2006
  • 18/09-24/09 2006


    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs