Big Bad Log
Inhoud blog
  • Mollendaal Forest
  • Back to the Sonian Forest
  • Tacx Satori
  • Tacx Satori
  • Heverlee forest
  • Mr.Merlin rides out
  • Mr. Merlin rides out
  • Nodebais
  • Following my front wheel
  • Psychlotron 55K

    Foto


    Foto

    Big Bad Links
  • Big Bad Wolf Home
  • The History blog
  • Steep Hill Bike Travelogue
  • LOUP . ORG
  • Chicks and Bikes - humor
  • Moster Blond
  • David Moulton's Bike Blog
  • Christine Peanut Vardaros
  • Velonews Competition Journal
  • Pez Cycling News

    Big Bad Links 2
  • Nothing rides like Ti
  • Irina Kalentieva
  • Kim Saenen - MTB Marathon Girl
  • Big Wheel Building - Mike Curiak blog
  • Jeff Kerkove - Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete
  • Kaa Petaate - Leives klupke
  • Life Behind Bars - luv2mtb blog
  • MTB Lily : latest MTB news
  • Como Cyco
  • MTB Wallon

    Big Bad Links 3
  • Milano Fixed
  • Scot 'Chuck Ibis' Nicol Spew
  • Hell Yeah !
  • Zen Garage
  • CyclingNews.COM babe thread (humor)
  • Nerv+

    Foto


    Beoordeel dit blog
      Zeer goed
      Goed
      Voldoende
      Nog wat bijwerken
      Nog veel werk aan
     

    Foto

    Zoeken in blog


    Tales from the Woods
    02-12-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Stuff
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Yesterday I went to Dr.Fontaine in Hamme Mille to have my annual checkup . This is necessary if you want to obtain a licence for competition. Next to the usual questionnaire and heart checkup I also asked for a bike test. Dr.Fontaine has all the necessary ingredients except for the VO2 max and blood acid measurements. The test consists of pedalling at 60rpm and every minute 30Wats resistance is added to get your heartrate and blood acidity up. He only let me go to 146bpm and this meant I had to stop when doing 270Watts. Nevertheless I felt good and the results also showed a healthy heart and an aerobic treshold of 110bpm. This is consistent with what I experience when riding, my recovery rides always circle around that heartrate. My anearobic treshold must be luring between 145 and 150bpm, but this was not reached.
    Today the forecast was for colder weather with possible rain and snow showers in the evening. So I decided to play it safe and stay indoors. I started with 45 minutes of recovery pace on the rollers and then did a couple of 'steigerungen' for one-minute intervals with 4 minutes of cooldown between them. I had a good and refreshing workout and managed to read some more in Frank Viediebie's book.

    Ride Stats : 32.5K in 1h20mins

    9558/91245

    02-12-2008, 18:52 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    30-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.End of the week ride
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Just an easy ride on the rollers today, bringing my total for this week to 250K, not bad for a week in November. I read a couple of chapters in Frank Van den Brouckes book and I begin to realize what this guy has been through these last couple of years. The dope, the personal troubles, the press and the police that wanted his skin and made mountains out of molehills to sell papers and get funding for more. It is amazing how he still manages to get a hold of himself, thanks to a very few people who refused to let him slide into his self-inflicted oblivion. The latest news is that he will be back next year in a new team - Cinelli Cycling - with his old pal Keuns - or Nico Mattan as he is more commonly known. Surely a next chapter in the book of life for VDB.

    Ride Stats : 22K in 1h

    9525/91245

    30-11-2008, 18:36 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    29-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Biking all over the world..
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    ..well not really but I've noticed that I have been biking over 120792K  since I started recording my distances some 10 years ago. That is 3 times around the world and that surely must count for something.
    Today the weather continued to be dry and cold-ish with temps of 4 degrees C. Ideally suited for a long ride and I set out to do the Ludo Dierckxsens trajectory. From Bierbeek this follows a nice loop over La Bruyere , Happeau, Sart Risbart and Chaumont Gistoux towards Dion le Val. From here it loops back over Grez Doiceau and Archennes towards Eerken, Sint Agatha Rode and Sint Joris Weert. Here I leave the LD loop which continues all the way towards Herselt (or something). The loop isn't too difficult with only a few steep hills in Chaumont and also one when leaving Bonlez. My legs felt tired from yesterday evenings ride but I found a good pace which I was able to keep until the end. Along the way I photographed this cute Shetland pony youngster who was too shy to come any closer.
    DSC00616 DSC00617 DSC00618
    His mom wasn't shy though and we exchanged some warmth when I stroked her head. The sun was out in the beginning of the ride - its rays are still warm enough to be felt when your face is lit - but during the ride it became increasingly cloudy and by the time I reached Chaumont it was gone, leaving me without pleasant light to make photographs. Before I entered Chaumont I saw some snow lying at the side of the road, a remnant from last sundays first snow of this winter.

    Ride Stats : 67K and 485/417 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 3h09mins
    Ride Map:
    Ludo Dierckxsens 291108

    9503/91245

    29-11-2008, 18:52 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    28-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Easy stroll with climbs
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    A fine evening with dry weather inviting for a longer ride. So I rode out for a ride along the backroads, concentrating on incorporating a couple of longer climbs. The roads were 95% dry which made for a great ride. My Lumicycle was working fine and the only worries I had was my taillight which is in dire need of new batteries. I wasn't very comfortable when I was riding on the bigger roads but I guess I still have enough reflective patches on my clothing to draw attention. I was wondering when I was climbing a pitch black road in Bossut if it wouldn't be a good idea to have a backup system. Perhaps I need to take the Lupine Tesla system with me . It doesn't weight much more than a GSM and the LED lighthead fits nicely on my helmet. After all, it's the sixth winter for my trusty Lumicycle HID and I wouldn't be surprised if it reached its End Of Life one of these nights.
    Oh, I just discovered this nice website by Jeff Kerkove, Endurance Mountain Bike Athlete, whilst looking for pics of the 2009 Magura Durin SL fork I plan to put on my Moots. This would yield me a 300g weight loss at the front end. The Moots' Fox RLT80 will be transferred to my Litespeed whose 2001 SID SL fork has reached its EOL.

    Ride Stats: 53K and 475/440 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 2h30mins

    9436/90760

    28-11-2008, 23:27 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    27-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Karma
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    This morning I hit a cat. It was crossing the Leuven ringway at full speed at the exact moment when I arrived there, doing 70kph and having no way to avoid it. I felt the slightest of bumps and when I looked into my rear view mirror I could see it twitching and crawling on the abandoned street. I can only hope that I hit it hard enough so that it didn't suffer too much. The visual image of that poor animal stood by me the whole day long.
    Since I have a cat as well I am more concerned than the average person it seems. At work I mentioned I hit a cat to a few people but nobody seemed to take much notice. It was as if nothing had happened. They reacted the same when I told them almost 5 years ago that our cat had diabetes and that we could only save it by giving it two adrenalin shots every day.
    'Oh my' , 'will you really do that' , 'it's only a cat, why bother' , where some of the nicer reactions I got. They just don't care. Some of them really pissed me off and I made sure that they noticed I was mad at them. They are to me lesser people and will remain so for the rest of our professional dealings together.

    So this evening I was looking to do some penance. I will be extra friendly to our Rambo for starters. Yes, he is still alive, thanks to us wanting to give him two adrenalin shots a day. He is hitting 14 years now, diabetes and all.

    When I left home it was raining very slightly but when I reached Hamme Mille the rain subsided. There was a strong westerly wind blowing in my back when I looped over Nodebais towards Beauvechain, Opvelp and Neervelp. Having reached Neervelp I made for Bierbeek when it started to rain again. The streets were getting wetter by the minute and the wind - which was now blowing from the left side - didn't make things any better. My rear fender was not sufficiently big to stop my backpack and lower back from getting wet. When I looped towards Haasrode the rain subsided a bit but I had wet streets until I was home. Good, some penance to clear the bad karma I accumulated this morning. And now our Rambo is in for an extra treat.

    Ride Stats : 30.5K and 260/256 heightmeters in 1h23mins

    9383/90285

    27-11-2008, 18:13 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    26-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Belgium Dry
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    I just had to take advantage of the calm and dry weather today. So I left early at work and got on my way for a 2-hour ride taking me on a big loop over Hamme Mille , Nethen, Pecrot and Ottenburg towards Wavre and Tombeek. There I took the Bergstraat towards Maleizen and then took to the right to loop back over Terlanen and Sint Joris Weert . The weather was great with an average temp of 6 degrees C and no wind to speak of. I had mounted a little fender over the back wheel of my Hilset but the roads were almost completely dry. I incorporated a few climbs to make it spicy and was very happy with todays' ride. The last 45 minutes I needed my light so I guess this officially qualifies as another nightride. I'm getting more and more used to the Marathon Supremes. They are less comfortable than the Racing Ralphs with their 2.0 section but they roll a lot better. I run them at 2.5 bar which seems to suit them fine.

    Ride Stats : 46.5K and 350/409 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 2h22mins

    9353/90025

    26-11-2008, 18:37 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    25-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.rollers incorporated
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Another evening I preferred to ride on the rollers. The roads have been sprayed with salt these last few days and now that the snow is gone and the freezing temps will dry out the roads, I'm guessing it will be a lot better from tomorrow on. So tonight I settled for an indoor ride, reading a book and listening to some music.

    Ride Stats : 31.5K in 1h15mins

    8943/87915

    25-11-2008, 19:15 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    23-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Riding the perimeter - again
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    This morning saw a dry intermezzo between yesterdays snow flurries and the heavy snow predicted for later in the day. So I took advantage of this to ride into Meerdael Forest. The forest trails were wet and muddy after yesterdays snow and tonight freezing temperatures were not low enough to stiffen up the mud. I had mounted my WTB Weirwolf tyres - a very good tyre in wet conditions - but I should have mounted my fenders. I set out along the perimeter of the forest again, adding some singletrails were conditions were marginally better because they had not been mashed by other tyres - be they car, bike or motorcycle - and I had to watch out because the leaves were hiding all kinds of traps beneath them. I stopped for a couple of pictures near Mollendaal and also at the forests' biggest tree, the 'Dikken Eik' which loosely translates as Fat Oak.
    DSC00599 DSC00601 DSC00602 DSC00603
    Several times I needed lighning reflexes and good tyre to keep me from falling off. There was some snow here and there and near the end of my ride it began to snow again. Snow that would become more intense over the next couple of hours .

    Ride Stats : 26.5K and 360/305 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 1h42mins

    9275/89675

    23-11-2008, 18:57 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    22-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.More Rollers
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Well, they weren't wrong with the weather forecast. It was snowing in flurries this morning and it seems to that this will be the case the whole day long. So I quickly settled for an hour on the rollers. I am still reading the fascinating book Frank Vandenbroucke wrote. During the unfolding of his history I begin to understand why I was always a fan of his. He was very unconventional, arrogant and never followed the crowd. When everyone rode in a red Ferrari, he bought a yellow one, and he had a yellow Lamborghini long before Mr. Boonen copied him when he got his Murcielago. The book looks to be written very honestly. How he won everything when he was young, how he was always predicting where and when he would strike in his glory years, and how he made those predictions come true. But then the troubles begin when he meets Philippe Gaumont and gets addicted to Stilnoct. From there onwards things first look great - he wins La Doyenne in a majestic way - but then quickly he is questioned by the French police because he was involved with Dr. "Mabuse" Sainz and because he was at the wrong place at the wrong time - at Phillipe Gaumonts' home when the Gendarmerie raided the place. Truely fascinating stuff and a good insight into the ways of the peloton. I'm really looking forward to reading more about this.
    The hour passed quickly and I didn't even notice Candice Night singing softly in my ears about Paris Nights. Next up is a good crash into my fauteuil for the Hasselt cyclocross. I don't envy the racers having to battle it out in the current dire weather conditions.

    Ride Stats : 27K in 1h10mins

    9248/89315

    22-11-2008, 14:35 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    21-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Rollers again
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    During the day the wind turned from west to north and it got 5 degrees colder. Alson there were gusts and showers with hail and cold rain. So the sensible thing was to stay indoors and sweat a little on the rollers. Another chapter read, another CD listened to and 26K further down the road. The forecast for this weekend calls for snow and wind, so the chances of riding out are very slim.

    Ride Stats : 26K in 1h06mins

    9221/89315

    21-11-2008, 18:53 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    20-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Schwalbe Marathon Supreme
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Again the weather was wet and windy but when I arrived home it looked stable enough to risk an hour or two outside. SO I got on my bike and rode out. The wind was fierce but it was rather warm with 10 degrees average. I was trying out my new onroad tyres, Schwalbes Marathon Supremes in 2.0 version. They roll very easily and the reduced contact patch also makes for less spray than my Racing Ralphs. The slightly less diameter makes for a little decrease in comfort but they didn't pose too much problems with 3 bars in them. If need be I can go as low as 2.5 bars but I got a good feeling in corners with the present tension in them so I will leave them a t 3 bars for a while. The profile and the type of rubber used allow fast cornering speeds , even in wet conditions. I got a confident feeling from the tyres in the corners . With a little under 2 hours I got a good ride in. The clouds were menacing for a while but the streets dried out when I arrived near Sint Agatha Rode and they remained dry for the rest of the loop. Only the wind was a bit bothersome during the first 20K or so when I looped towards Heverlee, Egenhoven and Leefdaal. After Leefdaal I got the wind more or less in my back which made for a welcome change during the rest of the loop, which took me towards Pecrot and Nethen and further to Les Claines and then back home via an extra loop over Haasrode.

    Ride Stats : 42K and 320/331 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 1h53mins

    9195/59315


    20-11-2008, 18:58 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    19-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.VDB
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Damn, I was looking to ride outside today , trying out my new Schwalbe Marathon Supremes.. but it was wet and a light rain fell when I arrived home. So I wasn't keen of going out in the dark in those conditions. I also received a Lupine Tesla 4 helmet light I am eager to put to the test as well.. soon.. soon.
    So today I settled for an MP3 enhanced recovery ride on the rollers. I continued my read of Frank Vandenbrouckes' life story. It is aptly titled 'Ik ben God niet'  - I am not God .It is obvious from the first pages he is cut out to be a winner. Very high ambition, no regard for others, highly talented but also with a frail body and a lagging left leg. Quite an interesting read.



    Ride Stats : 26.5K in 1h05mins

    9153/88995

    19-11-2008, 20:10 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    17-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Secret Voyage
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Didn't want to ride today but settled for an hour on the rollers to finish reading 2010 Odyssey 2 by Arthur C.Clarke (for the umpteenth time) and get a chance to listen to the new Blackmore's Night  album - Secret Voyage. This is another great marriage between Ritchie Blackmore's sublime guitar skills and Candice Nights' elfin voice. I just love their work. I already knew Richie from Deep Purple and Rainbow but it looks like he added another dimension to his music when he met Candice. Seems they tied the marital knot not long ago as well.. so the lyrics of "Locked Within The Crystal Ball" surely get an extra dimension.

    Here In the Spotlight, This Moment Is Ours..
    No One Can Stop Us, We're One With The Stars

    Well, if they continue to produce such marvelous music, I won't stop them. If you have the chance , check out their music. Even the hardiest Deep Purple fan might enjoy Richie's current work.
    As for me, I completed my book and had a relaxing ride.

    Ride Stats : 26K in 1h05mins

    9126/88995

    17-11-2008, 20:09 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    16-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.scale of rain
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    The forecast called for cloudy skies but mostly dry weather. Yeah, right. When I started out around 11am there already was a slight drizzle falling - scale 2 on a rain-scale of 10, scale 1 being mist - but after a couple of K's things proceeded to the next level. A good steady drizzle and with the streets now becoming exceedingly wetter I halted to get into my Gore-Tex raincoat and pull the raincover over my backpack. Not long afterwards things moved into the "light steady rain" degree . This was going about as high on the precipitation scale as I will tolerate. Even though my raincoat kept me nicely warm and cosy, it was the wash of the splattering water my tyres launched upwards that began to make my buttocks, lower legs and feet feel wetter than what I assess as 'comfortable'. So I looped back a bit sooner than I had intended and just before arriving home the rain moved up another notch.

    Ride Stats : 21.5K and 120/161 heightmeters in 59minutes

    9100/88995

    16-11-2008, 00:00 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (2)

    15-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Ludo sort of
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    I took the Big Bad Wolf out today for a ride that was centered more or less around the Ludo Dierckxens trail. I started out over Hamme Mille and then back to Beauvechain and La Bruyere, from there I rode towards Happeau and further onwards until I reached Chaumont. Here I left the LD trail to cut short towards Bonlez and Grez Doiceau. A quick climb into Bossut and I was back in Hamme Mille and almost home. Weather was dry but gray and the backroads were still a bit wet . Had to hurry home because I had to work this afternoon as well.

    Ride Stats : 54k and 410/514 heightmeters in 2h32mins

    9079/88875

    15-11-2008, 13:22 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    13-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.At last
    When I checked my bike out before leaving it turned out that my rear tyre was flat.. oh well, I replaced it before I took off and this time I wanted to do a longer ride than yesterday. And I did. I saw the full moon rising over the fields and took a picture before it got too dark.
    DSC00593
    The legs felt good and I made a mental reminder to get my winter gloves out because near the end of the ride I began to feel the cold biting at my fingers. A solid 2 hour nightride and I'm glad I didn't have another flat or other issue.

    Ride Stats : 50K and 330/388 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 2h10mins

    9024.5/88465

    13-11-2008, 20:07 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    12-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Flat - again
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Left for an easy road ride around dusk. Not far into the ride I felt that wobbly feeling again coming from my back tyre.. damn, not again ! Oh yes, another flat. I examined the outer tyre and this time I found a little chard of glass embedded into it.. just sticking out long enough to be able to puncture the inner tyre when this squeezed against the outer. I memded the inner again , put in some air and was on my way. But because the rim is a tubeless xtr, the outer tyre didn't 'settle' in well, leaving it to feel as if it had a bump in it. This in turn made it harder to get a good pedalling rhythm and I decided to cut the loop a little shorter than I had imagined. When I got home I immediately ordered two new outer tyres. My Racing Ralphs are worn to the thread and have become very soft . I think this must be the 6th year I have been using them. I ordered two Schwalbe Marathon Supreme 2.0x26 tyres at Chain Reaction Cycles. In view of the biking I do with this bike, I believe they are more suited than the new Racing Ralphs anyway. And they have inbuild flat protection which is always a plus, especially on evening rides. After all, mending a flat in the dark is not the easiest of things, even in the light of a 40W bulb.

    Ride Stats : 31K and 220/246 heightmeters in 1h23mins

    8974/88135

    12-11-2008, 20:38 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    11-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Windy intermezzo with 2 flats
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    Very stormy weather last night with lots of rain and heavy wind gusts. This morning I couldn't be coaxed to go offroad, not did I want to really with all the mud and debris that was sure to make the going very tough. Instead I settled on what I hoped to be a long slow distance ride along the Red BLOSO route that starts in Heverlee and loops over Sint Joris Weert, Sint Agatha Rode, Terlanen, Neerijse and back over Egenhoven to Heverlee. The wind was still fierce and I was taking it easy, not wanting to burn to much calories. In Ottenburg I saw the participants of the yearly organised ride enter , their bikes a very muddy brown and their clothing  painted along the same lines. For the 3rd year in succession the organisers of this fine ride have not been blessed by good weather. Either it rained heavily on the 11th itself, or, like this year, it rained heavily the night before turning the parcours into a difficult succession of climbs and mudpatches. A bit further, whilst tackling the Keyberg, disaster struck for me. I felt my rear tyre lose air and had to switch tyres. I had a suspicious inner tyre with me that I mounted instead of the punctured one, and 10 minutes later I was back on my way. Not for long because during the fast descent of the Smeysberg I could already feel that the tyre was not holding air properly. I tried to inflate it a bit more but upon exiting Neerijse I had to change tyres again. I looked for, and found, the hole in my first inner tyre and after fixing that I could finish my ride without any more troubles.

    Ride Stats : 51.5K and 495/468 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 2h20mins

    8943/87915

    11-11-2008, 14:57 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    09-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Perimeter ride
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen I had rained quite a lot last night - as I was about to find out. I had slept like a log and didn't even hear the rain nor wind last night. I decided on a simple perimeter ride, which means that I follow the edges of Meerdael Forest , Kouterbos and Heverlee Bos as close as possible. I deciced quickly to avoid the smaller tracks as much as possible because they were swamped and very wet. Instead I concentrated on the bigger tracks, which was also not a bad idea in view of my muscle tiredness from yesterdays' ride. I let out a bit of pressure from my tyres, partly because they felt too hard yesterday and partly to have more grip today. My legs didn't feel too bad but I didn't ride very fast and stayed off of the big ring. Near Nethen I couldn't but take some steepish hills but I managed them all very well.

    Ride Stats : 33K and 320/358 heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 2h04mins
    Ride Map :
    Meerdael Perimeter

    8892/87420

    09-11-2008, 18:31 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    08-11-2008
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Autumn galore
    Klik op de afbeelding om de link te volgen
    The weather has been quiet these last days. Not a lot of wind and so the leaves are not falling as quickly as during other years. This means that the dying leaves give the trees very beautiful colors. Today I set out for a long offroad ride. I took off towards Heverleebos first and then looped around Oud-Heverlee towards Korbeek Dyle where I first met the river Dyle. I stopped frequently to take some pictures. I wanted to go more or less into the direction of Ottenburg so I chose my trails accordingly. My GPS gave me the opportunity to check out some unknown roads without fear of getting lost. On one occasion - just west of Loonbeek I had to loop back because the road ended all of a sudden into a field. The trails were heavy with some mud in the lower areas but with good traction everywhere. My grippy green Michelin front tyre saved me from washing out on more than one occasion. I headed for the Smeysberg region next, and then made my way through the beautiful Lane valley and into the Rode Bos.
    DSC00562 DSC00563 DSC00566 DSC00567 DSC00568 DSC00569 DSC00571 DSC00572 DSC00573 DSC00576 DSC00577 DSC00578 DSC00579 DSC00580 DSC00581 DSC00582 DSC00584 DSC00585 DSC00586
    When I finally reached Ottenburg I followed the Overijse BLOSO trails for a while, intermittently adding some extra sections. I dropped down towards Gastuche where I found the road next to the railroad to be blocked by road works. Bummer but no problem, I decided to add a bit of Accro Bike region to my ride and set towards the outskirts of Wavre and looped over Dion Valmont. I then followed a bit of the 2008 MX marathon track up to the N25 again and through a singletrack descending back towards Dion Valmont. I then followed the last kilometers of the Accro Bike towards Grez Doiceau. All the time obviously the climbs and descents were following each other mercilessly and I wasn't surprised I had quite a lot of heightmeters at the end. From Grez I headed towards Archennes where a steep climb took me up the Bossut plateau. I then headed for Les Claines and into the Meerdael Forest. The trails here were completely covered with leaves, making it very tricky in the descents because you didn't see what was lurking beneath the multicolored tapestry. I didn't look for any more challenges - my stamina was seriously waning at this point and settled for a straight path through the forest and back home.
    I hope the pictures I took  bring a bit of autumn to all those who didn't have the chance to go out today. I provide a map so you are able to follow my tracks.

    On a bike note, I am less and less pleased with the behaviour of my 2001 SID SL. It performs harsh and leaves with me with sore arms and neck. I have had it serviced a while back but that didn't improve it a lot. Furthermore its sloppy stiffness bothers me more and more - as compared to my other bikes that have much stiffer forks .  To top it off, the fork arms are starting to wear out and are scratched. I think I will have to dig into my pocket for a new fork. At this point I think I will get my Moots YBB a 2009 SID WC and transfer the Moots' Fox RLT80 to my Litespeed. This because the 2009 SID WC range doesn't come with v-brake studs. The Moots will lose a few 100 grams and the Litespeed will gain a few, but will also gain some stability because of the stiffer fork.

    Ride Stats : 65K and 840/858  heightmeters (Polar/Garmin) in 3h59mins
    Ride Map:
    081108


    8859/87100 

    08-11-2008, 23:24 geschreven door Big Bad Wolf

    Reageer (0)

    Foto

    Gastenboek./.Guestbook

    Druk op onderstaande knop om een berichtje achter te laten in mijn Gastenboek. / Press the button below to write in my Guestbook.


    Foto

    Blog als favoriet !


    Foto

    Email Me

    Press the button to send me a mail






    Archief per week
  • 31/08-06/09 2020
  • 20/04-26/04 2020
  • 29/10-04/11 2018
  • 22/10-28/10 2018
  • 24/09-30/09 2018
  • 03/09-09/09 2018
  • 27/08-02/09 2018
  • 13/08-19/08 2018
  • 30/07-05/08 2018
  • 23/07-29/07 2018
  • 16/07-22/07 2018
  • 09/07-15/07 2018
  • 14/05-20/05 2018
  • 07/05-13/05 2018
  • 30/04-06/05 2018
  • 23/04-29/04 2018
  • 16/04-22/04 2018
  • 09/04-15/04 2018
  • 02/04-08/04 2018
  • 26/03-01/04 2018
  • 12/03-18/03 2018
  • 05/03-11/03 2018
  • 26/02-04/03 2018
  • 19/02-25/02 2018
  • 12/02-18/02 2018
  • 05/02-11/02 2018
  • 29/01-04/02 2018
  • 22/01-28/01 2018
  • 01/01-07/01 2018
  • 04/12-10/12 2017
  • 27/11-03/12 2017
  • 06/11-12/11 2017
  • 25/09-01/10 2017
  • 18/09-24/09 2017
  • 11/09-17/09 2017
  • 28/08-03/09 2017
  • 21/08-27/08 2017
  • 07/08-13/08 2017
  • 31/07-06/08 2017
  • 24/07-30/07 2017
  • 17/07-23/07 2017
  • 10/07-16/07 2017
  • 03/07-09/07 2017
  • 29/05-04/06 2017
  • 22/05-28/05 2017
  • 15/05-21/05 2017
  • 01/05-07/05 2017
  • 24/04-30/04 2017
  • 17/04-23/04 2017
  • 10/04-16/04 2017
  • 03/04-09/04 2017
  • 27/03-02/04 2017
  • 20/03-26/03 2017
  • 13/03-19/03 2017
  • 06/03-12/03 2017
  • 27/02-05/03 2017
  • 20/02-26/02 2017
  • 13/02-19/02 2017
  • 06/02-12/02 2017
  • 30/01-05/02 2017
  • 23/01-29/01 2017
  • 16/01-22/01 2017
  • 09/01-15/01 2017
  • 19/12-25/12 2016
  • 12/12-18/12 2016
  • 05/12-11/12 2016
  • 28/11-04/12 2016
  • 21/11-27/11 2016
  • 14/11-20/11 2016
  • 07/11-13/11 2016
  • 31/10-06/11 2016
  • 24/10-30/10 2016
  • 10/10-16/10 2016
  • 03/10-09/10 2016
  • 26/09-02/10 2016
  • 19/09-25/09 2016
  • 05/09-11/09 2016
  • 29/08-04/09 2016
  • 22/08-28/08 2016
  • 15/08-21/08 2016
  • 08/08-14/08 2016
  • 01/08-07/08 2016
  • 25/07-31/07 2016
  • 18/07-24/07 2016
  • 11/07-17/07 2016
  • 04/07-10/07 2016
  • 27/06-03/07 2016
  • 13/06-19/06 2016
  • 06/06-12/06 2016
  • 30/05-05/06 2016
  • 23/05-29/05 2016
  • 09/05-15/05 2016
  • 02/05-08/05 2016
  • 25/04-01/05 2016
  • 18/04-24/04 2016
  • 11/04-17/04 2016
  • 04/04-10/04 2016
  • 28/03-03/04 2016
  • 14/03-20/03 2016
  • 07/03-13/03 2016
  • 29/02-06/03 2016
  • 22/02-28/02 2016
  • 15/02-21/02 2016
  • 08/02-14/02 2016
  • 01/02-07/02 2016
  • 25/01-31/01 2016
  • 18/01-24/01 2016
  • 11/01-17/01 2016
  • 04/01-10/01 2016
  • 28/12-03/01 2021
  • 21/12-27/12 2015
  • 14/12-20/12 2015
  • 07/12-13/12 2015
  • 30/11-06/12 2015
  • 23/11-29/11 2015
  • 16/11-22/11 2015
  • 19/10-25/10 2015
  • 12/10-18/10 2015
  • 05/10-11/10 2015
  • 28/09-04/10 2015
  • 21/09-27/09 2015
  • 14/09-20/09 2015
  • 07/09-13/09 2015
  • 31/08-06/09 2015
  • 24/08-30/08 2015
  • 17/08-23/08 2015
  • 10/08-16/08 2015
  • 03/08-09/08 2015
  • 27/07-02/08 2015
  • 20/07-26/07 2015
  • 13/07-19/07 2015
  • 06/07-12/07 2015
  • 29/06-05/07 2015
  • 22/06-28/06 2015
  • 15/06-21/06 2015
  • 08/06-14/06 2015
  • 01/06-07/06 2015
  • 25/05-31/05 2015
  • 18/05-24/05 2015
  • 11/05-17/05 2015
  • 04/05-10/05 2015
  • 27/04-03/05 2015
  • 20/04-26/04 2015
  • 13/04-19/04 2015
  • 06/04-12/04 2015
  • 30/03-05/04 2015
  • 23/03-29/03 2015
  • 16/03-22/03 2015
  • 09/03-15/03 2015
  • 02/03-08/03 2015
  • 23/02-01/03 2015
  • 16/02-22/02 2015
  • 09/02-15/02 2015
  • 02/02-08/02 2015
  • 26/01-01/02 2015
  • 19/01-25/01 2015
  • 12/01-18/01 2015
  • 08/12-14/12 2014
  • 01/12-07/12 2014
  • 24/11-30/11 2014
  • 17/11-23/11 2014
  • 10/11-16/11 2014
  • 03/11-09/11 2014
  • 27/10-02/11 2014
  • 20/10-26/10 2014
  • 06/10-12/10 2014
  • 29/09-05/10 2014
  • 22/09-28/09 2014
  • 15/09-21/09 2014
  • 08/09-14/09 2014
  • 01/09-07/09 2014
  • 25/08-31/08 2014
  • 18/08-24/08 2014
  • 11/08-17/08 2014
  • 04/08-10/08 2014
  • 21/07-27/07 2014
  • 14/07-20/07 2014
  • 07/07-13/07 2014
  • 30/06-06/07 2014
  • 02/06-08/06 2014
  • 26/05-01/06 2014
  • 19/05-25/05 2014
  • 12/05-18/05 2014
  • 05/05-11/05 2014
  • 28/04-04/05 2014
  • 21/04-27/04 2014
  • 14/04-20/04 2014
  • 07/04-13/04 2014
  • 31/03-06/04 2014
  • 24/03-30/03 2014
  • 17/03-23/03 2014
  • 10/03-16/03 2014
  • 03/03-09/03 2014
  • 24/02-02/03 2014
  • 17/02-23/02 2014
  • 10/02-16/02 2014
  • 03/02-09/02 2014
  • 27/01-02/02 2014
  • 20/01-26/01 2014
  • 13/01-19/01 2014
  • 06/01-12/01 2014
  • 30/12-05/01 2014
  • 23/12-29/12 2013
  • 16/12-22/12 2013
  • 09/12-15/12 2013
  • 18/11-24/11 2013
  • 11/11-17/11 2013
  • 04/11-10/11 2013
  • 28/10-03/11 2013
  • 21/10-27/10 2013
  • 14/10-20/10 2013
  • 07/10-13/10 2013
  • 30/09-06/10 2013
  • 23/09-29/09 2013
  • 16/09-22/09 2013
  • 09/09-15/09 2013
  • 02/09-08/09 2013
  • 19/08-25/08 2013
  • 12/08-18/08 2013
  • 05/08-11/08 2013
  • 29/07-04/08 2013
  • 22/07-28/07 2013
  • 15/07-21/07 2013
  • 08/07-14/07 2013
  • 01/07-07/07 2013
  • 24/06-30/06 2013
  • 17/06-23/06 2013
  • 10/06-16/06 2013
  • 03/06-09/06 2013
  • 27/05-02/06 2013
  • 20/05-26/05 2013
  • 13/05-19/05 2013
  • 06/05-12/05 2013
  • 29/04-05/05 2013
  • 22/04-28/04 2013
  • 15/04-21/04 2013
  • 08/04-14/04 2013
  • 01/04-07/04 2013
  • 25/03-31/03 2013
  • 11/03-17/03 2013
  • 04/03-10/03 2013
  • 25/02-03/03 2013
  • 18/02-24/02 2013
  • 11/02-17/02 2013
  • 04/02-10/02 2013
  • 28/01-03/02 2013
  • 21/01-27/01 2013
  • 14/01-20/01 2013
  • 07/01-13/01 2013
  • 31/12-06/01 2013
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 17/12-23/12 2012
  • 10/12-16/12 2012
  • 03/12-09/12 2012
  • 26/11-02/12 2012
  • 19/11-25/11 2012
  • 22/10-28/10 2012
  • 15/10-21/10 2012
  • 01/10-07/10 2012
  • 24/09-30/09 2012
  • 17/09-23/09 2012
  • 10/09-16/09 2012
  • 03/09-09/09 2012
  • 27/08-02/09 2012
  • 20/08-26/08 2012
  • 13/08-19/08 2012
  • 06/08-12/08 2012
  • 30/07-05/08 2012
  • 23/07-29/07 2012
  • 16/07-22/07 2012
  • 09/07-15/07 2012
  • 02/07-08/07 2012
  • 25/06-01/07 2012
  • 18/06-24/06 2012
  • 11/06-17/06 2012
  • 04/06-10/06 2012
  • 28/05-03/06 2012
  • 21/05-27/05 2012
  • 14/05-20/05 2012
  • 07/05-13/05 2012
  • 30/04-06/05 2012
  • 23/04-29/04 2012
  • 16/04-22/04 2012
  • 09/04-15/04 2012
  • 02/04-08/04 2012
  • 26/03-01/04 2012
  • 19/03-25/03 2012
  • 12/03-18/03 2012
  • 05/03-11/03 2012
  • 27/02-04/03 2012
  • 20/02-26/02 2012
  • 13/02-19/02 2012
  • 06/02-12/02 2012
  • 30/01-05/02 2012
  • 23/01-29/01 2012
  • 16/01-22/01 2012
  • 09/01-15/01 2012
  • 02/01-08/01 2012
  • 24/12-30/12 2012
  • 19/12-25/12 2011
  • 12/12-18/12 2011
  • 05/12-11/12 2011
  • 28/11-04/12 2011
  • 21/11-27/11 2011
  • 14/11-20/11 2011
  • 07/11-13/11 2011
  • 31/10-06/11 2011
  • 24/10-30/10 2011
  • 17/10-23/10 2011
  • 10/10-16/10 2011
  • 03/10-09/10 2011
  • 26/09-02/10 2011
  • 19/09-25/09 2011
  • 12/09-18/09 2011
  • 05/09-11/09 2011
  • 29/08-04/09 2011
  • 22/08-28/08 2011
  • 15/08-21/08 2011
  • 08/08-14/08 2011
  • 01/08-07/08 2011
  • 25/07-31/07 2011
  • 18/07-24/07 2011
  • 11/07-17/07 2011
  • 04/07-10/07 2011
  • 27/06-03/07 2011
  • 20/06-26/06 2011
  • 13/06-19/06 2011
  • 06/06-12/06 2011
  • 30/05-05/06 2011
  • 23/05-29/05 2011
  • 16/05-22/05 2011
  • 09/05-15/05 2011
  • 02/05-08/05 2011
  • 25/04-01/05 2011
  • 18/04-24/04 2011
  • 11/04-17/04 2011
  • 04/04-10/04 2011
  • 28/03-03/04 2011
  • 21/03-27/03 2011
  • 14/03-20/03 2011
  • 07/03-13/03 2011
  • 21/02-27/02 2011
  • 14/02-20/02 2011
  • 07/02-13/02 2011
  • 17/01-23/01 2011
  • 26/12-01/01 2012
  • 20/12-26/12 2010
  • 13/12-19/12 2010
  • 06/12-12/12 2010
  • 29/11-05/12 2010
  • 22/11-28/11 2010
  • 15/11-21/11 2010
  • 08/11-14/11 2010
  • 01/11-07/11 2010
  • 25/10-31/10 2010
  • 18/10-24/10 2010
  • 11/10-17/10 2010
  • 04/10-10/10 2010
  • 27/09-03/10 2010
  • 20/09-26/09 2010
  • 06/09-12/09 2010
  • 30/08-05/09 2010
  • 23/08-29/08 2010
  • 16/08-22/08 2010
  • 09/08-15/08 2010
  • 02/08-08/08 2010
  • 26/07-01/08 2010
  • 19/07-25/07 2010
  • 12/07-18/07 2010
  • 05/07-11/07 2010
  • 28/06-04/07 2010
  • 21/06-27/06 2010
  • 14/06-20/06 2010
  • 07/06-13/06 2010
  • 31/05-06/06 2010
  • 24/05-30/05 2010
  • 17/05-23/05 2010
  • 10/05-16/05 2010
  • 03/05-09/05 2010
  • 26/04-02/05 2010
  • 19/04-25/04 2010
  • 12/04-18/04 2010
  • 05/04-11/04 2010
  • 29/03-04/04 2010
  • 22/03-28/03 2010
  • 15/03-21/03 2010
  • 08/03-14/03 2010
  • 01/03-07/03 2010
  • 22/02-28/02 2010
  • 15/02-21/02 2010
  • 08/02-14/02 2010
  • 01/02-07/02 2010
  • 25/01-31/01 2010
  • 18/01-24/01 2010
  • 11/01-17/01 2010
  • 04/01-10/01 2010
  • 28/12-03/01 2016
  • 21/12-27/12 2009
  • 14/12-20/12 2009
  • 07/12-13/12 2009
  • 30/11-06/12 2009
  • 23/11-29/11 2009
  • 16/11-22/11 2009
  • 09/11-15/11 2009
  • 26/10-01/11 2009
  • 19/10-25/10 2009
  • 12/10-18/10 2009
  • 05/10-11/10 2009
  • 28/09-04/10 2009
  • 21/09-27/09 2009
  • 14/09-20/09 2009
  • 07/09-13/09 2009
  • 31/08-06/09 2009
  • 24/08-30/08 2009
  • 17/08-23/08 2009
  • 10/08-16/08 2009
  • 03/08-09/08 2009
  • 27/07-02/08 2009
  • 20/07-26/07 2009
  • 13/07-19/07 2009
  • 06/07-12/07 2009
  • 29/06-05/07 2009
  • 22/06-28/06 2009
  • 15/06-21/06 2009
  • 08/06-14/06 2009
  • 01/06-07/06 2009
  • 25/05-31/05 2009
  • 18/05-24/05 2009
  • 11/05-17/05 2009
  • 04/05-10/05 2009
  • 27/04-03/05 2009
  • 20/04-26/04 2009
  • 13/04-19/04 2009
  • 06/04-12/04 2009
  • 30/03-05/04 2009
  • 23/03-29/03 2009
  • 16/03-22/03 2009
  • 09/03-15/03 2009
  • 02/03-08/03 2009
  • 23/02-01/03 2009
  • 16/02-22/02 2009
  • 09/02-15/02 2009
  • 02/02-08/02 2009
  • 26/01-01/02 2009
  • 19/01-25/01 2009
  • 12/01-18/01 2009
  • 05/01-11/01 2009
  • 29/12-04/01 2009
  • 22/12-28/12 2008
  • 15/12-21/12 2008
  • 08/12-14/12 2008
  • 01/12-07/12 2008
  • 24/11-30/11 2008
  • 17/11-23/11 2008
  • 10/11-16/11 2008
  • 03/11-09/11 2008
  • 27/10-02/11 2008
  • 20/10-26/10 2008
  • 13/10-19/10 2008
  • 06/10-12/10 2008
  • 29/09-05/10 2008
  • 22/09-28/09 2008
  • 15/09-21/09 2008
  • 08/09-14/09 2008
  • 01/09-07/09 2008
  • 25/08-31/08 2008
  • 18/08-24/08 2008
  • 11/08-17/08 2008
  • 04/08-10/08 2008
  • 28/07-03/08 2008
  • 21/07-27/07 2008
  • 14/07-20/07 2008
  • 07/07-13/07 2008
  • 30/06-06/07 2008
  • 23/06-29/06 2008
  • 16/06-22/06 2008
  • 09/06-15/06 2008
  • 02/06-08/06 2008
  • 26/05-01/06 2008
  • 19/05-25/05 2008
  • 12/05-18/05 2008
  • 05/05-11/05 2008
  • 28/04-04/05 2008
  • 21/04-27/04 2008
  • 14/04-20/04 2008
  • 07/04-13/04 2008
  • 31/03-06/04 2008
  • 24/03-30/03 2008
  • 17/03-23/03 2008
  • 10/03-16/03 2008
  • 03/03-09/03 2008
  • 25/02-02/03 2008
  • 18/02-24/02 2008
  • 11/02-17/02 2008
  • 04/02-10/02 2008
  • 28/01-03/02 2008
  • 21/01-27/01 2008
  • 14/01-20/01 2008
  • 07/01-13/01 2008
  • 31/12-06/01 2008
  • 24/12-30/12 2007
  • 17/12-23/12 2007
  • 10/12-16/12 2007
  • 03/12-09/12 2007
  • 26/11-02/12 2007
  • 19/11-25/11 2007
  • 12/11-18/11 2007
  • 05/11-11/11 2007
  • 29/10-04/11 2007
  • 22/10-28/10 2007
  • 15/10-21/10 2007
  • 08/10-14/10 2007
  • 01/10-07/10 2007
  • 24/09-30/09 2007
  • 17/09-23/09 2007
  • 10/09-16/09 2007
  • 03/09-09/09 2007
  • 27/08-02/09 2007
  • 20/08-26/08 2007
  • 13/08-19/08 2007
  • 06/08-12/08 2007
  • 30/07-05/08 2007
  • 23/07-29/07 2007
  • 16/07-22/07 2007
  • 09/07-15/07 2007
  • 02/07-08/07 2007
  • 25/06-01/07 2007
  • 18/06-24/06 2007
  • 11/06-17/06 2007
  • 04/06-10/06 2007
  • 28/05-03/06 2007
  • 21/05-27/05 2007
  • 14/05-20/05 2007
  • 07/05-13/05 2007
  • 30/04-06/05 2007
  • 23/04-29/04 2007
  • 16/04-22/04 2007
  • 09/04-15/04 2007
  • 02/04-08/04 2007
  • 26/03-01/04 2007
  • 19/03-25/03 2007
  • 12/03-18/03 2007
  • 05/03-11/03 2007
  • 26/02-04/03 2007
  • 19/02-25/02 2007
  • 12/02-18/02 2007
  • 05/02-11/02 2007
  • 29/01-04/02 2007
  • 22/01-28/01 2007
  • 15/01-21/01 2007
  • 08/01-14/01 2007
  • 01/01-07/01 2007
  • 25/12-31/12 2006
  • 18/12-24/12 2006
  • 11/12-17/12 2006
  • 04/12-10/12 2006
  • 27/11-03/12 2006
  • 20/11-26/11 2006
  • 13/11-19/11 2006
  • 06/11-12/11 2006
  • 30/10-05/11 2006
  • 23/10-29/10 2006
  • 16/10-22/10 2006
  • 09/10-15/10 2006
  • 02/10-08/10 2006
  • 25/09-01/10 2006
  • 18/09-24/09 2006


    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs