Categorieën
  • Biography (7)
  • discography (4)
  • interviews taped (8)
  • interviews written (15)
  • Jay Boland (0)
  • Kodaline (29)
  • Live (7)
  • Lyrics (18)
  • Mark Prendergast (3)
  • Scrapbook (24)
  • Steve Garrigan (2)
  • Vinny May Jr. (0)
  • Laatste commentaren
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Foto
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    liesjetoenoverlevenlevenwerd
    www.bloggen.be/liesjet
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    chiva
    www.bloggen.be/chiva
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    kris
    www.bloggen.be/kris
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    levensmoeilijkheden
    www.bloggen.be/levensm
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    lieve
    www.bloggen.be/lieve
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    modenieuws
    www.bloggen.be/modenie
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    lieve
    www.bloggen.be/lieve
    Kodaline Fansite
    Jouw informatiebron voor Kodaline interviews, foto's, songteksten,.. allemaal op 1 site
    22-07-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.All comes down to you

    Steve: Hey, we're Kodaline and this is our track by track.
    Mark: All comes down to you.
    Steve: this, the next song is called 'all comes down to you'.
    Mark: It's the oldest song.
    Steve: it's the oldest song on the album.
    Vinny: an al timer.
    Steve: yeah, an al timer. Yeah, right there little fellah. But eum,..
    Mark: this was a song like all I want. Like the first time we played it was the way it is now. Everything
    just happened. We were all like: sometimes you just get that magic in like a room when you play
    together, every one is on the same page and it just happens. And that happened with this song and
    it's probably my favourite song to play live because it's just, every one, we really really go for it because
    it's such an emotional song. It's a great vocal on it. It's real from the heart.
    Steve: It's also, I remember when we first demo this – back to the relationship. - But I just, pretty much.
    it's partly about that and it's partly about kind off what you choose to do and everything. The chooses
    that you make, I mean, and what you wanna do in life. It all comes down to you. I mean, it's really up to
    you, but I mean, there's a funny lyric in it. It's 'I still hear the sound of that runaway train'. Runaway train
    was..
    Mark: a Tom Petty song.
    Steve: It's a Tom Petty song but do you know when you're in a relationship you have like a song? Called
    THE song. I'm sure every one has one. That was the.. That was the song of that relationship. And I hope
    I never hear it again.
    Mark: But we recorded this in our own country and we wanted a choir on because it has this huge chorus
    at the end but instead of a gospel choir because when you're in a band, it's just a little bit weird. So we just
    invited fifteen of our mates down to the studio and we had a barbecue and lot of beers. Then we went in
    and recorded the chorus section at the end.
    Steve: we put in stamps and claps.
    Mark: We had a really good night, it was kinda like a party and just recorded the vocal and then we, after
    we finished that we had a big session. It was cool. And you can kinda get that.
    Steve: it's the big choir we were trying to put on.
    Mark: it's quite joyous. It's cool.
    Vinny: it's a very powerful song. When it hits the last chorus, it's a great song. It's good live. Just like Mark's
    saying. We're putting everything into it, I figure.
    Mark: that's 'all comes down to you'.

    22-07-2013 om 12:47 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Big bad world

    Steve: hey, we're Kodaline and this is our track by track. It's a big bad world.
    Vinny: big bad world
    Mark: It's a big bad world.
    Steve: this song actually, we lived in Brighton last year.
    Vinny: For about a month.
    Steve: Only for about a month but I had my friend had an I phone and he had Garageband on the
    I phone. And I was blown away, it was the first time that I used it so I just took it and made it into
    a room. That's where 'Big bad world' came from. So it was written on an I phone.
    Mark: we actually kept the sound from the I phone, from the Garageband on the I phone. We kept it,
     brought it to this big, fancy studio and it was just that sound from the phone.
    Steve: It's cool. It's like, yeah Garageband is great, man. Ow, my phones broken! But that's another
    story.
    Mark: the first time we ever played it, we did like an acoustic version in L.A where we weren't sure
    what we were doing but it was cool. You should check it out. It's like having the right structure. but
    it started on an I phone which is cool. And now we are playing it, so.
    Steve: Yeah, it's a lot fun.
    Jay: we wanted to get more instruments. So we adapt like three of four drums. It's a big band world
    Mark: it'll be cool to get an I phone out and just play it on that.
    Steve: that's what I mean, man. (doet de sound na) But..
    Mark: that's big bad world
    Steve: it's a big bad world.


    22-07-2013 om 12:09 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.After the fall

    Steve: Hey, we're Kodaline and this is out track by track.
    Mark: After the fall. It's the sixth, track six on the album. I had this riff three years ago. We Always
    kinda said that that should get on the album so, and then we recorded it and it turned out great.
    It's probably one of those energetically live to open with on a festival. It's just the immediate crowd
    response is cool.
    Steve: it's about just kinda just feeling a little bit lost but then light and direction in life. It's a very
    energetic song. It's cool.
    Mark: actually, we opened with this on a festival the other day and Jay's bass just exploded.
    It started like..
    Jay: I was in it for like six notes.. So, really good timing.
    Vinny: we were just like wow!
    Steve: the riff was just so big
    Vinny: so big and so perfect. It's amazing so..
    Mark: we were like: guys, get back of it.
    Steve: yeah, but it's a lot of fun to play and..
    Mark: after the fall is a more hopefull song when you start playing it live. Great energy. It just gets going.
    It's a big concept. That's after the fall.

    22-07-2013 om 11:50 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Brand new day

    Steve: Hey, we are Kodaline and this is our track by track. This is a song called 'Brand new day'.
    Mark: It's a song that me and Steve wrote in my back garden. It was like summer, really nice day.
    And we just wanted to wrote a song that we kinda like, we were unsigned with no direction.
    Steve: the funny thing is: it's about leaving your home town and getting tired of your home town.
    Mark: we love our home town.
    Steve: We love out home town but it's just the same thing everyday. It's about just wanting to
    travel the world and move away and just experience new things and stuff.
    Mark: we kinda wanted a song that you can just kinda, when it's a sunny day, when the sun is out,
    chill and have a beer and puts you in the mood.
    Steve: When we recorded it, I did the vocals outside, because it was a sunny and I was trying to
    get into the real summery kind of vibe. We had a lot of fun doing it.
    Mark: We only started playing it in the last month because, we're actually getting really, really good.
    You never know what kind of song is going to react to a crowd. This ones gonna get there.
    Steve: that one is actually doing good.
    Mark: And we recorded this the same day we did pray, down in Leitrim.
    Steve: which we talk about next.
    Mark: Jason, thoughts on this one?
    Jay: I like this song.
    Mark: Here you go, 'brand new day', Jay likes it.
    Vinny: Jay likes it.
    Steve: you should listen to it.


    22-07-2013 om 11:32 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 2/5 - (2 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.High hopes

    Steve: Hey, we're Kodaline and this is our track by track. Yeah the next song on the album is
    called 'High hopes'. I remember the day that I wrote it it went up to Marks house and showed
    it to him and stuff. It's interesting, the video have five minutes on them.
    Mark: It was called roulette.
    Steve: Yeah, but it's just about, I mean, I just dropped out of college and no real direction, realy.
    No plans, and going through the break up as well. Yeah lots of stuff happened then and I was
    going through a though time and I remembered thinking that I was feeling bad. I mean, think
    Positive. Positive thinking is the most powerful thing. And then I showed it and sat down and I..
    Mark: except for a shark attack.
    Steve: Except a shark attack. Yeah, you can't take a positive shark, there just going mug, man.
    The day I wrote it, the first person I showed it to was my dad. And then he, I dropped out of college
    and I was like: 'hey, I wrote this song' and he kind of came over to me and I sat down and I played
    it and I turned around to him and he goes: 'That's cool, are you going to college tomorrow?' I was
    like.. I didn't actually tell him. He thought I was in college for a whole year but I wasn't in college.
    Mark: it's an old song so there is no chord in it but then we were trying to make it a litte hip hop and
    put a drum beat on it, jazz basically. And it brought the song to a whole new place. And that's how
    we released it, record it and we still love it. 
    Steve: Positive thinking.

    22-07-2013 om 11:06 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Love like this

    Steve: Hey, we are Kodaline and this is our track by track. The next song on the album is love
    like this. It's actually after 'all I want' was written about a relationship that failed and eum, it was
    a tough break up then this was written about kinda like, what's it called? A rebound, I supose.
    Mark: A fling.
    Steve: A fling.
    Vinny: A fling.
    Steve: but it was like one of those relationship that wasn't going anywhere but for some reason
    I didn't mind with it. It was summer as well and you know.. Yeah, I know it wasn't going 
    to last
    probably because I was still hung op on the other one of all I want but..
    Vinny: She was sharpen in.
    Mark: But it's quicker, at least now. Whenever when we stepped in off the music in Steve's sisters
    bedroom just because there's a mandoline in there. And steve's was playing the mandoline and I
    was playing guitar and this song just happened really quickly.
    Jay: We love when making the video as well, it's the first video that we were allowed to be in. Be
    part of the whole making process. It gives us a whole inside in the world.
    Mark: And Steve got slapped around.
    Jay: we got, we mixed all the slapping so we just satting back while he..
    Steve: you go slapping all the time with any one so..
    All the rest: Ssshhtt!
    Vinny: We gave them some coaching
    Jay: you want more?
    Mark: it's incredibly Irish, this song. But we are Irish so the completing process just happen like that.
    Steve: It would really be strange if we were Japanese or something.
    Mark: we love playing it live and..
    Steve: it's cool, I mean.. it's happy but it's sad. The lyrics are sad and happy. Yeah, but it's just about..
    I'm not gonna name any names but you know who you are. I was joking.

    22-07-2013 om 10:41 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.All I want

    Steve: Hey, we are Kodaline and this is our track by track. Eum, the second song of the
    album is a song called 'All I want'.
    This song was,.. I went through a break up with a
    relationship
    and I basically just wrote a song about it, exactly how I felt and every line in
    that is basically exactly what I was going through.
    It was a lot of fun to record.
    Mark: It's a lot of fun live.
    Steve: it's cool, I mean, it's such a honest song. There's an..
    Vinny: And the way that we start it. When we fist played the song in the rehearsal room
    is kinda it's kinda stayed exactly the same.
    Mark: Yeah, the first time we kinda just trying to do it, it's pretty much identical to how we
    do it now.
    Vinny: It stayed the same, what was kinda..
    Mark: That happened with like a few songs on the album, it happened with a song that's
    called 'All comes down to you' but it's
    rare when that happens but when it does happen,
    it's like, you get
    this feeling which it really cool. Everything just falls into place.
    Steve: every lyrics is basically exactly what I was doing. I was in  my room, I was on my
    own, I was alone. And actually funny enough
    I watched a film called '500 days of Summer'
    and eum, it just, I think
    anybody comes out of relationships should really watch that film
    because it's very true to life. And there's a line in it that I was kinda a
    bit took after I was
    watch that film and that's 'our love was made for
    movie screens.'
    Mark: this song, a friend of ours called Stevie Russel, he heard the song and he was came
    up with the idea from the video and he wanted,
    he got the song and just made up this whole
    story in his head and
    came to us: 'I want to make a video' and at first we were kinda stand
    off about it but then we went trough it and he did it and..
    Steve: we just really wanted a video with a story that complimented the song in a good way
    and then when he first send us his idea of this song
    I saw a picture of a monster and then it
    just read on – where the
    hell is this going? - But then we read through the script and it just
    fitted
    the song perfectly and the message was really good. The combination of the video and
    the song, we liked it, yeah.
    Mark: And that's all I want.
    Steve: That's all I want.


    22-07-2013 om 10:12 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.One day


    Steve: Hey, we're Kodaline and this is our track by track.The inspiration behind this track
    was kinda just.. It's really strange because this song wasn't originally supposed to be on
    the album. We recorded the album and then, eum,
    I kinda, I wrote it during the process
    of recording the album and it ended up being on the album but it's kinda like.. It's just like
    not taking life to seriously.
    Mark: Recording 'one day' was cool because it just completely,.. We played it live. We
    did it in Rock A Field and it was one of the last songs we did and I was like: we weren't
    really sure what we were doing but the song was there. But we weren't sure we were
    playing it until we went in the studio and did two takes and our producer Steve Harris was
    like: 'That's it, you don't have to do any more.' It was quick to record, it was very quick to
    record. We recorded it in half a day. Shorter, it was like we did it and that was it. And it
    was done and we really liked the track. so we got it. And it's a good way to open the album.
    And that's one day.


    22-07-2013 om 02:00 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 0/5 - (0 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Scrapbook
    21-07-2013
    Klik hier om een link te hebben waarmee u dit artikel later terug kunt lezen.Kodaline Biografie


    Kodaline is:
    Steve Garrigan
    Mark Prendergast
    Vinny May Jr.
    Jay Boland


    Bio:

    Steve and Mark met each other in the church coir at the age of 8, in their hometown Swords. They were the only two boys within the choir and joke around in interviews that it was their way to flirt with girls. a few years later, at the age of 14, they met Vinny. The spend their youth by making music, skating in the local skate park and hanging around in each others homes.

    Steve, Mark and Vinny formed two music groups together. 'Radar love' and '21 demands'. As '21 demands' they participated in the Irish talent show 'You're a star' in 2006. They stranded on a second place but their single' Give me a minute' went up to number one in the Irish charts. Because they weren't signed by any record label when that happened, they where the first band in Ireland who produced and spread their single all by theirselves.

    A few weeks later they got an offer for a record deal but they refused. They stated that they 'just weren't ready' and their single 'wasn't good enough and missed some heart and soul'. Somebody asked Steve, Mark and Vinny if the would advice people on participating on talent shows to break through and their answer was: 'It's a good way to take a look and see what the music business is all about (and to be away from school every once in a while) but it wasn't the right choice for us because we wanted freedom in our songs and in our songwriting.'

    They met Jason Boland on Valentines day, 2011. It took them a while before they realized he actually played the bass. They changed their name into Kodaline. Their first EP came out and made an instant hit out of the song 'All i want'. 'It was never our plan to release 'All I want as a first single, it just sort of happened. Some radio stations in Ireland and the UK found it and played it, that's how the song's got discovered.' 'All I want' is aired in an episode of 'Grey's Anatomy. The band stated they never really watched the show but where a fan of the music. Kodaline spend a good few years soul searching. They finally came to a point where they are proud of their work but stated that they are still searching for their sound. Kodaline is working on their second album. 

    Why the name Kodaline?

    Steve, Mark, Jason and Vinny where looking for band names but weren't satisfied by any of the names they've came up with. Steve said: 'after a lot of pints we came up with the name 'Kodaline'. I don't remember who it was who came up with it, but we liked it and decided that was going to be it. The name 'Kodaline' means absolutely nothing and that was exactly what we wanted. We just hope people will associate our band with the music we make.'


    Note to my blog-readers: I'm from Belgium so my English is far from perfect. If you want to help me and you notice some (or many) faults in m blogs, please replay and I will change it. Thank you and enjoy my blog!

    21-07-2013 om 00:00 geschreven door Kodaline Fansite  

    0 1 2 3 4 5 - Gemiddelde waardering: 3/5 - (7 Stemmen)
    Categorie:Biography


    Message!

    Leave a message for us!



    Dropbox

    Seen an interesting interview you wanna share? a photo? A lyrics of Kodaline? Send it to us!


    Mailinglijst

    Leave your email adress here,and we'll contact you if we've post something new



    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    Foto

    E-mail mij

    Druk oponderstaande knop om mij te e-mailen.


    Wil je links uitwisselen met je eigen site?
    E-mail me!


    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    babydroom
    www.bloggen.be/babydro
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    qkoorts
    www.bloggen.be/qkoorts
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    witte_roos
    www.bloggen.be/witte_r
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    medicijn
    www.bloggen.be/medicij
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    joggerke
    www.bloggen.be/joggerk
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    jojo91
    www.bloggen.be/jojo91
    Willekeurig Bloggen.be Blogs
    ikschrijfje_laure
    www.bloggen.be/ikschri

    Blog tegen de wet? Klik hier.
    Gratis blog op https://www.bloggen.be - Meer blogs