Sam Davies: Ospreys fly-half ready to step up for Wales

  • Published
Sam DaviesImage source, Huw Evans picture agency
Image caption,

Sam Davies was a replacement in Ospreys' 45-0 win against Newcastle Falcons in the European Challenge Cup

European Rugby Challenge Cup Pool 2

Venue: Matmut Stadium, Lyon Date: Saturday, 22 October Kick-off: 19:45 BST

Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Wales, online and the BBC Sport app. Live scores on the BBC Sport website

Ospreys fly-half Sam Davies says he is ready to step up to the international stage should he be selected for Wales this autumn.

Davies, 23, and regional team-mate Rory Thornton are the two uncapped players in Rob Howley's squad.

The fly-half has been in fine form for the Ospreys in their impressive start to the season and is confident he can transfer that to the Wales camp.

"If I do get a chance I'll do my best to take it," Davies said.

"The boys say it's a lot quicker and more physical but it's an exciting prospect and it's something I'm looking forward to getting my teeth into.

"I'm not worried about being targeted, I'm used to that by now. This is a dream and thankfully for me it's come true."

For so long his deputy, 23-year-old Davies was picked ahead of Dan Biggar, 27, in the first Welsh derby of the season as Ospreys beat Cardiff Blues 46-24.

Despite competition on the field, the incumbent Wales number 10 was the first to send his good wishes.

"I had a text off Dan saying congratulations. I didn't actually know at that point, the e-mail came through shortly after," said Davies.

"Our rivalry on the pitch is what it is. Off the pitch we are good mates."

Camaraderie among the Ospreys half-backs is not hard to come by with Wales scrum-half Rhys Webb also waiting in anticipation to see if his regional partner had made the cut.

"Rhys hasn't stopped texting and ringing me all morning asking if I've heard any news. We get along really well," Davies added.

"The understanding between us will hopefully be a bonus if I do get an opportunity."

Ospreys have 12 players selected for Wales, more than any other region.

Ospreys head coach Steve Tandy is in "tentative talks" with Howley over player release during the tournament for those not involved in the match day squad.

Around the BBC

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.